We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clive Colonial Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clive Colonial Cottages to your Saves list
Clive Colonial Cottages
198 School Road, Clive 4001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“What a find.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Four of us stayed three nights in Bellbird Cottage last week and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. From the friendly welcome from Sandra and Neil to their thoughtful provision of breakfast goodies - freshly laid eggs, bread, butter, juice, milk and honey - this place is such a winner. We'd happily recommend Clive Colonial Cottages to anyone planning a trip to the gorgeous Hawkes Bay as it so impressed our overseas visitors!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Wow, thanks so much for the wonderful review(s)! It was delightful to meet you guys and so glad you enjoyed your stay in Bellbird Cottage. Thanks again, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful 2 nights at the cottages. This beautiful place is so worth the stay. We we in the middle of everything and so handy... The service of the family was just brilliant. Comfortable beds,pillows,sheets. Fresh free range eggs and bread for breakfast, orange juice.. Just so worth the stay.. Thank you. Alana Lewis

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks heaps Alana for your fantastic review. It was great to meet you guys and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

LIke a home away from home, they have thought of everything. Very comfy bed, good sheets, lovely gardens, pleasant neutral deco. Loved the eggs and bread etc left in the fridge for your first morning. Also enjoyed playing chess with the large chess board and pieces in the garden, great idea. There is also a pool table in the games room in the barn. Very friendly owners, who invited us to help ourselves from the many fruit tress on the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, it is really appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a magical two night stay at Colonial Cottages and wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage has two bedrooms and was ideal for the three of us.

Lots of games, etc to keep us entertained, and our daughter enjoyed playing chess on the big outdoor chess board, whilst we used the BBQ.

We had a slight mishap and left our camera behind - at the outdoor BBQ - and had a 1.5 hour round trip to collect it - thanks to Sandra's wonderful hospitality she had the camera ready for our return as well as a pot of honey as a gift to make us feel a bit better!

Thanks for a wonderful stay - Andre, Elma and Taryn

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks so much for the review Andre, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the honey! And hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had an excellent stay here - our Fantail cottage was absolutely perfect for a couple, its modern, clean and just excellent. Location is great for exploring Hawkes Bay, owners are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were sad to leave after our 3 nights...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and we hope the rest of your holiday in NZ is great. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Tui Cottage and it was perfect. The facilities were of a high standard - we used the BBQ one evening, cooked another and visited Clearview Vineyard on Friday evening for music and dinner. A great place to stay in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks for your review, it is really appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our two night stay at Clive Colonial Cottages was too short. We loved Bellbird cottage which was the perfect size for two adults and a child. It was modern and clean. The location between Napier and Havelock North was perfect. The recommendations on local restaurants and attractions were really helpful. The welcome breakfast suppliers, toiletries and DVDs were a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, we really appreciate it and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clive Colonial Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.