We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   297 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location but terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Food aplenty a short stroll (8 min walk) away at kingsway street. Centro glen provided ample shopping opportunity (5 min drive) Woolworth supermarket is open till 12 midnight.
Charges a hefty aud 17 per night for self parking but able to reduce it to Aud 15 after some haggling. This hotel charge for Internet but offers 5 minutes free wifi at the lobby with a 6M data limit, however we were unable to connect at all. The duty manager simply said it was our faulty equipment (take note Tim cook, this IT expert claims your products connectivity is faulty!) and not his problem. Room size was ok, bare amenities provided, NO complimentary water in room.
Real horror was during checkout, it took us two visits and in total 60 minutes to check out as the reception staff could not get the invoices right. I was charged twice on on my credit card which prompted the bank to freeze my account. Somehow the reception staff still had the nerve to argue with me that it was my fault for using a bad credit card. After I made a long distance call back to the bank to clarify, she still would not admit her incompetence and continued to argue with me. Luckily the duty manager intervene and finally confirmed that another room's charge was put on my credit card so in actuality they had tried to charge me twice! Imagine wasting time and effort arguing when all would have been settled swiftly if the staff had simply rechecked her work instead of pouring the blame on the customer. Made me out like a bandit in open sight when this saga could have been handled more discreetly!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Robert T,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We have recently upgraded our computer system and have experienced some glitches in the transition,however,this does not excuse the Front Office team not checking transactions to ensure they are accurate.I do offer my sincere apologies for the lack of empathy you experienced in regards to your bill and the reluctance to listen to the issue. We have addressed this with all our Front Office team to ensure we are atuned to our guests feedback.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem you experienced with movielink in order to prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    161
    65
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
94
43
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Overall the hotel is quite good. Unfortunately our room was quite small, and during one night we were disturbed by unidentified "thumping" noise - not loud but annoying. The dining room was not open for the nights we stayed. A Grab and Go menu was avilable for light snacks. I would stay again as it was very convenient for our purpose, the bar area was welcominng and the staff obliging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Chips Bairnsdale,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Ibis Glen Waverley. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I was dissapointed to read that your stay was not as comfortable as possible due to a thumping nosie. We have not received any other comments in the past regarding such noises.However, we have alerted all our team to monitor this in case it should reoccur. Our maintenance team are also investigating any possible causes.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Enjoyed the stay. Close to cinema complex and restraunts. Room was quiet and comfortable and very good value. Will be staying there again. Staff were freindly and welcoming. Breakfast was well laid out and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley.

I was pleased to read that you found the Hotel comfortable and offering good value.

I will pass on your comments to our team, as feedback such as yours is helpful in motivating our team to strive to improve the level of service we deliver to all our guests.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit the area again and enjoy another stay at our Hotel.

Regards

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is quite expensive during the week considering it is an Ibis, but prices drop from Friday to Sunday. Theatres and large shopping centre close by, Nice bright, comfortable room, good meals (none on Saturday nights). Depending where you want to go, it can be very suitable as it was for us - a function at the Waverley RSL and then lunch on Puffing Billy and train ride to Lake Emerald the next day - perfect. Parking undercover which is very safe or you can park on the street. Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mezzamaria,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley.

I was pleased to read that you found the rooms comfortable and the meals to your liking.
Many of our guests comment on the location and the amount of entertainment options located nearby,which enhances their stay.

We are very busy midweek, however, weekends are less busy and we are able to offer rooms at different rates.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you have the opportunity to stay at Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley again.

Regards

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very good front-of-house service. Even though near a very busy road the room was quiet. The room was comfortable and had a great view. Good onsite undercover parking, and no parking fee was a bonus. Easy walking distance to a huge range of restaurants, a cinema complex, and supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear longview 77,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Ibis Glen Waverley. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Easy to find, secure parking, close to shops(we walked). The motel was quiet and friendly and clean. The laundry facilities were excellent value. Our vehicle was over the height limit for the designated parking area but the motel accommodated us without fuss in an alternative parking bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy M, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear veronicaRavenshoe,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Ibis Glen Waverley. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards

Guy Marinucci
General Manager
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley

Address: 297 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes drive from Melbourne’s city centre and 45 minutes from the airport, Ibis Glen Waverley is perfectly positioned for business or leisure travel. Your gateway to the beautiful Dandenong Ranges and a short stroll from Century City Walk Entertainment Complex, the hotel offers travellers the best vantage point to take in Victoria’s colourful capital. Only two minutes from Novotel Glen Waverley, this charming hotel boasts 155 comfortable standard and superior rooms, a delightful Bistro & Bar and 4 modern conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glen Waverley
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.