We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Cottages to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   12 Sealy Street | PO Box 133, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

During our 2 weeks holiday in New Zealand, Lake Tekapo Cottages is the best accommodation for everything, only 200 meters distance to Church of Good Shepherd, very friendly manager and good desk service, very clean bedrooms/kitchen/bathroom, and good value for money.

Room Tip: Prefect location to see Church of Good Shepherd, and access to village easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent a single night in the Potting Shed in November 2013. What a gorgeous, charming little building it is! For us, it was a perfect, homely little spot to spend our first night in New Zealand. We were hoping to try some of the authentic home made Thai food on our stay, but unfortunately the cook was unwell, but the owners directed us to a great spot just up the road for some awesome Japanese food with a spectacular view. We appreciated the free WiFi and the beautiful gardens. There are several cottages available, but all are really close to the Lake Tekapo church and it's an easy walk over the bridge into town as well. Lake Tekapo is a gorgeous spot, not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the potting shed. Its the smallest of the cottages. I thought it was cute and nice to stay somewhere different. Close to town. Clean. Friendly owners. Beautiful gardens. Worth $95 a night!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in Rowan for 1 night. Cute cottage, place is clean but some parts need a face lift.
We have 4 ppl but main house got only 1 double bed and 1 single. The children refused to sleep in the other 2 single beds in the small separated barn as they find it spooky, so we have to squeeze in.

Room got chilly at night (even in Dec) and the portable heater doesn't help at all.

Excellent point is its proximity to the lake and Church of Shepherd.

Value for its price but there may be other better choices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Lake Tekapo Cottages in Decemberm 2013 and enjoyed our stay. The cottages are nicely furnished and appear to have been recently remodelled. Steve, the owner, is very helpful and even loaned us a flashlight to use when we went to the Observatory for the night tour. The cottages are located about 500 meters from the Village (such as it is) and is in a beautiful setting.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed there for a night during a two day trip to lake Tekapo. We checked in at around 3pm, the owners were very friendly and they also allowed us to view the cottage before we decided whether we want it or now. Since there were 3 of us, we stayed at Rowan cottage for the night, it was quite a nice little cottage with everything required. It was also very nice how there is a car park space just outside the cottage and I feel the location couldn't be better. The cottage was only about a hundred meters away from the good shepherd church and 5 mins walk away from town.
It was overall a very nice stay and the pricing wasn't too bad at $175 per night for three people.

Room Tip: Ask to view the cottage avaliable before deciding whether to stay or not ( if you don't book in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the O Neill cottage and i have to say it was beautiful. It had wonderful decor in and the cutlery and cooking utensils etc were great quality makes such a difference when cooking and eating. The place was quiet with your own private drive and a veranda to sit on and enjoy the sun set. Not quite a lake view but close and just 2 mins out of town by car. Really enjoyed the cottage and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Cottages

Address: 12 Sealy Street | PO Box 133, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tekapo Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Tekapo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.