We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the midst of scenic beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury in the midst of scenic beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our 5 day stay at Lake Tekapo Lodge was the highlight of our mid-winter holiday. Stephanie and Alistair are the most delightful and welcoming hosts. Their choice of art and furnishings and warm hospitality made it feel like home away from home. The breakfasts were superb, the rooms warm and comfortable, and the other guests were great company. Stephanie provided wonderful suggestions for day trips. The location gave us easy access to Mt Cook National Park, the beautiful plains and hills of the McKenzie Country, the Waitaki river valley, and Mt John which was at our doorstep. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Select a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks Bob! We are only as good as our lovely guests! Many thanks for choosing to stay with us for your winter holiday - you had time to really explore the area. Remember we have those bikes and transfers for you to do the A2O cycle trail one day.... Looking forward to seeing you both again down here in the Mackenzie high country. Lots of snow as at today. Lucky Alistair had all that firewood ready for me to burn burn burn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
HONGKONG
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this hotel coz eye catching form the official website, and found it was the best in town. Since we met the host Stephanie we knew we made completely right choice, her hospitality and helpful which we never experienced in our past B & B stay. Bus stop picked up and drove us to the Mt John cafe by host was impressed us , when we reached the luxury classy artistic decorated lodge room, we found we were in heaven of paradise, the stunning lake view from our room drive us crazy, how much we want to stay as long as we can. So touched by the professional tasty rich breakfast made by Alistair, many small touch so impressed us -- designed furniture , warmth heart welcoming , complimentary wine and coffee shows the passion and insight of the host. The lodge is only one year old and very well maintained, we see it is the new baby of the host and they put lot of effort on it, and we so careful to keep the lodge from dirt and damage, the price tell the luxury and it totally worth, sure we will visit this baby again soon.

Room Tip: we like Pukaki
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks Jenny! We get so much more from our guests with the opportunity to meet and befriend people from all over the world. To share this magnificent place makes us very proud. What a great group of guests we had that last breakfast with you! So much laughter and fun - many thanks for the photos you emailed me...Tell Kamal Ladahk definitely on the agenda!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here in late March and loved it. Stephanie and Alistair were fantastic hosts and my husband was very impressed with both the complimentary bottle of wine on the balcony but also with Stephanie's art collection! This is definitely a special lodge and well worth visiting. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello there my lovelies! Many thanks for the wonderful review - amazing how wine lubricates the soul!! You would not recognise Tekapo today with snow everywhere. The skiers are smiling. maybe you need a winter NZ holiday away from the humidity??? All the best for the future together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here on our way from Christchurch to Queenstown and it was a perfect place for a night of luxury. Alistair and Stephanie were very friendly and welcoming and provided great advice on what to do, see and where to eat in Tekapo. The lodge itself is beautiful and they have a lovely art collection to support the beautiful views. Thanks once again!

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, choose a room with a view - it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi there Jessica! Many thanks for the review! The art prints you like are by Lester Hall - he has a website... Hope Arrowtown was good to you? All the best you two clever young people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Queenstown from Christchurch. Stephanie and Alistair were the most amazing hosts for our first night in NZ.
We arrived an hour before sunset and were immediately advised by Stephanie to go to Mount John Observatory to view Tekapo at its best. We were literally blown away at the view. A few days later someone rated it as one if the best views in NZ.

The lodge is beautifully designed with all amenities in the common area. The room was extremely comfortable and the view from the balcony was just stunning. The room had a 'birds' theme which we thought was very thoughtful.

However what we loved the most was the hospitality. We were served the most delicious home cooked breakfast which we missed for the rest of our trip. Alistair was very kind to show us the way to the restaurants at night.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Tekapo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Many thanks Keshav! It was great to have you both here on your first visit to New Zealand. A trip up Mt John is a "must do" when in Tekapo - the view is amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I like this place very much as you could find unique art pieces everywhere and the rooms are very nicely decorated. Views in the morning are magnificent too. Hosts are very friendly and breakfast is good. Would highly recommend if you are into arty stuff. A bit expensive though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi Judy! Many thanks for your review and so pleased you enjoyed the beautiful artworks and thoughtful and tasteful decor... We are not the cheapest B&B, in fact we do call ourselves boutique hosted accommodation". We offer a quality stay in beautiful surroundings sharing magnificent artworks and heritage pieces. If you prefer our style and our generous hospitality (complimentary beer and wine, free WIFI) and cooked to order with high quality produce breakfast, then we are the place for you! There are many less expensive options in Tekapo and we welcome those adult couples who choose our accommodation and hospitality, particularly after reading independent reviews... If you break down all that we offer inclusive (not added onto the tariff) then our price is competitive at the higher end. I can see you went up to the top of Mt John from your photos and love your image of your Tekapo room! Lovely to have you both stay with us and hope to see you again from Singapore! Cheers (enjoy your wine!!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsberrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We would return without hesitation just to sample Stephanie's special welcome! We arrived late morning and were warmly welcomed by Stephanie who strongly suggested that if we wanted to see Lake Tekapo at its best we should go straight away up to the nearby Mount John Observatory for a fantastic view and maybe a snack for lunch at the café. It was great suggestion: we were blown away by both the spectacular views and the wind! Later we enjoyed a walk around the town and visited the little church but is the lake views we really remember.
Next day we had an excellent breakfast cooked to order in sumptuous surroundings which was also an opportunity to meet, in Stephanie's words, " the other beautiful people" staying there.
We would definitely go back and this time, weather permitting, do the Mount John Star Gazing tour too.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Allin - many thanks for your review ! After a few months to still remember us is a little bit special... So pleased you ejoyed our accommodation and the other guests. As I tell you all "We only have gorgeous guests". Do come back again for star gazing. The good news is that the nights start earlier with autumn well and truly here and daylight saving ended. The bad news is that it is getting cooler outside but fortunately Earth and Sky supply wonderfully warm coats (and hot chocolate!). Bit of early snow on the mountains (snow in May won't stay, snow in June, too soon, snow in July you can rely...). Skiers hold off! See you again! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Lodge

Address: 24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Tekapo Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is under new ownership from 1 September 2012. Lodge has been upgraded and redecorated with emphasis on NZ food, wine, art.Lake Tekapo Lodge has three stunning lake and mountain view super king ensuite guests rooms. A queen ensuite is also available. Chef hosts can provide dinner by arrangement highlighting premium local fare and NZ wines. A private guest lounge/library and an eclectic NZ contemporary art collection. Located adjacent to the village with easy access to activities and restaurants. On-site warm friendly & experienced hosts ensuring you have the best experience in our magnificent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Tekapo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Luxury Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.