We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of the Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhead Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkhead Motel
Save
You added Parkhead Motel to your Saves list
10 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best view of the Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed in November in studio unit 4.Couple with a 3-yr old.Although apprehensive after reading some negative reviews,booked because of the great views mentioned and we were certainly not disappointed.Waking up to fantastic views of Lake Tekapo and watching it turn colour to a brilliant turquoise when the sun comes up is a memory to cherish.The unit was quite spacious and the kitchenette was more than adequate for a one night stay.The cutlery looked brand new.There was lots of space in the studio for all our luggage.The room was sufficiently warm,electric blankets provided.The proprieter Siimin,although a man of not too many words,was helpful enough.Wifi is not free but we had out data-microsim for our i-pad and did not require wifi.No hair dryer though but I had my own.Its a couple of minutes walk to the sheepdog memorial and the Church of Good Shepherd and a 5 minute drive to the town centre with restaurants and shops.Compared to neighbouring properties charging exorbitant prices,Parkhead is a real value place for the view that it affords.If I visit Lake Tekapo again,wouldn't hesitate a minute to stay at Parkhead Motel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good location with fantastic view to the lake.
We stayed in 2 bedrooms unit, the unit equiped with the basic, little kitchen, washing machine, small fridge, good heater. All these are secondary to us, what amaze us is the look out from room, fantastic view. Love it. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Right on the lake road with a view along the full length of lovely Lake Tekapo you can forgive the slightly knocked-about feeling by just sitting on the balcony and soaking up the view. We enjoyed a large apartment with a good fitted kitchen, two bedrooms and a comfortable lounge for $125. True, the furnishings are a little worn but a warm comfy bed, good towels and plenty of hot water are important pluses. Once the tour buses have left by mid afternoon the lake-side road is peacefully quiet. Catch a clear night and the stars are beyond belief.

Room Tip: Food and drink supplies are limited and pricey at Lake Tekapo's small supermarket. If self cate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hosts were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Were allowed to take our beloved pet if we abided by the rules which were more than fair. Lovely views, over the road from the lake so plenty of walks.

Room Tip: The front house was fantastic with the views and plenty of room for extended families to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The place was basic clean but the shower had no hot water and the kitchen tap too had cold water. The furniture was dated too.
Unfortunately, on the day we checked out I fell and sprained my ankle when I slipped from the steps but when my friends asked the person at the reception if there was a doctor in town, it seems there was none.
He didn't offer any first aid assistance at all and didn't even bother to come over to the room to inquire about my condition.
The weather was cold and we found that his attitude was "cold" too... won't be our choice of stay should we stop at Lake Tekapo the next time. Pretty disappointed with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Nothing much to look at from the outside, dated but clean and reasonably comfortable. The cheapest motel in Lake Tekapo and only 2 minute walk to the church. Magnificient view of the lake and mountains from the balcony. Just walk 20 meters down the driveway, across the road and Lake Tekapo is there. Watch the sunse and then the sunrise hitting the tops of the mountains. What you are paying for here is the view. Well worth a one night stay at Lake Tekapo

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The studio was spacious with a nice balcony. It was equipped with all amenities, clean and cosy.
The owner was nice and helpful. Good value for money

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhead Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhead Motel

Address: 10 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhead Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.