We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venison meat and mussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lake tekapo tavern

lake tekapo tavern
lake highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Venison meat and mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

One traveller chose mussels to complete her gastronomic tastebuds of NZ - and loving it every bite of it. It has a good bar with wide selection of liquor to choose from. A pool table and music jukebox to spend time in the eveing hours before the sun really sets at around 9pm - when Night Gazing activities commence.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    6
    5
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst pub in nz Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This place has got the view but nothing else going for it! We walked in with a large group of young backpackers to a near empty pub! The staff were unhappy and extremely unwelcoming to us! We all ordered a meal in which we had to wait nearly over an hour for! I personally order a medium rare rib eye which came out well done! When I asked the stuff about it they said bluntly "too bad we can't change it now" over our group the food was terrible for the price we paid for our meals! Within after an hour once we had finished our meals the staff were wanting to kick us out of the place! Overall an extremely disappointing experience! Will not return but on a lighter point there is free wifi which aloud me to post this review

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Honest Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good pub that does what is says on the tin.

Watched the first Bledisloe Cup test there on the weekend, got there 20 minutes before kick-off and nabbed the last available table, shortly after it really packed out.

It’s a decent pub, nothing too flash and good pub prices and service. I didn’t eat there but the $10 bar meals looked fine and a reasonable selection of beers and wines.

I’d imagine it would have stunning views of the lake in the daytime (but I was there after dark).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good tucker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Right next door to our accomodation, good pub food, nice cosy atmosphere with the fire. Just what we needed on a cold winter's nigh.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had lunch and dinner at the tavern. Atmosphere was good and meals were average to good. The staff were new and wern't sure of service required. Didn't use the toilet facilities this time so can't comment. The place as expected were adequate and very well priced. I would go back if the occasion arises. Had a lot worse at other places.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed lake tekapo tavern also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to lake tekapo tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lake tekapo tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.