We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, perfect family holiday spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Tumbulgum, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, perfect family holiday spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We found the 2 bedroom motel unit-5 pax directly across the road from the lake terrific, clean and cosy for our family of 4. So close to Tekapo Hot springs and main area of town with shops, restaurants, cafes historic church etc Was situated in a great spot not only for the amazing scenery but also for us to do day trips to Mt.Cook national park, Round hill to ski, Astro cafe. Found the staff friendly and unobtrusive. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 2 bedroom motel units- straight across road from lake. We stayed in the 5 pax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Kellyjane40
We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our holiday park. You stayed in one of our newly refurbished 2 bedroom motels so we are really pleased it was to your liking.
My goodness you guys were busy while you were here which goes to show Tekapo is more than a one night stop. Awesome!
Thanks again and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Thanks again

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    85
    35
    30
See reviews for
95
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in late July on a powered site. The views were spectacular across the lake.
The new unisex facilities were clean and tidy, however we preferred to use the older facilities as these were a little warmer and had a bath tub we could utilise for our 2yr old. Found these to still be clean and in good condition.

A few nice little playgrounds for kids.

Didn't utilise the kitchen for anything other than washing up but appeared clean and maintained.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi there
You would have found it a little chilly in this neck of the woods being from the Sunshine Coast.!!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive and friendly review. You obviously fitted in all Lake Tekapo had to offer while staying here the three nights. I hope you got some skiing in at Roundhill Ski field. Its a great family, friendly field.
I agree that while the older facility is old it is still clean and tidy.
Thank you again, we really appreciated your review.

Chees
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This holiday park have a brilliant location, Lake Tekapo just at our doorstep. However, the facility is quite poor. NZ$2 for 15 mins hot water. Kitchen is small and facility is not good as well. We been there in winter time, we even cannot refuel our water because their pipes was frozen. But their view is so good that those poor facility can be forgive. And this is the only holiday park there

Room Tip: If you drive a campervan ,no tips, the only holiday park there. If you not drive a campervan, choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi there sunny Perth

We are lucky to live in such a perfect location but unfortunately the winter weather does play havoc with the water supply. All our pipes are lagged but obviously this doesn't always help when you have such harsh frosts. This morning we had a campervan who's water was actually frozen in his tank!
While we are used to it I know it can be difficult for you guys. I'm glad you loved the view and thank you for forgiving the old amenities block :-) Much appreciated.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and maybe got some skiing in?

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

As a family of 5 touring NZ in a motorhome for a month we got to sample many a caravan sites throughout NZ. Of all the places we stayed at whilst touring NZ, this had to be the pick of them for being the worst place to stay at. Granted the view was spectacular but so are a lot of other places. To summarise this place was to most expensive of all the sites we stayed in all over NZ. If I was going to visit for the view or the Tekapo Springs I would stay either side of this place and make a day trip from where your staying. There are some nice places either side of this place which makes a day trip worth while eg Twizel or Geraldine (The Kiwi Park there was awesome and was where we moved onto instead of staying another night - Oh while in Geraldine make sure you visit Barkers for their jams and preserves). Ok apart from being the most expensive of all the sites we stayed at it was the worst as far as amenities were concerned. Having read some of the previous reviews it is apparent that they are not being listened to as a means of continuous improvement. The dodgy amenities spoken about in previuos feedback and due for demolition in winter are still there and are being used - we stayed in winter time and they were open for use. The showers are very unsavoury and yes you still have to pay for them - yes it is a ten minute shower but it takes a few minutes for the hot water to come through in winter time - I hear what has been said about the freeloaders - but give your paying customers a token to solve the problem. The ladies room sinks are akin to something out of a third world country where they drain into a central and open channel. All the amenities were very mouldy, had dead insects stuck to the paint and most of the paint was peeling off. The TV room was also very 3rd world. Instead of having the man hole fixed it was sorted by using a cushion from the lounge seat. The kitchen stank badly and had the following issues - electrical points hanging out of walls and ceilings, some only held on by tape, toasters that had overheated and melted in on themselves and to top it all off a nice friendly population of rodents that scurried across the benches, darted in between the hot plates and scampered across the floor in search of a lost morsel of food on a cold winters night. We have video and a heap of other photos to validate this this if you wish to contact me I can send it on - richardcdpoli@gmail.com
The outdoor BBQs while having a nice view we nothing more then some broken down gas BBQ's propped up in a brick alcove.

I noticed a sign that said if you had an issues that needed resolving then contact the manager - I am not sure what would have been done about this late at night. There are heaps of reviews on here about the same thing and it seem the managers are just relying on the captured market of being the only place in town to stop at.

Such a shame - this place could be something to be proud about.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi there

Wow!
I have had to think about how to reply to this review as obviously you did not enjoy your stay with us. I guess, first up I must apologise as somehow we must have upset or offended you first up for you to go to such length to find fault in our holiday park. To mention that we don't listen to reviews as a means of continuous improvement is unfounded as the improvements to the holiday park on a whole over the last 16 months since we have been here have been remarkable to say the least. We have put a lot of energy, time, money and love into this park and we know we have a ways to go. Rome wasn't built in a day! Yes the old block is old and yes it is coming down but this type of build is not something to be rushed and one does not do a build like this without dotting the I's and crossing the T's. Yes, you have mentioned some valid points which will obviously be rectified with a new building but you failed to mention the new spotless modern unisex amenity block. So there is a choice to using the old facilities. Thank you for pointing out the pillow in the man hole but this was spotted after we could not find the lounge cushion. It is not the man hole cover but purely a prankster doing his/her thing. Our TV room is a large, comfortable well unutilised room with a flat screen TV, two internet computers, comfy couches and (albeit they may not all match) , with tables & chairs and two echo heaters on 24/7. To say this is third world is unfair.
The power points in the ceiling you mention are approved points that we drop in the summer to accommodate all the extra guests and the points hanging out of the walls are not hanging, they are plugs mounted, not flush which was the trend back in the day.
I'm not sure what holiday park you were staying at where the BBQ were as bad as you described but it is certainly NOT our park. All our BBQ's are commercial BBQ's, new December 2013, and all built into timber surrounds with timer tops. We have twelve of these dotted around the camp and might I point out they are all free!
Show me a building where in the winter when people leave the doors open there isn't a battle of wills against the wildlife wanting to get inside to keep out of the cold. Hence the reason we have traps set in inconspicuous places. I know other camps have the same issues during the winter.
To say we are the most expensive camp around is unfounded. We have done our homework! We know what the camps on either side of us are charging and we know what you will pay further down south and up north, We are also campers. We certainly aren't the cheapest but we aren't the most expensive.
It is a shame you chose to voice your comments in this forum instead of to us directly. We do take on board what people say. We could have had an amicable discussion and reached an amicable arrangement.
I have changed the toaster!

Maybe when you head back this way and the new facility is built which I have always said we hope to have built by this summer (we are having some delays) we can surprise you and you will have a fantastic stay.

cheers
Andrea



I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The location is undeniably great. No matter where you are placed, just a minute or two's walk will get you lakeside.

However, a number of the camper van plots have their view of the lake obstructed by large trees, or partially so by a building.

My fiancée and I arrived relatively early (mid-afternoon), having phoned earlier and been told availability wasn't a problem and just to turn up. With lots of places free we asked for one with a good view. When we drive to the designated plot there were trees between us and the lake. Other free plots had views either to the side or through the trees. My fiancée went back to talk to the staff member and was most unhappy with the treatment she received - the staff member was apparently displeased with being confronted with our opinions, we were declined our request for certain plot numbers and moved involuntarily to a plot with an even worse view! It's worth noting at this point it's about the only genuinely unpleasant service we have received in 3 weeks of our trip in NZ.

Price is greater than 'Top 10' sites (if you hold a free membership), and then you have to pay for showers on top. These are untested at the time of typing, but the charge is $2NZ for 10 mins.

All in all, a distinctly average experience when it could be an exceptional one. If there were other sites in the area, I'd advocate using them, but it's a bit of a "Hobson's choice" at the moment. Just be aware up front.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi there from the United Kingdom
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and the site that was allocated to you.
Unfortunately we only have 12 sites that have a completely unrestricted view of the lake and from there the sites are terraced and have filtered views through the trees.
We obviously cant cut all the tress down as we would be left with no protection from the winds that rip down the lake however we are continually doing tree maintenance and are aware that some of our trees in the camp are ready for a trim. This is a spring project before the leaves start to grow.
When you asked for a site change and the ones you wanted weren't available it will be because these sites were pre booked and were requested so therefore we couldn't give them to you.
Where possible we always try to accommodate everyone's request but tis isn't always possible.
Our tariff is competitive with other parks in our area as well as being less than down south. $22.00 per adult (if you choose to take a 10 min shower) is not an unreasonable tariff and if you choose to use the shower in your campervan of which you have already paid for then its only $20.00 per person. Unfortunately we have so many people walk in and steal showers we have to put a charge on them.
Other than the site allocation I hope you enjoyed Lake Tekapo, maybe got to relax in the hot pools, go skiing or enjoyed the walks!

Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed there for 1 night. Each of us was given one coin which was used for bathing. Furthurmore, you are allowed to bath within 10 minutes. Finally, the toilette and kitchen are too far away from the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi there
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our holiday park.
From your comments you obviously stayed in one of our standard cabin. A standard cabin is just that, sleeping only using the holiday park facilities and this is standard whenever you stay in a holiday park in NZ. Yes our showers are operated by a $2.00 coin and they last for 10 minutes. That is why you were given a token so there was no additional charge to you.
The cabins are not more than 50m away from the facilities and there is always other options of units with bathroom facilities but obviously these are priced accordingly.

Thanks again

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the motel accommodation and it turned out to be one of the best decisions we made. We had looked around for other options but there were no vacancies anywhere else and we were a bit concerned that we may not be too comfortable here, but we needn't have worried.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The facility is self contained and one need not eat out if one chooses to cook. There is ample parking space in front of each room.

The view from the rooms is amazing as one is right on the very beautiful Lake Tekapo. The walk to the town is very pleasant and one that you would want to do over and over again.

Better to stay here than in the town.

Room Tip: Stay at the motel rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi there
By your comments it was a stroke of luck you being able to stay with us as it sounds like you had a great time and were very happy with your motel unit. You also stayed at the busiest time of the year and still enjoyed the hustle and bustle of it all.

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your great comments.
Hope to see you back this way again sometime!

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park is set amongst mature trees on the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget.Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.