We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   297 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very nice rooms, welcome after some others stayed in. However do not put the pjs/pyjamas on and ask for room service. No room service, unusual for such a hotel. Collect your food downstairs, (keep your make up on)..in paper containers, yes soup also.

Room Tip: close to monash hospital Clayton, why I stayed. One of the best in the area. Novotel is better thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear irene12351,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I appreciate your comments our roomservice option.We offer a full service style of room service Sunday to Thursday,as well as a "Grab it & Go" option and on Friday & Saturday evenings we only offer the "Grab it & Go" option

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    161
    65
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
94
43
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Travelling on a business trip, we had visions of setting up a mini office in our hotel room so we wouldn't fall too far behind whilst away. There is a weird forcefield around this hotel. You can take calls and reception is great, but you won't get any emails..... Unless you pay $60 per device. Yep, phone, ipad, laptop would equal $180 which is an insult in this day and age when I could stand outside the hotel and check emails on my smartphone. The accommodation was fine and everything else can be up to scratch, but this really rubbed me the wrong way and I will avoid them in future. After a 10hr drive from Sydney I was faced with 3 staff behind the reception counter who watched us collect our own trolley & wheel our own bags into the room.. that I can live with. Internet I cannot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Jessica W,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I appreciate your comments in regards to our internet offering. We do have an external provider which supplies the internet service.

The cost is $24.95 per 24 hour period or alternatively $66.00 for a week (7 days). We have arranged with our intenet supplier that the daily fee and weekly fee will cover up to 3 devices.This is a recent addition and may not have been in place during your stay.

I was concerned to read that you could not receive emails whilst in the Hotel. We have not had this feedback before and I have spoken to our suppliers to investigate to ensure it does not impact on our guests.

We have also offer free WIFI in our Lobby and a webcorner which is free to all Hotel guests.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights midweek to be close by to family. At $245 average per night (room only) I thought it was very much on the pricey side particularly in downtown Glen Waverley which is definitely not Melbourne CBD!. Rooms were not huge with a basic ungenerous bathroom cubicle. An empty mini fridge in the room was a strange addition, and a couple of cold purchaseable bottles of water would have been appreciated and a seemingly more useful way to use the appliance.Rooms were quiet and aircon worked well.

Room internet was delivered by Movielink and expensive to use to pick up emails/next bookings without going down to the lobby to use a short timed free service down there - a quick iphone hotspot pick up did the job without mucking around with the lobby option- like most hotels this one isn't listening to the customer outcry for on the road internet convenience as part of the service (particularly at the rates this hotel charges!).

Was informed on arrival (nothing in the booking advice) that parking under the hotel was an extra $18 per night which was a bit cute in its timing - parking around the hotel is very difficult and management seemed to have capitalised profitably on this feature of the locality. Staff were pleasant in delivering the message but looked a bit sheepish at the same time- obviously a sore point with some guests!

We ate in the restaurant the first night which turned out to be an unwise decision. A very ordinary (and sinewy) scotch fillet with a hundred cooked frozen chips and a slippery sald at $30 something dollars didn't do anything for me, while wifes chicken was of no better standard. As a stranger to Glen Waverley we only discovered the next night a whole village of great Asian restaurants out the back door which will make it hard to be ever attracted back to the very lifeless restaurant in the hotel. Likewise breakfast at $25 each in the hotel couldn't get our attention with the lure of fresh barrista coffe and cooked to order eggs in a numer of great spots next door to the hotel for a lot less than $50.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Paul_M_11

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley.

I appreciate your comments on the food and have discuss these with our Chef.This does not sound like our normal standard and in fact many of our regular guests have passed on positive feedback regarding the steaks in the restaurant.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an opportunity to all of our team to review our offering as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we can welcome you back when you are next in the area.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Overall very pleasant stay. Staff friendly, facilities and food very good. A very minor complaint regarding no room service on the weekends, and when we ordered and picked up at the bar, there was no bottle opener for the imported beer (which was not a screw cap) Had to go back down to the bar to get them opened.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear smn458,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I appreciate your comments in regards to our room service offering.
We operate a full service room service Sunday to Thursday and on Friday & Saturday evening we offer a "Grab it & Go " option where the meals are collected fromn the bar.
Please accept my apologies for the lack of a bottle opener for the imported beer. This should have been offered with your order.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you know the standard of the Ibis Hotels around the world, this Ibis rates up there with the best in this brand. Basic amenities and the rooms a bit small as most Ibis Hotel rooms are.

There was nothing wrong with any of the products or services offered to me and the room (316) I resided in for 10 days was clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was basic but more than adequate and it was also very clean.

The food in the restaurant was good and to the standard I expect of IBIS Hotels although the full breakfast was a little basic. The quality of food was good.

The staff were friendly and well trained. The location of the hotel was excellent and close to the restaurant scene of Glen Waverley (200 metres). A cab from the Melbourne CBD will cost about $60 (30 to 40 minutes) and to the airport about $100 (about 60minutes non peak hour)).

Overall my stay at this hotel was very good. I give it 4 stars.

Room Tip: Parking is a little expensive at $18.00 per day. Other hotels in the area do not charge for parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear GoldCoastTezza,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

The location of the Hotel offers much in the way of entertainment and shopping and many of our guests comment on the location.

Our car park is a secure undercover car park and is monitored.The availabiltiy of parking in the area is limited and the majority of Hotels in the area only offer open air car parking.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff are great. Rooms are clean but small and bathroom is like a caravan design bathroom where cheapest parts are used. No Mini Bar!!!!!

Good location and walking distance to many Resturant's.

I do recommend Ibis for value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Geoffoster,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley.

I was pleased to read that our team memebers made your stay comfortable and the Hotel offered value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Melbouren Glen Waverley next time you are in the area.

Regards

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley

Address: 297 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes drive from Melbourne’s city centre and 45 minutes from the airport, Ibis Glen Waverley is perfectly positioned for business or leisure travel. Your gateway to the beautiful Dandenong Ranges and a short stroll from Century City Walk Entertainment Complex, the hotel offers travellers the best vantage point to take in Victoria’s colourful capital. Only two minutes from Novotel Glen Waverley, this charming hotel boasts 155 comfortable standard and superior rooms, a delightful Bistro & Bar and 4 modern conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glen Waverley
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.