We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat

Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat
Tamborine Mountain Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
(07) 5545 2563
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Bonnie, Your team were fantastic!.
Luke was highly knowledgeable and passionate about his food and wine. Wine selection was excellent and the chef is to be highly commended on what was a 5course taste and visual delight.

Perfect way to celebrate my 20th wedding anniversary with my beautiful wife!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks Gordon (I'm thinking it was you as I saw the booking!!). Sorry I wasn't there however I'm thrilled you were well looked after. Our new Chef De Cuisine is the first 'girl' in the role for us - I'm so thrilled that we've had SO many good comments about her food in the short time she's been in charge of the kitchen. Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    58
    11
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“our fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

on our last visit to the gold coast we had a fabulous lunch at the songbirds restaurant surrounded by a natural magnificent rainforest and a beautiful collection of sculptures ..the chef Trent Dawson cooked and presented an outstanding lunch which definitely will be a reason to plan again another visit to enjoy this magnificent nature and culinary experience Edna Haber Sedney

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tucked away from hustle and bustle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed with a delicious 3 course dinner in there beautiful garden settled Restaurant. The service was great and very friendly.
The villas are tucked away from all hustle and bustle in the middle of a beautiful Rainforest. Here you can recharge your batteries while sitting in the Spa bath and listening to the birds. However, the villas have seen better times and need some maintenance.
We definitely will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mother's Day lunch 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After reading some of the reviews here on Trip Advisor, it was with great apprehension my husband and I ventured here to have a Mother's Day Lunch.

To our great fortune we lucked upon Oscar, who turned out to be the owner’s son, visiting from NZ. He couldn't be more helpful or obliging, and looked after us superbly.

The food was amazing, we loved it, and begged to take home a doggie bag of the roasted beetroot with walnuts and blue cheese. SO GOOD! The helpings were very generous (hence we couldn't eat it all) and I would not hesitate in recommending this gorgeous restaurant, set amongst the rainforest.
Tip: Dress warmly, it can get very chilly sitting inside, especially if it's raining, your are up high on a mountain!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
THANK YOU, THANK YOU for making the time to write your review in support of us,and thanks for your wonderful comment on Oscar... he'll be as pleased as punch. He flew over from NZ to have Mothers Day with me but I had to work so he jumped in and helped all day too. You and your husband were wonderful even when the rain started to gently come by you and we needed to move your table in. You both had a wonderful sense of appreciation for what Songbirds is all about and it's people like you that make all the hard work in this game worthwhile. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SONGBIRDS - VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thought we would lunch here for Mother's Day, a place that myself and my wife had stayed at/ dinned at previously when we got engaged a few years back.

WOW - how things have changed!!!!

Although the food was reasonable, the service was quite possibly the worst I have experienced in along time.

Slow meal prep, not receiving drinks ordered, having to pour our own wine and sparkling water due to lack of service, incorrect billing and the last straw being a waiter dropping a dessert spoon on the floor in front of us while we were watching, then trying to give it to one of our kids as we watched in horror. We obviously at this stage decided it was time to say something.

Just to top it all off we had to deal with a arrogant owner when we asked to speak to someone to make a complaint, followed by a very rude email response.

Would not recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Oh dear, you were served by our gorgeous Harry. He is a 19 year old ex local TSS boy doing a great job waiting on tables before he goes to University to become a very clever human being. Other tables around you commented on his service being friendly and thought he was just lovely.
You were given a great table but did nothing but complain to as many staff as you could get your hands on to do so. Service can be tough as many people only dine at restaurants on Mothers Day and Xmas Day and these 2 days really stretch our resources in both the kitchen and on the floor.
Ahhh, what you do not mention in your review is that you demanded $150 (half the price of the total bill to be taken off your account, this we did just to make you happy, though you ate all that was presented and even asked for and received a complimentary ice-cream (house made) for one of your children that was taking a seat in the restaurant but you were not paying for here to dine with us. You also asked Harry for a complimentary port. Your spoon was quickly replaced.
Songbirds hasn't changed in the 9 years I have had it ,however maybe your sense of peace and happiness have been altered. Sometimes there are other issues that create diners to be so unnecessarily unhappy and perhaps this was the situation as your service was not bad enough for you to demand $150 off the account and to complain repeatedly ruining what should have been a lovely dining experience on a very special day of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat also viewed

North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
Mount Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 
Mount Tamborine, Scenic Rim
North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 

Been to Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.