We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, simple accommodation in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Cottages

Save Saved
You added Lake Tekapo Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Tekapo Cottages
12 Sealy Street | PO Box 133, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming, simple accommodation in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent a single night in the Potting Shed in November 2013. What a gorgeous, charming little building it is! For us, it was a perfect, homely little spot to spend our first night in New Zealand. We were hoping to try some of the authentic home made Thai food on our stay, but unfortunately the cook was unwell, but the owners directed us to a great spot just up the road for some awesome Japanese food with a spectacular view. We appreciated the free WiFi and the beautiful gardens. There are several cottages available, but all are really close to the Lake Tekapo church and it's an easy walk over the bridge into town as well. Lake Tekapo is a gorgeous spot, not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the potting shed. Its the smallest of the cottages. I thought it was cute and nice to stay somewhere different. Close to town. Clean. Friendly owners. Beautiful gardens. Worth $95 a night!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in Rowan for 1 night. Cute cottage, place is clean but some parts need a face lift.
We have 4 ppl but main house got only 1 double bed and 1 single. The children refused to sleep in the other 2 single beds in the small separated barn as they find it spooky, so we have to squeeze in.

Room got chilly at night (even in Dec) and the portable heater doesn't help at all.

Excellent point is its proximity to the lake and Church of Shepherd.

Value for its price but there may be other better choices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Lake Tekapo Cottages in Decemberm 2013 and enjoyed our stay. The cottages are nicely furnished and appear to have been recently remodelled. Steve, the owner, is very helpful and even loaned us a flashlight to use when we went to the Observatory for the night tour. The cottages are located about 500 meters from the Village (such as it is) and is in a beautiful setting.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed there for a night during a two day trip to lake Tekapo. We checked in at around 3pm, the owners were very friendly and they also allowed us to view the cottage before we decided whether we want it or now. Since there were 3 of us, we stayed at Rowan cottage for the night, it was quite a nice little cottage with everything required. It was also very nice how there is a car park space just outside the cottage and I feel the location couldn't be better. The cottage was only about a hundred meters away from the good shepherd church and 5 mins walk away from town.
It was overall a very nice stay and the pricing wasn't too bad at $175 per night for three people.

Room Tip: Ask to view the cottage avaliable before deciding whether to stay or not ( if you don't book in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the O Neill cottage and i have to say it was beautiful. It had wonderful decor in and the cutlery and cooking utensils etc were great quality makes such a difference when cooking and eating. The place was quiet with your own private drive and a veranda to sit on and enjoy the sun set. Not quite a lake view but close and just 2 mins out of town by car. Really enjoyed the cottage and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

On arrival at the property at around 8:30pm with an internet booking my husband and I were told that they have double-booked and there was no cottage available. We were then offered a 3-bedroom holiday rental house a few minutes' drive away into town with no view of the Lake at all. The host then had the temerity to tell us that we won't be charged extra for having the whole house and the outdoor spa to ourselves. We paid AUD$125 (NZ$160) for the night even though we only used one room and had no interest in the spa! We had to chase a number of very large flies out of the house before settling in for the night and there was no soap or body wash provided either.
Maybe this will serve as a warning to other travelers to check and confirm your internet booking to avoid inconvenience and disappointment.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Cottages

Address: 12 Sealy Street | PO Box 133, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tekapo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.