We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This campsite really has the most perfect position in Tekapo! We stayed in an ensuite cabin, which was lovely and warm with an absolutely stunning view across the lake. Stocked with all the crockery etc you could need, they really are a great option for a lovely, simple stay. The shower was lovely pressure, and very hot as it is gas powered. The little balcony was lovely. Couldn't recommend this park highly enough.

The Tekapo Springs hot pools are just a short stroll away, which is a great bonus. I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: The ensuite cabins definitely have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Jess
We are ever so lucky to have a holiday park in the perfect location with the perfect view and the hot pools down the road are a real bonus for our guests.
I'm glad you had a great weekend away and found our ensuite units more than adequate and well stocked. Just a wee heads up that we are trying to get all these refurbished by Xmas so fingers crossed we get the time but as they are they are still neat units.

Thanks for your great comments and no doubt we will see you up this way again some time soon. We had snow last night so today it is looking really pretty!

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    115
    93
    39
    33
See reviews for
105
145
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Located across an access road from the lake, and on a small bluff, the motel rooms have a lovely view. We took that last unit left, a two-bedroom with a large, fully equipped kitchen with a table, and a living room. The unit was spacious and clean and within walking distance of the few shops and restaurants in Lake Tekapo. The laundry room was conveniently located at the end of the motel block, and a few picnic tables with BBQs were placed closer to the edge of the bluff. The staff at check-in and later when we had questions were friendly and helpful. A good value!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Mallory from Cypress, California
You are a long way from home so I am very happy we were able to make your stay in Lake Tekapo enjoyable, comfortable and friendly.
You had the perfect view with all the mod cons.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments they are always appreciated.

Take care and safe travels

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

First night we stayed in backpackers lodge. Good facilities. Wasn't for us so next day they were able to upgrade to ensuite cabin right on lakefront. Fantastic.
Very close to hot pools, minutes walk to lake front, great views of mountains and close to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Susan for CHCH
I'm glad we were able to move you to another unit for your last night. Backpackers facilities aren't for everyone :-) I'm an ensuite girl myself!
Thanks for your positive comments and you certainly upgraded to one of the best views in town.

Hope to see you back this way again some time

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in standard cabin... location is excellent...just infront of lake tekapo. If you want to see real beauty of nature...then this hotel is perfect. You can see beautiful morning and soothing evening having cup of tea/coffee.

Kitchen is shared and there are many dinning tables on the bank of lake. Bathroom was quite far from our cabin and had to walk for 200 meters for loo :)

For standard cabin, hotel staff didnt provide us rug/blanket. So carry blanket if you are choosing cabins.. also bathroom service is paid. Staff was quite rude and you will have to check in on time...otherwise you wont be able to check in :)

Room Tip: Select private suite otherwise carry your own blanket/rug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello
I'm glad you liked our location and the uninterrupted views of Lake Tekapo.
You stayed in a standard cabin where you use the communal facilities. These cabins all come with a blanket, duvet and sheets and all you have to supply is a towel. All beds have the same so I'm not sure why you needed a blanket as there are plenty in the cabin.
You do pay $2.00 for a 10 in shower but all the other kitchen and toilet facilities are free and at tops from the furthest cabin to an amenities block it would be no more than 75m.
I'm sorry you felt the staff rude as this is unacceptable however I wonder if there may have been some confusion over the arrival procedure as we don't have a issue with late arrivals. If you are late all we do is debit your credit card and leave your keys and a map out for you so this way you can come in at your leisure.
I will follow up on this just to be sure the reception staff are giving out the correct information.
Thanks you for pointing out those things and I am glad that despite this you have a great time and enjoyed Lake Tekapo.

Thanks again form snowy Lake Tekapo

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived 30 minutes before check in time and were initially asked if we could come back. But we were then given our room. Not much of a run down on the area on our arrival. Good location and clean. Very close to Tekapo springs. Average experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your comments about our holiday park, I have just got back from annual leave so playing catch up now so sorry for not responding sooner.
If you had been asked to wait on check in it would have only been as the room wasn't ready. If the rooms are ready we are more than happy to let people in earlier. On arrival you should have been given a town map and map of the park which we point out everything you need to know about staying with us. I will follow up on this to ensure we are rushing through our guests on arrival.

Thanks again for your review
cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed one night in a camper van the toilet and shower facilities were clean and tidy was disappointed we had to pay for showers after paying so much for the site. But in saying that it's open so anyone could walk up and use the facilities so maybe tokens should be given to the campers that pay so it's free for them just an idea.
View is amazing breath taking and the sunrise over the lake is the best.
I would recommend this place for sure as long as you don't mind paying a little extra then most camp grounds on the south side

Room Tip: We where on the last camp site facing the water and had more tress in front then most sites but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Girls
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our pay as you go showers are an added extra but in total the cost of the site is still only $22 per person which is still a little cheaper than some camps as you head further south. But you banged the nail on the head when you mentioned how open we are. We have a huge issue with people just walking in and stealing showers.
Other than that I'm glad everything else met your expectations and you had a great stay with us.

Thanks again

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Lovely campsite, great views of the lake, in the camper. The kids loved being able to run up and down the hill and cross the road to the lake. I loved that I could watch them feed the ducks from the camper. The playground was pretty slack.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Melanie
Sounds like the kids kept themselves busy while they were at the camp. This is a great safe location for kids. I know our playground is a bit basic but I hope they found the playground on the lake front with the elephant and tractor!

Thank you for writing a comment and I hope you survived the cooler weather and enjoyed the res of your family holiday.

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park is set amongst mature trees on the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget.Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.