We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relies on location and lack of competition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relies on location and lack of competition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The location is undeniably great. No matter where you are placed, just a minute or two's walk will get you lakeside.

However, a number of the camper van plots have their view of the lake obstructed by large trees, or partially so by a building.

My fiancée and I arrived relatively early (mid-afternoon), having phoned earlier and been told availability wasn't a problem and just to turn up. With lots of places free we asked for one with a good view. When we drive to the designated plot there were trees between us and the lake. Other free plots had views either to the side or through the trees. My fiancée went back to talk to the staff member and was most unhappy with the treatment she received - the staff member was apparently displeased with being confronted with our opinions, we were declined our request for certain plot numbers and moved involuntarily to a plot with an even worse view! It's worth noting at this point it's about the only genuinely unpleasant service we have received in 3 weeks of our trip in NZ.

Price is greater than 'Top 10' sites (if you hold a free membership), and then you have to pay for showers on top. These are untested at the time of typing, but the charge is $2NZ for 10 mins.

All in all, a distinctly average experience when it could be an exceptional one. If there were other sites in the area, I'd advocate using them, but it's a bit of a "Hobson's choice" at the moment. Just be aware up front.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi there from the United Kingdom
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and the site that was allocated to you.
Unfortunately we only have 12 sites that have a completely unrestricted view of the lake and from there the sites are terraced and have filtered views through the trees.
We obviously cant cut all the tress down as we would be left with no protection from the winds that rip down the lake however we are continually doing tree maintenance and are aware that some of our trees in the camp are ready for a trim. This is a spring project before the leaves start to grow.
When you asked for a site change and the ones you wanted weren't available it will be because these sites were pre booked and were requested so therefore we couldn't give them to you.
Where possible we always try to accommodate everyone's request but tis isn't always possible.
Our tariff is competitive with other parks in our area as well as being less than down south. $22.00 per adult (if you choose to take a 10 min shower) is not an unreasonable tariff and if you choose to use the shower in your campervan of which you have already paid for then its only $20.00 per person. Unfortunately we have so many people walk in and steal showers we have to put a charge on them.
Other than the site allocation I hope you enjoyed Lake Tekapo, maybe got to relax in the hot pools, go skiing or enjoyed the walks!

Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    107
    91
    36
    33
See reviews for
99
135
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed there for 1 night. Each of us was given one coin which was used for bathing. Furthurmore, you are allowed to bath within 10 minutes. Finally, the toilette and kitchen are too far away from the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi there
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our holiday park.
From your comments you obviously stayed in one of our standard cabin. A standard cabin is just that, sleeping only using the holiday park facilities and this is standard whenever you stay in a holiday park in NZ. Yes our showers are operated by a $2.00 coin and they last for 10 minutes. That is why you were given a token so there was no additional charge to you.
The cabins are not more than 50m away from the facilities and there is always other options of units with bathroom facilities but obviously these are priced accordingly.

Thanks again

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the motel accommodation and it turned out to be one of the best decisions we made. We had looked around for other options but there were no vacancies anywhere else and we were a bit concerned that we may not be too comfortable here, but we needn't have worried.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The facility is self contained and one need not eat out if one chooses to cook. There is ample parking space in front of each room.

The view from the rooms is amazing as one is right on the very beautiful Lake Tekapo. The walk to the town is very pleasant and one that you would want to do over and over again.

Better to stay here than in the town.

Room Tip: Stay at the motel rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi there
By your comments it was a stroke of luck you being able to stay with us as it sounds like you had a great time and were very happy with your motel unit. You also stayed at the busiest time of the year and still enjoyed the hustle and bustle of it all.

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your great comments.
Hope to see you back this way again sometime!

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

First time to Lake Tekapo & really liked the facilities on offer. From the upgraded modern unisex toilets to the slightly older but very clean women's (& men's) only at the other end of the holiday park. Lovely warm tv room & the closest accommodation to the hot springs. Friendly staff. We were all very happy with our three night stay on the powered site certainly having site 22 to 30 offers the best views.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello to sunny Whangarei.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Lake Tekapo and for taking the time to review us. You would have well and truly been in chill out mode having been able to spend three nights with us.
We are actually working on plans at the moment for the new amenities block to replace the old block so we are pretty excited to get this up and running.

Thanks again for your positive comments and we might see you again sometime if you ever get back down to this neck of the woods.

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This campsite really has the most perfect position in Tekapo! We stayed in an ensuite cabin, which was lovely and warm with an absolutely stunning view across the lake. Stocked with all the crockery etc you could need, they really are a great option for a lovely, simple stay. The shower was lovely pressure, and very hot as it is gas powered. The little balcony was lovely. Couldn't recommend this park highly enough.

The Tekapo Springs hot pools are just a short stroll away, which is a great bonus. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: The ensuite cabins definitely have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Jess
We are ever so lucky to have a holiday park in the perfect location with the perfect view and the hot pools down the road are a real bonus for our guests.
I'm glad you had a great weekend away and found our ensuite units more than adequate and well stocked. Just a wee heads up that we are trying to get all these refurbished by Xmas so fingers crossed we get the time but as they are they are still neat units.

Thanks for your great comments and no doubt we will see you up this way again some time soon. We had snow last night so today it is looking really pretty!

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Located across an access road from the lake, and on a small bluff, the motel rooms have a lovely view. We took that last unit left, a two-bedroom with a large, fully equipped kitchen with a table, and a living room. The unit was spacious and clean and within walking distance of the few shops and restaurants in Lake Tekapo. The laundry room was conveniently located at the end of the motel block, and a few picnic tables with BBQs were placed closer to the edge of the bluff. The staff at check-in and later when we had questions were friendly and helpful. A good value!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Mallory from Cypress, California
You are a long way from home so I am very happy we were able to make your stay in Lake Tekapo enjoyable, comfortable and friendly.
You had the perfect view with all the mod cons.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments they are always appreciated.

Take care and safe travels

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

First night we stayed in backpackers lodge. Good facilities. Wasn't for us so next day they were able to upgrade to ensuite cabin right on lakefront. Fantastic.
Very close to hot pools, minutes walk to lake front, great views of mountains and close to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Susan for CHCH
I'm glad we were able to move you to another unit for your last night. Backpackers facilities aren't for everyone :-) I'm an ensuite girl myself!
Thanks for your positive comments and you certainly upgraded to one of the best views in town.

Hope to see you back this way again some time

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park is set amongst mature trees on the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget.Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.