We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay with a stunning view over the lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing stay with a stunning view over the lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Amazing stay with a stunning view over the lake! Stayed there for one night and loved it too bits. The room was clean and spacious with a fridge and tv. It was truly great to fall asleep and wake up with a view like this. We also had the most scenic bbq there.Would definitely recommend to a friend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi There

Thanks for your amazing review and very kind comments. I'm pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and it was clean. The views from the BBQ area are surely the best in the world? We certainly think so!

Thanks again and we look forward to your friends visiting us too!

Cheers,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    117
    95
    39
    33
See reviews for
107
146
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

So, we had low expectations of this place from the very beginning. In peak season, stay options were limited and this looked like a good enough place to stay in as it was right by the lake (our primary attraction pt). But I'll have to say, we got more :)

Ours was a 3 night stay (part of our 10 day honeymoon and this being the 'budget' stay). Here's what we loved-

1. Heated mattress & comfy single bed unit (no uncomfortable partition/twin beds)
2. Clean & cosy motel unit with a separate loo & bath
3. Fresh towels welcome you each day
4. Great views of the lake from your living room sp since you're at a height
5. No great views from your bed room but beautiful pine trees & complete privacy at the back
6. The caravans and larger crowd are a bit away (separate area) so apart from your immediate neighbours (not more than 6 units) you'll enjoy quite a bit of quiet

Minor Minus pts-

1. Thin walls so neighbour disturbance will be pretty much there though we didn't really care cause we were out all day/eve & post midnight everyone is off to bed anyway! :)

2. Nearest cafe's/restaurants are 2 kms away (in the village centre). For those who have knee problems or can't walk too much, you may want to take the car (plenty of parking there) or just cook your own food. The kitchen is well equipped with all the basic necessities etc. Though we walked it up & down for breakfast/brunch/snack/supper :) The walk can get a bit too long when you're ravenous or if it's raining but it's worth it.

TIPS in & around lake tekapo-
1. Weather can go cookoo any min & even the locals are amazed at how unpredictable it is nowadays! So make sure to carry a warm (water proof preferably) jacket when out
2. When out star gazing, specially for the 11 pm & 12:30 am tour, make sure to wear few layers (legging+jeans), though the tour guys will provide a very warm winter jacket before you leave on the bus. This tour is a must do if weather favours you. Make sure to ask to see jupiter through the telescope! It's mind blowing! :)
3. You must get out of your motel unit to see the stars at night anyway (post 10 p.m.) and if the moon is out, you'll be enchanted by its gorgeous reflection on the lake. Worth sitting by the outside bench and braving the cold for this sight :)
4. Check out is at 10 am & they're pretty particular about this
5. Make sure to have your meals at Reflections. We had all our three meals there on day 2! Brilliant food! I will write a retailed review on the restaurant page.
6. The bath is a tiny 1 person shower unit so if you are looking for a tub for two, this isn't the accommodation for ya :P

Over all loved the acco (Motel unit), the lake-everything really! Like I said, nothing much to complain about! :) Hope this review helped. Have a great trip!

Room Tip: Try and get the corner rooms. That way it's one unit less to be disturbed by! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi There

Thank you so much for a great and very detailed review. Sorry about the delayed response (we had a very busy high season here in Tekapo!). Sounds like we exceeded your expectations and you found the motels to be quiet and peaceful.

Thank you again for your review and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

cheers
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in our camper in jan 2014. We had a pitch that overlooked the lake. Found campsite handy for nearby attractions such as hot pools, the lake itself and the church of the good shepherd. Only downside was that there was no hot water in the shower block when we stayed. Received a refund of the $2 charge but a rather flat 'try one of the other shower blocks' from reception. Not especially helpful when you've just frozen solid, got redressed, walked 10 mins to reception to complain... Seeing as reception were aware of the problem, it would have been useful if one of the many site staff could have put a sign up notifying visitors of the lack of hot water before we all bothered to brave the icy cold waters!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one night however was an enjoyable stay. Had an ensuite cabin (no. 2) which was near the BBQ area but that wasn't a problem. Wonderful view over the lake. The cabin was clean and had a small fridge and sink but no cooking facilities as these were available in the common kitchen. Overall good value.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This motel is not a destination, much better a overnight stay en route somewhere else.
We stayed in an upstairs unit, which we were not expecting, with no outside area to relax, unless we'd sat under the washing line by the state highway. When we arrived families in the other units had parked all over the grass and were drinking with loud music booming, so slightly off putting!
The interior is very dated. Very. there is no washing machine.
The unit is expensive, way overpriced for the quality of accommodation.
On the positive side, it's a good location, fair sized unit that sleeps six, and its serviced daily with clean towels (no bed making though).
Nevertheless i would not recommend staying here. We really regretted not booking into the youth hostel which sits between the units and the lake. Much cheaper, a beautiful outdoor area to relax in and an uninterrupted view!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We camped here one night at the beginning of our trip and a week later stayed again as we loved it so much. The view from most camp sites seem to be looking out over the lake and views don't come much better than that but what I really appreciated was the well oiled running of this place. They have thought of everything and have you covered in most respects. The only issue that came from this is their massive popularity as it was hard to reach them or book a camping spot on our return, leaving us to turn up and hope for the best. The spot we were given was outside the barrier gates and was a 10min walk to the bathrooms with our toiletries. Be warned also that most things here cost i.e showers and wifi, although I did see free use BBQs again with a stunning view.

Room Tip: Book early to ensure the best spots when camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for only one night and we had a twin suite. The view from our bedroom/balcony was amazing, directly onto the lake with the mountains in the background. The suite was pretty clean and had all the basics covered. Internet costs extra which is always a minus, but mobile data reception here is great so you don't need wifi if you have a mobile phone.

Fridge in the room is good, no fans or aircon though. The facilities seem good, they have several BBQs people can use and there are tables and benches nearby with a view of the lake. Great for a family BBQ dinner. Don't expect a 5 star resort, but from our experience this was clean, functional and friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park is set amongst mature trees on the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget.Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.