We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling like at home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tekapo Top House

Tekapo Top House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tekapo Top House
Save Saved
You added Tekapo Top House to your Saves list
Andrew Don Dr, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Montréal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Feeling like at home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

It was the last place available in town when we arrived. We were lucky to have this great place to stay with a very welcoming couple. You feel like home, very comfy and very cleaned. Expect to pay 140$NZ per night for a room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My only complaint is of myself...that we didn't stay longer in Lake Tekapo with Ann and Tony.

The Tekapo Top House is just that...at the Top of Lake Tekapo, literally! Their house is situated on the very top of the neighborhoods of Lake Tekapo which makes the surroundings so peaceful. The en-suite room is very well appointed, with everything you could ask for and more. Clean, cozy and quiet. Ann and Tony are the perfect hosts. Very caring, open and helpful.
I would highly recommend the Tekapo Top House to anyone travelling to Lake Tekapo. Not only is the lake one of the most beautiful sites we've seen, but your hosts and the house are the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The top floor ensuite is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

… and the finest of views in every direction. We thoroughly enjoyed Ann & Tony's company over a glass of wine and nibbles before we walked down into the town in the evening. If you're fortunate to have a clear night sky, do accompany Tony on the balcony for some star and planet gazing. We left Tekapo Top House fully laundered, buttons resewn having enjoyed a home from home stay with charming hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a great evening with Anne and Tony. Room with windows and views on three sides, all glorious. Clear clear evening and stars filling the sky - and with Tony's commentary the stars all identified! Beautiful home, beautiful people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B with amazing hosts. You will be made to feel very welcome, and the room was lovely with views of the lakes and mountains, just stunning. The breakfast was cereal, and toast which was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Tekapo Top House - everything was perfect and immaculate. A lovely room was put up to welcome our stay with amazing view of surrounding mountains. A must for all star-gazers.

Friendly hosts (Ann and Tony) were extremely helpful in giving us recommendations for things to do in Tekapo. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this little gem in Tekapo.

Wilfred & Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Of our entire trip, this was my favourite lodging. When you step into Tekapo Top House, you step into the lives of Anne and Tony Crowe, and they into yours. Though it was our first and only B&B of the trip, I think they have truly set the bar. Their home is beautiful and cosy and it really is a home away from home. Anne and Tony are very very personable and welcoming. If you don't have anything to do in the evenings, spend some time with them and have a good chat around the fire place. They shared about their lives and experiences, and my favourite part was when Tony brought us outside in the night to look at the stars. Absolutely beautiful view. Tony will tell you the constellations in the sky and the names of most of the stars that you would be able to see. And trust me, you will be able to see a lot!! Beds and rooms were very comfortable, wi-fi comes with the room. Breakfast from the kitchen and pantry of Anne, lovely simply breakfast. You're guaranteed a great stay with them. My only regret was that we only spent a night here. Would've loved to stay longer if we a chance. Will definitely return when we travel to NZ again. Highly recommended stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tekapo Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Top House

Address: Andrew Don Dr, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tekapo Top House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.