We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Absolutely amazing experience"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air Safaris

Air Safaris
State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied.
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Absolutely amazing experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We flew with Air Safaris during our stay in Tekapo. We were welcomed by the staff and they were so friendly and professional. As a family of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 9 & 7 ) we decided to do the ½ hour air safari over the mountains and lake. It was a small 8 seater plane and our pilot was Tom. The trip was amazing and we all loved it. Tom was so nice and explained where we were and gave us some fantastic information on the areas we were passing over. The views were fantastic. Safety was paramount at all times. My husband loved it so much that he returned two days later and went on the hour long trip and did the Grand Traverse. This flight took him over the famous glaciers and Mount Cook. His pilot was Isaac, and again so professional and informative. We would highly recommend Air Safaris. They were definitely a highlight of our trip to New Zealand.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolute must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is one of the most amazing experiences of our trip to New Zealand. The trip is about an hour long and the photos you get are stunning. I would highly recommend this trip just to get an idea of the massive changes in scenery in this beautiful part of the world.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great start to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thought we would attempt this on our first day. It couldn't have gone better, not a cloud in the sky and no turbulance. This was a trip of a life time as we cruised the alps. Great way to get your perspective as you start your NZ adventure.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle B, Public Relations Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment :)
We are so excited you enjoyed your experience with us on our fabulous 'Grand Traverse' flight!! It's a wonderful flight to appreciate just how small New Zealand really is.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Definitely worth flying over the glaciers and Mt Cook from Lake Tekapo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

At first wasn't going to spend the money on a flight above the glaciers but decided to at the last minute! So well worth it! Excellent and respectful staff, very comfortable plane and WOW! What a view! Glad I waited to do the flight from Lake Tekapo and not Fox Glacier or Franz joseph as the flight to the glaciers adds more time to the flight and allows you to see much more! Really enjoyed Air Safaris!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRayward, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about us and post images, we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience ("Grand Traverse" Tour) with us. Please visit again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Took the "Grand Traverse" flight today over the glaciers and Mt Cook with our pilot "Isaac" in our liitle plane as our previously booked chopper flight from Franz Josef was cancelled due to weather the previous week. Isaac was great about explaining the scenery and the views were fantastic. Everybody gets a window seat, the only drawback is you don't get much legroom.

Well worth the trip for the views.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Safaris also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Air Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.