We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation

Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation
Save Saved
You added Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation to your Saves list
PO Box 126 | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay, good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was a surprise, very friendly reception, well organised managers. The rooms were clean and roomy, and the shared kitchen was well equipped, albeit slightly small for strangers to cook together. The bathrooms were clean and sufficient. Very central location to explore the environs of lake tekapo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The staff were friendly, the place was clean and really cheap especially by Tekapo standards.
Towels and comfy beds as well as good showers, couldn't ask for more.
It was also warm during the freezing June temperatures! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

- Friendly staff
- In town centre
- Clean
- Small and boring kitchen, just enough equipement
- Free wifi
- Towel for use is good!
- Good beds
- Small hostel
- No extra stuff
- Stayed 1 night
- Won't be here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night during my visit to Lake Tekapo and my friend and I were very pleased with the whole experience. To begin, the woman at the desk when we checked in was lovely. So kind and helpful. There is limited free wifi which she offered up right away and it was just enough to check emails and catch up on messages, with a bit to spare for browsing. After that, Internet costs a cheap fee. The dorm rooms were very clean and one of the most comfortable I've ever had in a hostel! Best part, the beds didn't squeak! Mega bonus for ones who toss in their sleep. The toilets and showers were also clean with fresh towels every day. The common area and kitchen is small but very cosy and I enjoyed the intimate environment with the other friendly guests. They have a good selection of DVDs to borrow as well as regular TV channels. It's located right in the centre and although the hostel part has no views, it's easy to step outside and have the lake and domain just out the door. All for $25, this was the best bang-for-buck accommodation I've every had. Definitely recommend this place! Wish I could have stayed longer in Lake Tekapo. Such a beautiful area!

In short, stay here. Great staff, friendly strangers, clean and comfortable facilities and all at an unbeatable price!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is the best you could ask for.
The private rooms in the "Hotel" area look nice from the outside so I understand all the great reviews.
The backpacker "dorm" area however is a house without windows. The kitchen is not extremely clean and poorly equipped (also no windows there).

However the beds were clean and totally ok. So it's overall it's ok but not more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night (thank god!) over Easter weekend and could not wait to get out. No other rooms where available except for the Budget room so the two of us had no choice....for 85 dollars I would rather have stayed at the YHA...the room had no bathroom, was shared, which is fine but toilet is joined with showers so had to wait HALF HOUR until they became free and was then covered in dirty towel...EWWWW the room floor was disgusting and as seen photo there were old pills between the couch cushions which came out and floor was filth. Also walls are thin so could hair the TV room al night ...and this is not even the worst part. The bed was impossibly squeaky, im not talking a little noise every now and then but thought the bed above was joining to fall on me...the whole bed shakes and moves when even a little twitch and we woke up so many times I was thankful to leave at 7.30 the next day. NEVER again....and we had to park in a isolated car park away from the place where a car could easily be stolen and you have a dark walk back to the room ...really just not impressed. This should be made clear upfront and I would have stayed somewhere else . You have been warned...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Easter is certainly a very busy time in Lake Tekapo, requiring early reservations to secure the type of accommodation you require. I am confident that our website accurately describes the facilities that you reserved. The cost of the room reflects the option of selling 4 beds as dorms @ $25, or to 4 persons in a family group.
As a backpackers, with shared facilities, unfortunately the bathrooms are only as tidy as the previous user leaves them; I can assure you that they are very clean after we prepare them for the next guests.
The rooms are certainly not filthy; our conscientious cleaners would be distraught at your harsh criticism. The carpet may have some stains typical of a high use area, but they are all vacuumed daily, and shampooed and wet vacuumed regularly. I apologise for the “pills / sweets” found in the sofa, as we do not vacuum that daily. I will also increase the frequency of servicing the bed frames, as steel bunks do tend to loosen and therefore squeak over time. I will also amend our website to make it clear that as a backpackers, we have space for loading / unloading only, and that there are well used, safe parking facilities within 100 metres.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Right in the centre of town with Lake Tekapo at the rear.
Check in with the Tekapo Scenic Motel on site........very nice people to deal with.

We had a 4 bed dorm style room (1 Dble & 3 single bunks) for the 3 of us and it was excellent.

Fresh linen, doona and nice towels.
Air conditioning, fan, electric blanket, desk, lounge, dressing table, mirror and hanging hooks.

Plenty of private bathroom facilities...single shower and toilet.
Good kitchen and a small common area.

If you don't want to cook just walk through the garden to the tavern for dinner and a beer.

The only negative was the lack of parking for backpackers on site.
On site parking it seems is reserved for Motel occupants.
Cars are left out the front in a parking area but it did not seem to be a concern.

All very good and would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation

Address: PO Box 126 | Lake Tekapo, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Budget Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.