We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsberrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We would return without hesitation just to sample Stephanie's special welcome! We arrived late morning and were warmly welcomed by Stephanie who strongly suggested that if we wanted to see Lake Tekapo at its best we should go straight away up to the nearby Mount John Observatory for a fantastic view and maybe a snack for lunch at the café. It was great suggestion: we were blown away by both the spectacular views and the wind! Later we enjoyed a walk around the town and visited the little church but is the lake views we really remember.
Next day we had an excellent breakfast cooked to order in sumptuous surroundings which was also an opportunity to meet, in Stephanie's words, " the other beautiful people" staying there.
We would definitely go back and this time, weather permitting, do the Mount John Star Gazing tour too.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Allin - many thanks for your review ! After a few months to still remember us is a little bit special... So pleased you ejoyed our accommodation and the other guests. As I tell you all "We only have gorgeous guests". Do come back again for star gazing. The good news is that the nights start earlier with autumn well and truly here and daylight saving ended. The bad news is that it is getting cooler outside but fortunately Earth and Sky supply wonderfully warm coats (and hot chocolate!). Bit of early snow on the mountains (snow in May won't stay, snow in June, too soon, snow in July you can rely...). Skiers hold off! See you again! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
90
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lovely one night stay while driving from Christchurch to queenstown. Very friendly privately owned. It is structured as bedroom with private bath as all amenities are in common lounge room. Cooked to order breakfast and guest gathering a great way to start your day by sharing information and travels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Lorri. Many thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. "Scottish style inn" is a new one for us... We do both descend from Scottish immigrants into NZ in the 1860s. We have an eclectic approach to style and design highlighting contemporary NZ art which we exhibit throughout the lodge for all guests to enjoy. To avoid any confusion for readers, we are "boutique hosted accommodation". The four rooms all have en suites and guests share a private lounge area and dine together in our glamorous dining room. As we tend to attract like minded guests, the breakfast experience is often filled with laughter and fun! Hope you both had a great four days in Queenstown and that the weather fairies wove their magic! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place is beyond gorgeous. When walking up to the door, it feels like a castle. It has this strong sense of graciousness and it makes a person feel like royalty. Of course, Stephanie certainly fills the bill of welcoming you more than you expect. This was our splurge for our 25th anniversary - and I am so glad we stayed here. This was a beautiful place. Our gorgeous room looked out to the town and the lake ( THANK YOU STEPHANIE !!) The bathroom was beautiful with a double walk in shower, the guests livingroom with all its spoiling amenities ( wine, beer, soda, ) and the bed was so comfortable - I didn't want to leave it.. The breakfast was like eating at a 5 star restaurant. Delicious !! Stephanie and Alistair spoil their guests - and they are excellent at hosting this B & B - great conversationalists and this I think is their calling :) when in Lake Tekapo - stay here !!! not in town at the hotels with all the tour buses !! This place is a dream :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi Monica! So thrilled your expectations were met for your special stay... and many thanks for the review. If you felt like a princess then "job done"! Hope you enjoyed the last bit of your holiday in Christchurch and hope to see you again? Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Promised to review when we got back to the uk so here it is!
Fantastic place, fantastic hosts etc need I say more.
We absolutely loved our stay here and would recommend without hesitation.
When we arrived it was dusk/ semi darkness so we didn't appreciate the setting until the following morning. We were welcomed by Alistair who helped with the car parking and Stephanie when we went inside. The lodge is fantastic, these hosts have lovely taste and some very unusual pieces. The visitors lounge was appreciated after a long days drive and there was complimentary tea, coffee, wine etc.
Our room was a delight, our friends were in the next room and both rooms were very individual. Great nights sleep in a comfortable bed. We enjoyed a superb breakfast overlooking the lake - what a setting!
I particularly enjoyed meeting the two terriers, Ted and Buster, who reminded me how much I was missing my own terrier back in England. Thanks for making us so comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi there "northern traveller"! Many thanks for posting a review. Your stay here with your friends was all too short! You are very well travelled so maybe you will return to NZ? More wine regions to explore! NZ can be a gourmand's paradise... Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stephanie and Alistair have a lovely home with lots of interesting art work and beautiful rooms. Breakfast was superb and full and we met the most interesting fun people to share experiences with. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hi Leigh! Many thanks for the review. Places such as our boutique accommodation tend to attract like minded people and we do have some great fun at breakfast time with lively discussion! It was interesting for you to chat to NZers who now live abroad - a different perspective. Hope you enjoyed your holiday in NZ and come back! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently spent one night at Lake Tekapo Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Stephanie and Alistair are first-rate hosts, and when we had to leave, it felt like saying farewell to family. The two Jack Russell terriers were so much fun to interact with (would have loved to smuggle them into my luggage). We stayed in the gorgeously-appointed Tekapo room and felt fabulously pampered from the get-go. Lovely bed, roomy bathroom, fluffy bathrobes, lots of extra touches to make a visit here very memorable. We especially loved the lounge area, filled with books and artwork, as well as liquid refreshments for the guests to enjoy. And the breakfast--oh my! All was so delicious and served in a gorgeous setting overlooking the lake. Tekapo town center is just a short walk away, and if you are looking for dinner out, do take Stephanie's word for the best restaurant in town. We'd recommend a stay here for anyone.

Room Tip: The Tekapo room is a corner unit, so there are windows on two walls. All the rooms are equally lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Lisa and Bill! What a lovely surprise to read your review just now... many thanks. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us (even those rascals Buster and Ted endeared themselves! They are usually out rabbiting...). We do try to make everyone feel very welcome and relaxed so I guess "family" is good enough! It is difficult to say goodbye but we are only an email away and have made so many wonderful friends doing what we love to do. What more could you ask for? See you again for sure. Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in more bed and breakfast accommodation than I care to remember but Stephanie and Craig has put together the most amazingly decorated accomodation you will ever find. The view from the rooms is great, as is the view from the dining room when having breakfast.

Craig cooks an amazing breakfast which is on a par with some of the best restaurants around.

Stephanie's advice on what to see and the best route to take was invaluable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi there - many thanks and great you were happy with your stay after being such a bed and breakfast afficiando!! Come again my friends - Perth is not that far from NZ! So sorry we could not accommodate your friends the next nights. Maybe we need to expand to meet demand?No, we will stay small and relaxed -. Would much rather have a few very happy guests! See you again, best, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lake Tekapo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Lodge

Address: 24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Tekapo Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is under new ownership from 1 September 2012. Lodge has been upgraded and redecorated with emphasis on NZ food, wine, art.Lake Tekapo Lodge has three stunning lake and mountain view super king ensuite guests rooms. A queen ensuite is also available. Chef hosts can provide dinner by arrangement highlighting premium local fare and NZ wines. A private guest lounge/library and an eclectic NZ contemporary art collection. Located adjacent to the village with easy access to activities and restaurants. On-site warm friendly & experienced hosts ensuring you have the best experience in our magnificent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tekapo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Luxury Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.