We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lake Tekapo Lakeside Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Lake Tekapo Lakeside Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful scenery in front of our rented cabin, booked for two person sharing and the cabin comes with 4 beds. Everything was very clean and well up keep. Communal kitchen was good and clean as well except you need to prepare your dinner a little earlier if you plan to cook. Few BBQ pits was available and could be shared among other guests. Breathtaking lake tekapo and range mountain (unsure of range name) during sunset. Walking distance to convenient stores selling fresh vegetable and some meats for cooking. There were several good restaurant and cafe serving breakfast till dinner as well. Overall was very satisfactory stay and experience with the Lakeside stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    85
    35
    30
See reviews for
95
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We rented the standard cabin at this holiday park, which means we had a room with beds and a heater. We used the communal kitchen areas and the communal toilets and showers, which were clean and well-maintained. We also used the laundry here. The cabin was clean, but nothing special. The double bed had a tendency to roll us to the middle. There were also 4 bunk beds in the cabin. Linens could be obtained at extra cost, but we used our own sheets and blanket.

The best thing here is the lake, which is adjacent to the holiday park and beautiful. Also, the town itself is a short walk away, with several restaurants and a store.

Room Tip: Book ahead. This holiday park fills up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in Lake Tekapo for 2 nights in the powered site. The location is beautiful overlooking the lake and only a 10 minute walk to the shops and a short walk to the hot pools. The facilities were clean and unlike other campsites we never had to queue to use the bbq pits as they had a few available. Main downside is that you have to pay $2 to use the showers!

Overall a nice place and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed one night in our campervan and were pleasantly surprised at the holiday park after the terrible reviews we had read. We were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception who explained all we needed to know.
From what we saw on our short visit there appear to be two toilet and shower blocks one of which is a communal toilet and shower block which we used. This was immaculately clean however we did not shower instead using the showers after swimming at the Lake Tekapo Hot Pools (few minutes walk up the road).
We had a wonderful view over Lake Tekapo and thoroughly enjoyed having our evening drink and nibbles down on the lakeside beach.
Our children loved all the ducks wandering through the holiday park.
We only stayed in 3 holiday parks and feld the price was comparative to the other 2.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We travelled around new zealand for 5 weeks and without a doubt this was the most disappointing park we stayed on.
Firstly, the man fronting the reception was miserable, unhelpful and just not interested in his customers.
Secondly, the grounds of the site was full of 'used tissues', bits of glass, used teabags and generally lots of litter. The toilet and shower areas were a bit grubby and we therefore preferred to shower in our motorhome. We stayed on lots of sites and the 'kiwi' and 'top 10' sites were top notch but I would definitely give the Lake Tekapo holiday park a miss.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

From the moment you go to reception you are greeted with a manner that goes beyond the indifferent straight to the downright rude!
If you dare spend $2 on top of the very expensive site fee you have already paid for a shower beware that if someone else turns on the hot tap you will be scolded. You have to almost stand on the toilet seat to close the toilet door! Very difficult to move about after dark as the lighting was probable designed for a car park!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice, just in front of the lake
We stayed only one night on the campsite.
Location is great only few meters from Lake Tekapo, where you have a little beach .
The facilities were clean and also the little kitchen.
This Place is Ok for few nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park is set amongst mature trees on the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget.Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.