We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost .......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tekapo Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tekapo Heights to your Saves list
Tekapo Heights
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“almost .......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed in numerous B & B 's in half a dozen countries. Tekapo Heights comes so close to getting the 5 stars.. .modern, stylish, clean just misses out on the finer details. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: our room had the bathroom across the hall, although not a big issue for us it could be for some peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the 'Heights' on the last stage of our journey back to Christchurch from Milford Sound and were treated to a great stay. Tucked away in Sam's Place Jenny and Steve have created a lovely haven. Our room was airy and complete with all that we would want during our stay including a large and well appointed shower room - the best shower of the whole trip! Originally we were going to leave early and not have breakfast but changed our minds and the small extra cost was worth every penny. Tasty food freshly cooked and presented in a lovely room overlooking the lake and mountains all accompanied with a great chance to chat. Thanks again for the hospitality.

Room Tip: It would appear that all the rooms had their advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We also thought we were going to an hotel but the friendly atmosphere and lovely rooms soon made us realise we had made a good choice. One room had the most amazing shower with a radio in it! Breakfast was really nice and our hosts were friendly and informative. We did have views of the lake and from the dining table magical views over the lake and the alps. Our rooms were spacious and well-appointed with wonderful comfy beds.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our first B&B stay on our N Zealand holiday and not sure what to expect. Have to say it was far superior to any UK B&B. The accommodation was great with a good sized bedroom with a fridge. The bathroom was spotless and all mod cons. View from window was out over the lake. The hosts were great and couldn't fault the cooked breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very roomy, modern house situated two minutes above the centre of Tekapo with fine views of the lake below. Well-furnished with a comfortable bed and nice shower.

Quite hilly so not handy for 'town centre" (such as it is) but good view of lake.

Continental or cooked breakfast was offered - we chose Continental but were a little disappointed with the single toast and single coffee offered. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My first time to stay in a B&B, the room is clean, host trying their best to make our stay comfortable, although I'm not used to a shared living area kind of accommodation, but the sound proofing was quite good, at least I didnt hear anything from the next room. Great location although not right at the lake front, but still in walking distance. Lovely dogs in the garden too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

i booked months ago and paid in advance only to find when i showed up that the room was overbooked and they had booked me at another place- which was nice but far from the lake. Not the best experience after an overnight 10 hour flight and a few hours of driving. Booked via agoda so not sure it was agora or the B&B's fault- either way they should improve their system so that bookings through agoda are not double booked. Apparently they sent me an email 2 days before my stay which went into junk folder. it offered me the alt booking or a change- in peak season how can you get a decent alternate place two days before your stay date? i have no review on the B&B itself but i would recommend double checking your booking the day before u are set to stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tekapo Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Heights

Address: 2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tekapo Heights 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tekapo Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tekapo Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.