We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attitude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant

Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant
6018 State Highway 43 (Forgotten World Highway), Stratford RD 26, New Zealand
06 762 5823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Stratford, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

owner was grumpy. not good value. wouldnt go there again. took plate away before asking if i was finished, when taken to task about it offered no apology

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What an icon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stopped for lunch here whilst on a Tiki tour along the Worlds Forgotten Highway (our NZ version of Rote 66). Landlord was fantastic, as was the food and beer. As a Republic, I even got my official (not) passport, and the wife a T shirt. Quite a novelty, but really good and no doubt we will be back.
For anyone from Auckland, just remember this is the boonies, and asking the landlord for a triple soy decaf latte will result in verbal abuse! Great stuff.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitara
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Whanga Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Worth the stop whether a meal or a snack. Great place to go for a drive to for a drink. Great photos of the past on the walls and a lot of history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good pub food in a great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recommend stopping in here for a beer and a hearty meal. We'll come again!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyokawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stopped for lunch and it was lovely to have a break after driving the winding road for a few hours . Lovely food. Nice staff. I'd happily stop there if I happen to drive Forgetten World Highway again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Stratford, Taranaki Region
Stratford, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whangamomona Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.