We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't get to stay despite prepay booking as it was overbooked!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tekapo Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tekapo Heights to your Saves list
Tekapo Heights
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“didn't get to stay despite prepay booking as it was overbooked!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

i booked months ago and paid in advance only to find when i showed up that the room was overbooked and they had booked me at another place- which was nice but far from the lake. Not the best experience after an overnight 10 hour flight and a few hours of driving. Booked via agoda so not sure it was agora or the B&B's fault- either way they should improve their system so that bookings through agoda are not double booked. Apparently they sent me an email 2 days before my stay which went into junk folder. it offered me the alt booking or a change- in peak season how can you get a decent alternate place two days before your stay date? i have no review on the B&B itself but i would recommend double checking your booking the day before u are set to stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is one of the best place to stay in Lake Tekapo. Excellent room, spacious, clean and tidy, well equipped and great views. The lawn with the lake view refreshes you. Having a cup of coffee on sofa in the lawn with a chat with the wonderful owner is best thing abt this place. I recommend stay here. And how can I forget the pet dog of the owner. You would want to take it back home.

Room Tip: Take rooms with Lake View. Would love them. Though rooms with Mountain View are good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Rooms were comfortable and modern. Beautiful views of Lake Tekapo from the room. Worth it to stop and have continental breakfast in the morning -- coffee, tea, cereal, fruit, toast and spreads and a chance to chat with the owners. The owners' extremely friendly and adorable cats and dogs will try to come in and sleep with you if you let them :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This BnB was the a great place for my wife and I to stay before we headed back to Christchurch.

We really enjoyed the beautiful lake and there were several great restaurants and hot pools in the area.

The place itself was very spacious and modern. The bathroom was shared but it also huge. The shower was great.

Our hosts were very nice. Breakfast was nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frisbeetraveller
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a beautiful little b&b and despite the slight dodgy weather the views of the mountains and lake were stunning! We left in the morning completely relaxed and refreshed.
BEWARE - the owner does have two small dogs.... watch out as they are completely adorable and you will want to take them home with you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I truly enjoyed my 3 days stay with 3 cats and 2 dogs in this beautiful large house. Every room facing the big yard plus stunning mountain view, the room was very clean, neat and modern designed. Its only 10-15 min walking distance to town center where you can see lake Tekapo, Chapel and some real good restaurants. The host was very friendly, I got free ride and useful sightseeing advice during my 3 days stay. I strongly recommend this place to everyone visiting Tekapo, and I will come back again 

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely B&B. It sits on a small hill, 10min walk from the centre of the village. If you're lucky, you will get a room with the lake view, but unfortunately all we saw from our window, was a bit of a mountain. On a plus side, our room was on the far end of the building and it had a separate entrance. The room itself was large with a built in wardrobe, TV, small fridge, microwave, basic cutlery and tea/coffee maker and a small heater. **Kitchen facilities are limited, so it's best to eat at one of the restaurants in the village (just make sure you book early cause they get very busy). ** The bathroom was also quite big with a very modern shower cubicle and a funky toilet. Basic toiletries were provided, but were not restocked during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tekapo Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Heights

Address: 2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tekapo Heights 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Tekapo Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tekapo Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.