We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place & Hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyderabad
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place & Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This B&B was supposed to be our first real deal after a stopover in CCH earlier.
The Start couldn't have been better. Wow!Even before we entered the lodge, the whole backdrop of Lake Tekapo just blew us away. Me & my wife were on our honeymoon and it couldn't have got better than here. Stephanie & Alistair welcomed us warmly and showed us around the lovely lodge.Our room was wonderfully done up, very well decorated and presented.Alistair cooked a nice stuffing breakfast in the morning and Stephanie advised us to go atop the Mt Johns at the earliest to catch the view before it starts raining. and she was bang on. it did rain the whole night just after we came back to our rooms. The view from our room was spectacular to say the least.
New Zealand had truly welcomed us and what better than this place to start it off with.
Thank you stephanie & Alistair!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed our beautiful Lake Tekapo Ankur and Chloe - even if it did rain! We haven't seen rain since then... I hope you do come back to experience our World Heritage Night Sky right above us. Many thanks for the lovely review and all the best, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beringen, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a great welcome by Stephanie and appreciated the fantastic breakfast done by Alistair. Following Stephanie's advice we had a really great japanese dinner.The atmosphere is great and we enjoyed the really nice lodge with all its art and artifacts, skillfully collected by Stephanie. Breakfast was together with other guests, which led to a nice exchange of experiences. We happily used the lounge where we could relax with a good glass of wine or a beer. Free wifi to check our mails. Thank you both Stephanie and Alistair!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Hugo and Renilde
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at our busy lodge! Kohan, the Japanese restaurant is a great choice and one we highly recommend. Also glad you appreciated the artwork in the lodge although I must admit there are some new pieces so come on back! Not sure Alistair has noticed them yet.....! All the best and many thanks for staying with us. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you are going to see Mt Cook and Lake Tekapo, this is the best and only place to stay in that area. A great welcome from Stephanie and Alistair, really bubbly and genuinely friendly. We ate in on one of our 2 nights there and this was probably the best meal we had in NZ, Alistair's cooking and presentation were simply fantastic and Stephanie was a brilliant hostess. A really good selection of wine to choose from as well. We also ate at an excellent Japanese restaurant in Lake Tekapo that they recommended, with desserts to die for,but even this wasn't a patch on the home cuisine. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a good view of the lake. We were told that the bathrooms are going to be upgraded soon but ours was absolutely fine with a good shower and plenty of natural light. Top end pricing yes but better than top end service. Don't miss dinner "at home" which cost wise we felt was incredible value. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi Kevin and Jackie! How lovely to get your feedback and of course so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Alistair has been very busy cooking and creating some new seasonal dishes but we still have your Terra Sancta Jackson Pinot Noir on the winelist - a real gem. We have invested in more art and room decor. The weather here has been amazing - very warm but a dry heat. Escape the Singapore humidity and come back and see us again! All the best from a spectacular Tekapo day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We wondered whether we had heard correctly when told that the price was indeed 430 NZ dollars. Of course we knew what the price of the room was going to be when we booked, but we were more than disappointed when we were shown to our room. For this price we got a room which admittedly had a view of the lake, but that was where comfort ended. The room was actually very small , with no wardrobe, a pokey bathroom, and bad sound proofing between the rooms. We can definitely say that this was our worst value for money experience in New Zealand and would recommend to anyone to enjoy the view of the lake, to spend some time going up to Mount John or the hotpools, but then to drive on to either Mount Cook or in the opposite direction to places like Methven.
In all fairness the hosts were extremely friendly and the breakfast was very nice,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Marleen. Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We were unaware there was any dissatisfaction. We do try to ensure guests booking directly know what they are getting for the price they are paying. Booking.com has many photos of the lodge, room size and details. February is high season in Tekapo and the village welcomes many visitors with a range of accommodation options/prices. At breakfast we discussed the plans for refurbishment of the bathroom, new curtains/carpet. Hope you will visit again as Tekapo is a stunningly beautiful location - pity there isn't a hotel on top of Mt John! Kind regards and enjoy the Marlborough summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We would absolutely recommend Lake Tekapo Lodge. The owners are fantastic, welcoming, and very helpful. The location was perfect for our stopover in route from Christchurch to Mount Cook and Queenstown. And the views of Lake Teapo and the walk to the old chapel and sheep dog overlooking the water was a breeze.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks Tim - was lovely to meet your family. Hope you all had a great time in Queenstown! Plesae tell Deborah the yellow roses are blooming again! Hope Mac got back online....
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stephanie and Alistair gave us a warm welcome, when we came to Lake Tekapo Lodge. The lodge is very beautiful a little bit up on the hill with a great view to the lake. Stephanie is a lovely host with a lot of stories to tell... she has a good eye for beautiful decoration things what you can see in all guest rooms... Alistair is a great chef... unfortunately we hadn't the opportunity to have once a dinner...we only stayed one night...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks Daniel - wish you could have stayed longer too.... Tell Marianne that her "golden book" description is now the standard introduction when I show guests their room! As she said, you must come back so you can read the entire golden book! And be tested on it! Will never forget what is the capital of Switzerland! Maybe see you again one day in Bern? Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in mid January and it was bliss. Stephanie and Alistair great hosts. The artwork in the Lodge is just great. We will try to make it back again and will definitely stay here. Very highly recommended. Noel/Margrit

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks Noel and Margit - glad you enjoyed those warm sunny days in Tekapo! Have you decided to open up Chez Greene in Cyprus? Or do you have enough friends and family staying to keep you busy? I look forward to you returning one day. Sorry if I kept you too long while you were trying to leave - just so much to discuss! Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Lodge

Address: 24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Tekapo Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is under new ownership from 1 September 2012. Lodge has been upgraded and redecorated with emphasis on NZ food, wine, art.Lake Tekapo Lodge has three stunning lake and mountain view super king ensuite guests rooms. A queen ensuite is also available. Chef hosts can provide dinner by arrangement highlighting premium local fare and NZ wines. A private guest lounge/library and an eclectic NZ contemporary art collection. Located adjacent to the village with easy access to activities and restaurants. On-site warm friendly & experienced hosts ensuring you have the best experience in our magnificent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Luxury Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.