We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhead Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkhead Motel
Save
You added Parkhead Motel to your Saves list
10 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This little motel was hidden away and looked dated from the outside, however once inside the unit we were pleasantly surprised. Unit was clesn and had all that we required. Pleasant host snd the most fahtastic view of the lake. It is an easy walk into the village. Would happily stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Lovely spot right by the lake. Owner friendly and helpful but not overbearing.Yes its a little dated, but contains everything you need, and good value for money.Only a short distance to cafes and stores. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We paid $125 a night for a really comfy contained unit, with double bed and a single, satellite TV, small kitchenette, two reclining chairs and a small patio with amazing views of the lake and mountains. We dragged the chairs out onto the deck and indulged ourselves in the vista for hours. Sure, the bathroom was dated, the shower wasn't the best, but this is $125, for 2 people, it's stunning value. The walls were thin, we were lucky that next door were very quiet.

Room Tip: If you can, there are two cabins nearest the road where the views would be uniterupted
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and the outside of the building was not that impressive but the town was busy and we needed a room. The rooms were spacious and clean and very practical. It is right across the road from Lake Tekapo so the views are amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. As we were only passing through Tekapo we were after a budget pick. The units looked a bit disconcerting from the outside - kind of like transportables or older cabins from a caravan park - and the decor and fixtures are dated, but the room was very spacious, warm, and provided an excellent view of the lake and surrounding mountains. The bathroom is basic; didn't use the kitchenette facilities but it appeared to have all the basics for a couple days' stay.

If this is in your price point and are you aware that you're not getting top luxury, then it would be a good selection for 1 or 2 nights.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Had experience with both studios, which basically quite similar except the shower at studio 4 ran out of hot water faster than the other. (Not sure why). However, the studio unit does offer breathtaking views to the lake. It is spacious plus comfortable, and also located near to the Church of Good Shepard & the Dog statue.
Kitchen comes with basic amenities. Good enough to prepare simple food.
Overall good experience and value for money kind of stay at Lake Tekapo.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ended up at Lake Tekapo by accident due to a road closure at Haast Pass, so didn't have much time to look into accommodation. We checked out the Godley Hotel first - eek. Looked at two rooms, and both had a weird smell, and were really old and small. Was a bit lost then found Park Head. Although a bit dated, the room (unit 4) was spacious, with a lovely view across to the lake. The bed was comfortable, and there was a heater and electric blankets. Basic facilities, more than adequate for our one night stay. It's not right on the main strip, but it's close to the attractions (the church and the dog), and just a minute or so drive to the main "town" (could easily walk). The big disappointment was that the hot water lasted all of about 1 minute in the shower, and went from hot to cold almost immediately. Not fun. Plus as we were in a hurry we didn't have time to wait and let the hot water come back. Just wish the manager/owner had warned us so I could have been more prepared. For this reason I wouldn't recommend it for a stay or more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Unit 4 has a nice view - but they probably all do - except the one at the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhead Motel

Address: 10 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhead Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.