We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse campsite - WAY over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Kiwi in Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worse campsite - WAY over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We love lake Tekapo and are always wowed by the beautiful scenery. We hadn't stayed overnight before so during our south island road trip in a motorhome we decided to have an overnight stay and felt limited in choices so stayed in this park. Worse decision we've made on our trip. Cost $40 for a powered site, then we were told it was $2 for a shower. The sites weren't allocated so we picked a spot overlooking the lake but then needed to go out so had to put out deck chairs in the hope we'd still have the site when we got back. Old facilities. Poor layout. Women's bathrooms were the furthest away and they were absolutely freezing. There was a heater on but a big window open next to it. Also not very clean and I never saw anyone checking the facilities or any one who looked like they worked there.

Needed to do one load of washing, not a lot but traveling with a baby means you need clean, dry clothes. As some of the clothes were woolen singlets etc we had to do a cold wash, yet still had to pay $4. We also had to pay $4 for the dryer. I went to pick it up later and noticed it was still very wet but since it was cold I put it on again. We had taken out the woolen items so it wasn't a huge load. Picked it up later and it was still wet! I took it back to the campervan and told my husband how crap the facilities were that it cost $8 for the dryer and our clothes were still damp. That's when I found out he had also checked the clothes and paid another $4! Thought it was ridiculous and maybe there was something wrong with the dryer so in the freezing cold walked the long distance of over 100m to the reception but they were closed at 8.30pm and it was just before 9pm. No other choice but to take out the small items and put it in the dryer yet again. This time I went to the bathroom as well so checked on it again soon after and it had already stopped. Had to come to the conclusion that it was $4 for 10mins drying!! There was no sign stating this, if there had been we wouldn't have bothered and just held out to our next stop.

Tekapo is a gorgeous place but stay somewhere else. If you're in a campervan maybe lake Alexandrina? We saw it the next day. Otherwise if you don't mind a 30min drive stay in the top 10 at Fairlie. Same site fee but free showers, free BBQ, clean modern kitchen with free use of equipment, free washing, dryer is only $2 for 40mins, plus you get free wifi and the hosts are lovely.

This holiday park marred our entire Tekapo experience. The whole site needs a makeover! Do not recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    85
    35
    30
See reviews for
95
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here in August with our children. Family break to go skiing at Round Hill with friends. Other reviewers hit the nail on the head - great location- but WAY overpriced for the old, dated and freezing cold state of the motel units. We asked if the units were heated properly before arriving and they told us they would be. For some reason in NZ, some proprietors think that an old fan heater in the corner of the room and electric blankets mean properly heated - they don't! These units need to be either rebuilt or else insulated properly with an effective heating system installed. We were so cold we had to pull blankets off the bed to put over us on the sofa and we even ran the bathroom wall fan heater for hours to try and keep some heat going. I don't feel bad about using so much power as they charge so much for accommodation. Stunning location, its a pity the owners are so complacent about the standard of accommodation they provide. Lake Tekapo needs more competition for this family market. We tried to get a house/bach first but they were all booked out for that weekend. Other friends stayed in Peppers the same weekend and paid only a few dollars more than us and stayed in beautiful, new, warm apartments. Never again will we stay in the holiday park..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here in August on our motorhome holiday of the south island. This was the worst van park we stayed in and the most expensive, even having to pay $2 to have a ten minute shower. Horrible damp smell in the showers also. Kitchen facilities were not that clean so we chose to cook in our motorhomes. Laundry was down to one washer and dryer working. Not good!!! The only thing going for this van park is its location right on the shores of Lake Tekapo. Way overdue for some kind of upgrade or perhaps demolition/ rebuilding of facilities to bring it up to scratch. We did however enjoy Lake Tekapo especially the big snow dump the night before we arrived which was magic to us travellers from parts of the world that don't see snow. We also walked up Mt. John and enjoyed the facilities at the hot springs nearby. We also had a lovely dinner at the Lake Tekapo Tavern. Would recommend Lake Tekapo but find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Arrived Friday Night, Stayed in a Cabin with en suite @ $120 a night. Lake front/views. Was expecting a nice n tidy, clean place to stay a couple of nights. Unfortunately it was not that way. The bathroom had black mould around shower and sink. Rotting wood in the corners in bathroom. And blocked views of lake from trees ( some other cabins had better views ). There was also badly repaired holes in the wall.

Room Tip: Ask to view first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sadly not many options for camping along Lake Tekapo so these guys have the monopoly. This place has great views but the rates are high (even in low season). We didn't need a powered site but that was the only option. The bathroom facilities smell damp as they are carpeted rather than tiled and you have to pay extra for the showers which seems a cheek given the rates you pay to stay there. WiFi is available but chargeable. DVD rental available but again expensive. Guy on reception not all that welcoming either. We stayed in a number of campsites during our trip but this was disappointing in comparison.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here one night. We had a self contained motorhome and only required a powered site. The park itself is older and very basic. Some of the self contained accommodation looked very old and uninviting but there was some nice newer cabins facing the lake. These looked more suitable. Amenities were older and could do with some upgrades. There was heating in the bathroom which is a necessity in the colder months. Paying $2 extra for a shower is not ideal given the rate charged per night. There appeared to be some more sites under construction. The price was a little higher than you would expect for an 'older' park however it was fine for one night for a site. I wouldn't stay here for an extended holiday. The view over the lake was fantastic and the location of the park was good. We walked to the tekapo springs for snow tubing, hot pools and ice skating. You could also walk into the small township.

Room Tip: book one of the newer types of accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Pretty basic holiday park, with $2 showers ( I would advise putting in $4 so the hot water doesn't cut out mid shampoo) but the most beautiful view across the lake to the mountains! Also an easy stroll down to the village shops and ice rink, hot pools etc. The best choice for budget accommodation in Lake Tekapo!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park is set amongst mature trees on the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget.Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.