We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Glen Waverley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Glen Waverley to your Saves list
Novotel Glen Waverley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Melbourne
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Okay, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed here on a Saturday night - the one before Father's Day. When I booked over the phone was told the special price (AU$130) was room, parking and a bottle of wine, which seemed reasonable.

Checked in okay, room average size, nice bathroom, flat screen TV. Discovered that our complimentary wine would be given to us when we had a dinner in the restaurant. Which wasn't going to happen as we were staying to celebrate a birthday elsewhere.

Comfortable bed, quiet room. Decided to do buffet breakfast, which was a mistake. A combination of Father's Day, a large wedding party who had also stayed the night and a rip-off price of $25 (yes, I know that's standard for hotels, but it was ordinary to say the least) each, meant we definitely wouldn't eat there again. The place was packed, and staff were severely underprepared. We ended up eating in the lounge area - not even at proper tables.

  • Liked — Decent, quiet gym
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGlen, Director of Sales at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

Apologies that breakfast did not meet your expectations. I have passed your feedback onto our food and beverage manager and head chef.

We can trust we can welcome you back sometime in the near future to redeem ourselves.


Kind Regards,
Duncan Mars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    314
    84
    16
    6
See reviews for
223
223
84
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

We stayed here for a week in July.
The room was fine, clean. There are several great restaurants and a movie theatre in the same complex. The customer service was below average.
I had a problem with the internet, and asked for help, they rebooted the computer, so I lost everything, then didn't even come over to see if the problem was fixed.
Every time we had to communicate with the front desk staff, they were not very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGlen, Director of Sales at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

Our apologies for the trouble you experience with internet during your stay. Internet into the hotel is provided by a third party and we are constantly reviewing to ensure that we are able to offer guests the highest speed.

We trust we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Duncan Mars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel at least once a year for about 5 years.
It is a good 4* premises.

THE ROOMS
The rooms are a reasonable size with all the expected facilities including tea and coffee making, internet access. good bathrooms and mini bars.
The rooms on the eastern side have views over the suburbs to the Dandenong Ranges. Rooms on the western side look at the roofs of adjoining buildings with some views towards the city.
The mini bar charges are ridiculous, a small 1/2 size can of soft drink around 3 times more than you can buy it at a Supermarket and bottles of wine about the same amount dearer than they can be bought at a liqour store. But this is usual for large hotel chains. They even charge for biscuits to have with your tea of coffee.

A TIP
There are supermarkets and liqour stores nearby. Empty the mini bar and go and buy you own stuff to put in it.

MEALS
The restaurant again is as expected with a buffet breakfast, a-la-carte evening meals and a seafood buffett on weekends. Nothing special but good enough.
Last time I stayed there the restuarant was overloaded at breakfast time but I have been assured by management that this will be fixed.
Light lunches are available in the bar.
There are several restaurants in an adjoining arcade and within 2 minutes walk are a wide variety of cafes and restaurants.

LOCATION
Glen Waverley is a middle class eastern suburb of Melbourne. There is a railway station within 5 minutes walk of the hotel with regular trains to the City.
Road access is good as the Monash Freeway passes within a couple of kilometers of the hotel.
There is extensive shopping, including a major shopping mall (The Glen), a short walk from the hotel.
There is a movie theatre complex and a poker (slot) machine premises in Century Walk which is part of the hotel complex.

A WORD OF WARNING.
If you are using a car the hotel has on site basement parking but they charge a fee. Last time I was there it was $12 a day. Don't forget to factor this in to your accomodation cost.

SUMMARY

A good 4* hotel with some things over priced. If you don't need to stay in the city, a great location with excellent surrounding facilities.

  • Liked — Location if you don't need to be in the city of Melbourne
  • Disliked — Overcharging on some extras
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGlen, Director of Sales at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Dear Bigw ,

Thank you for your extensive review on Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley.

We are extremely please that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Parking within the local area is extremely limited and normally has a 2 hour maximum so make sure that you do not get a ticket.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Duncan Mars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

I have stayed here many times as it is just down the road from our office. It is a typical Novotel and staff are friendly and pleased to help. Rooms are light and bright and always very clean. Bathrooms are also good and do their job very well.

The small bar area and restaurant are also good for the odd drink and breakfast.

It is good that it is part of a complex with a cinema built in as well as various restaurants so you can get out of the hotel and do something different. It is also 2 minutes walk from the train which takes you straight into down town Melbourne in about 30 minutes.

All in all a nice hotel if you have to visit the area.

  • Liked — facilities
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — go to the pancake house opposite for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelGlen, Director of Sales at Novotel Glen Waverley, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are perfectly located to many offices in the south east of Melbourne and it is great to hear that you have stayed with us many times and enjoyed out hospitality.

Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our team if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable.


Kind Regards,
Duncan Mars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Glen Waverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Glen Waverley

Address: 285 Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Glen Waverley 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley is ideally located in the centre of the City of Monas.The 200 room hotel is adjacent to a cinema complex and surrounded by over 35 restaurants and cafes, including Centro The Glen Shopping Centre, while a 2 minute walk to the Railway Station gives direct access to the city centre, Melbourne Cricket Ground and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Glen Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Glen Waverley Hotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Melbourne
Accor Glen Waverley
Glen Waverley Novotel
Novotel Glen Waverley Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Glen Waverley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.