We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in every regard except...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel to your Saves list
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
Pembroke Road | East Mt. Egmont/Taranaki, Stratford 4352, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in every regard except...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I loved the service and the food. In fact, these were among the best we have experienced throughout NZ. But we would not have discovered all this had the owners not misrepresented the Internet availability. There is NO Internet. Now, many people might be happy to go there and escape the outside world but I needed it at that time. Having got that off my chest, Rod and his wonderful team of waiters and chefs dis a brilliant job. I'd have no hesitation in going back but for..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
51
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We went to the Mountain House for my husband's 70 birthday and what a superb place we chose. The hospitality, food and facilities were fantastic. Our evening meals were first class.. Where else in New Zealand can you dine on whitebait, vension, duck, and salmon and have it presented and cooked to perfection. It was great to see that breakfast didnt start until 9.00 and therefore the mornings were sooooo quiet.. you could sit outside, listen to the birds and breath in the crisp mountain air. Breakfasts set us up for the day. Our room was great and the spa bath a special treat. We are looking forward to returning to this great place.
A special thanks to Rod and Lynne and the staff, nothing was a problem.. even providing a special relay of the rugby score through out breakfast

Room Tip: Room 10 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I just experienced the most fabulous escape to the Stratford Mountain House. We were welcomed warmly and it was lovely being able to sit out in the sun with a glass of wine in the afternoon. The dinner that night was world class and each dish was impeccable...easily the best food I have had in New Plymouth. Breakfast the following morning was also fabulous and we didn't want to leave. Every staff member we came across were friendly and clearly enjoyed working there. The room was fantastic, quiet and clean. It really was the perfect break away and I would recommend it to anyone. Well done and we both look forward to hopefully returning one day soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived at the mountain house late in the day with a storm approaching but the staff at the lodge were delightful and went out in the rain to set the room up and then changed our room to a warmer room. The rooms away from the lodge look basic from the outside but are lovely on the inside with furniture and fittings of 5 star quality. Despite no cooking facilities the room was warm, the bed really comfy and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed. The meal we had at the lodge was excellent but it was the staff who really made our stay special. We couldn't see much of the mountain because of the cloud but we had a delightful stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The end room in the group of rooms up the hill from the lodge is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Inspirational views, great setting, fine food and service make for an ideal setting for small /medium groups. Recent extensive refurbish of rooms, kitchen and dining areas. Highly recommended for day or overnight retreats.
Within a national park.
Local walks to refresh and inspire

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The best place to stay if you are visiting Taranaki and want to view the mountain and relax in comfort with great hospitality. The management and staff were a pleasure and very personable which made our stay really enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. Food and service at the restaurant was excellent and our room was really comfortable with a high quality super king bed. Quiet and secluded room at the back of the lodge in a bush setting. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the lodge are very quiet and are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a fabulous dinner/sleep over/breakfast earlier this month- my parents with their 3 daughters and husbands. A nice time to catch up without our gorgeous children. we all dined together, but slept in separate units, which was great.
Beautiful food, clean, comfortable, warm accommodation and very attentive hosts.
Thank you Rod and Lynne for some lovely memories made.
Sally

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | East Mt. Egmont/Taranaki, Stratford 4352, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain House Hotel has nine beautifully decorated double rooms. All our guest rooms are new renovated and equipped with flat panel TV, complimentary Mini Bar, Telephone and FREE internet. In addition, all rooms feature a full private spa bath with overhead showers, hairdryer, and Guest Amenities. All guests can completely relax by using all the restaurant services including breakfast, Lunch, afternoon teas and Dinner.…You can’t find a better place on earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel Taranaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.