We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top motel, would go back tomorrow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amity Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amity Court Motel to your Saves list
Amity Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   35 Broadway North, Stratford 4332, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratford
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Top motel, would go back tomorrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband had the pleasure of staying at Amity Court for two months while working in the area. The new motel was comfortable, clean, warm and the hosts pleasant and extremely hospitable. He would recommend any visitor to the area for business or pleasure to put Amity Court to the top of the list when selecting accommodation in Stratford.
Close to Mt Taranaki and the start of the Forgotton World Highway, the motel is ideally located, although a little far out of the town centre if you are wanting to walk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amityc, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Amity Court is the ideal place to stay if your are planning on staying for long periods, our rooms are slightly bigger than average which makes it a more pleasant and comfortable stay. The beneifit of us being away from the town centre is we don't get the noise and undesirable people walking around our property and distrubing our guests. If the location a problem we can easily arrange a taxi or some form of transportation for our guests, however it is only a 10 mintue walk to the town centre which is perfect in fine weather. Amity Court has magnificant views of Mt Taranaki and is a great access point for other attractions such as the Forgotten World Highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
60
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson NZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We had a two night stay at the Amity Court. A recently built, nicely appointed and well furnished in the modern style. Heat pump/ aircon, spa bath. Immaculate and comfortable'
A very well run motel which , for us, is the bench mark by which we judge others. Of all the motels we have stayed in in NZ this is joint top with the Two tree Lodge in Blenheim.

And..a good optional breakfast...

Brilliant..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amityc, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We enjoy adding to our guests experience in New Zealand. Our rooms are alway maintained at the highest standard to compete with other top motels in the country. We love hearing new suggestions and advice on what we provide with our breakfasts and are always happy to go out of our way for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We visited the Site tourist office who contacted the motel for us and we drove down to discover a brand new property. As is the custom we were shown a couple of available rooms and selected an upperfloor non-spa unit. We were fortunate there was availability as we understood from the proprietor much of the motel is block booked by local companies. As you would expect being new the motel was spotlessly clean and had everything you required for self catering. Motel is located on the main street but is quite a walk into the town itself.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amityc, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Amity Court. We offer a wide range of rooms at our motel, all of them feature the highest quailty furniture and appliances. Since we are a big motel it gives us the flexiablity that most motels cant provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Having turned up at the Mountain House Lodge and finding it locked up and in darkness (despite having booked nine months in advance and receiving no warning that the premises were closing – charming!), we found ourselves in a bit of a pickle. Thankfully, after running into a local in Stratford who recommended the Amity Court Motel, we found that we had really landed on our feet.

We were greeted in reception by Dave, the owner of the motel, who was more than happy for us to view three vacant rooms to see if any would be suitable. All three were in excellent order as the motel is brand new (well, three months old!).

We chose to stay on the ground floor at the end of the block. The room was bright and airy and had a large flat screen TV (with Sky TV), tea and coffee making facilities, toaster, microwave, hob, cutlery and crockery. The bathroom was very large and contained a spa tub with powerful shower head above it, all immaculately clean. We had a king size bed and the linens were spotless. There was a table and chairs outside for dining (unfortunately the weather was not on our side for this facility!). Our room cost $130 per night. Very reasonable in our opinion.

The motel is conveniently located for Mt Taranaki (only about a 20 min drive) and you could walk into Stratford in about 10 mins. The second night we stayed was a Saturday and we found ourselves drawn to a noise in the distance which was in fact stock car racing. We had a fantastic evening watching the various cars hammering round the circuit – even though we had dust in just about every orifice afterwards!

On checking out, Dave asked where we were headed next, we said we were on our way to Lake Taupo. He asked if we were going along Highway 43 (the Forgotten World Highway). We had not heard of this and he suggested we go this way as it was very picturesque. We did take his advice and it was absolutely beautiful. We saw 34 cars in three hours of driving – fantastic. For more information on this route go to www.taranaki.info.

We would definitely recommend the Amity Court Motel. Excellent facilities, plenty of local information given, both verbally and by way of lots of leaflets being available in the foyer. Wireless internet is available in the room, however, we did not have a laptop. Dave let us borrow one so we could sort out a few e-mails which was very kind of him. He is a true gentlemen and it was a pleasure to stay in his motel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amityc, Manager at Amity Court Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you again for staying with our motel. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. All our units provide the best facilities required by our guests and many extras. We believe our rates are at the right price as we offer the highest quaility rooms and services and are willing to go out of our way to accommodate our guests. Being locals we know a wide range of attraction, events and routes that we are happy to share with anyone who asks. We make it our business to make sure your great experience continues after your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amity Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amity Court Motel

Address: 35 Broadway North, Stratford 4332, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amity Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 23-suite luxury motel, new June 2009. Modern design, 16 studios, 1 and 2-bedroom units. Great location, 750m to shops, 1km to golf course, 300m to International Speedway. Motel features off-street parking with CCTV, heat pumps, 5 channel Sky TV, high-speed broadband, sound proofing, heated tiled bathrooms, lift, some units have spa baths and fully equipped kitchens. Cot, highchair and laundry available to guests. Cooked/continental breakfasts available and all rooms are serviced daily. Stratford is the gateway to Egmont National Park and Mt Taranaki. A town that is famous for it beautiful parks and gardens and New Zealand's only glockenspiel clock. Experience the Forgotten World Highway, one of New Zealand's most secluded roads. New Zealand's first heritage trail, this scenic route winds over four mountain saddles, alongside the spectacular Tangarakau Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Amity Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amity Court Motel Stratford, Taranaki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amity Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.