We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Tekapo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeview Tekapo to your Saves list
Lakeview Tekapo
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Lochinver Avenue | PO Box 204, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view, nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lakeview wasn't exactly what we expected. What was described as a well equipped kitchen didnt allow for any food prep and only cooking in a microwave, so we were a little disappointed with that. Also, the rooms are right next to each other and there is no divide between the porch between each room. They are very close. We also were underwhelmed with the viewing window for star gazing. It was small and there were no stars when we were there. Having said this, these were the only negatives and didnt have major impact on our stay. The rooms were new, modern, very clean and comfortable and at a good price point. We loved our time at Tekapo and this was great accommodation, with comfortable bed. It was about 20 minute walk into the heart of town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Empire Bay NSW Aust
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Thanks Craig.

We really ejoyed our stay at Lakeview. The room was exceptionally clean and there was plenty of room. The decor was just lovely and the few extra treats - chocolates and mints - were icing on the cake. The books on the coffee table were also a nice touch. We both enjoyed looking through them.

The only thing I was disappointed in was that there where to do our laundry before heading home. But only a minor hiccup.

I have recommended this accommodation to a friend who is a travel agent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Wow, what a beautiful place with the best views of the magnificent Lake Tekapo there is in town. The accommodation was beautifully appointed and styled with top quality furniture and fittings making us feel very spoilt. This is a great spot well worth stopping at on your way between Queenstown and Christchurch. The owners were very nice and helpful too. The beautiful bathroom is worth mentioning too with a really great shower and the skylight over the bed to watch the stars at night was a real treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Beautifully appointed accommodation - queen bed, separate lounge area (large screen tv in each), reasonable kitchenette, superb bathroom, huge patio window and stunning view of Lake Tekapo. Unique too, was the skylight above the bed for stargazing at night - we laid there and let the Southern Cross mesmerise us to sleep! Very well equipped and being new, everything seemed good quality. We were nearing the end of 5 weeks travelling in NZ and this was the best motel we found.

The village centre is about a couple of mins drive away, where there is limited shopping for provisions. There didn't seem to be any restaurants offering much class. If travelling from a larger town and you wish to self-cater, it might be better to do your shopping before setting out. However, whilst very nice, the kitchenette is limited - only a microwave and electric frying pan for cooking (no hob or oven).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Lakeview Tekapo for a short 2 night break from Christchurch. The accommodation was faultless, well appointed with fabulous views of Lake Tekapo and the surrounding mountains.

The unit was thoughtfully laid out with quality furnishings & appliances. Kitchen was well equipped. There were a few unexpected extras (mints, chocalate, ice cloth) that were a nice touch.

The hosts were very helpful without being intrusive. A thoroughly enjoyable stay which we hope to do again one day.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same and have the same layout & view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very new accommodation so furnishings and crockery was in very good order. Very comfortable bed. In quiet location so nice to sit out front and look across the lake to the mountains, but only a 2 min drive to centre of village. Only downside was that not much sound proofing between rooms so often heard people in two neighboring rooms talking or banging doors.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed one night here en route between Queenstown and Christchurch. Lakeview Tekapo is located in a residential area and we did drive past a couple of times as we did not see the sign. But wow it is a hidden treasure the rooms have everything in them including a skylight with an electronic closer so you can see the stars.The bed is the most comfortable bed ever, they have feather and down mattress toppers a wonderful night's sleep. A wonderful place to stay the hosts have thought of everything to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Tekapo

Address: 6 Lochinver Avenue | PO Box 204, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeview Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Tekapo has been designed and purpose-built in 2010 with our guests' comfort in mind. We are situated just a short walk from the lakefront, Lake Tekapo Regional Park and Lake Tekapo’s famous Church of the Good Shepherd. Each of our luxury self-contained suites enjoys absolute and uninterrupted views of Lake Tekapo, the Southern Alps and the lake’s surrounding mountain ranges. One of the best scenic vistas in Lake Tekapo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakeview Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview Tekapo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.