We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stonegrill dining in Lake Tekapo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mackenzie's

Mackenzie's
State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Winmalee
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very good stonegrill dining in Lake Tekapo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wife and I are stonegrill fans so chose to dine in Mackenzies on our one night stay in Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo was pretty quiet but Mackenzies certainly wasn't and it was very busy. We had read reviews on trip advisor so we arrived before 6pm and secured a good table with great views. The food and service were very good and we thoroughly recommend Mackenzies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    102
    42
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The service was great and the cheese burger with kumra fries was awesome berry smoothies was great too

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous quaint setting with a serene view. I had beef and lamb cooked on a stone grill and my hubby had the rib eye steak. Both was amazing! Very tender! The service was great - friendly staff with prompt service. We will definitely go there again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Views, unique food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked a table only 15 minutes in advance and were seated by the window overlooking Lake Tekapo on sunset. Service excellent and warm. Food was awesome, stone-grilled meat was a first which was amazing as was the pork belly. Finished off with an Affogato in which our friendly waiter gave us an extra shot of coffee as we were sharing. Overall yum and happy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I planned to dine at the restaurant on our first night in Tekapo but unfortunately a major power outage put paid to that so we fronted up next day & re-booked for that night! Our persistence was well rewarded. Restaurant staff were excellent and our meal was of very high quality in a lovely warm, relaxing ambience in a dining area that has its seating well set out.
We enjoyed our dinner so much that during our 5 night stay in Tekapo, we returned on our last night in town for another evening meal. This visit was again most enjoyable and we enjoyed a beautiful meal.
Thanks so much to Chef and the Restaurant staff. XX

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackenzie's also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Mackenzie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackenzie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.