We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal we have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat

Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat
Tamborine Mountain Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
(07) 5545 2563
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best meal we have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We recently went back to songbirds for our second time after 6 years. It was a mid-week dinner and the restaurant was very empty. There was only one waiter working and we waited for a long time at the front reception before just wandering in and finding the waiter.

Once seated we found the waiter very attentive and polite. The atmosphere at night was just superb! Beautiful table settings and surrounding gardens. The food was honestly the best we had ever eaten, and my husband and I are foodies and have eaten at many, many 5-star restaurants.

So what was lacking in service was definitely made up for in the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    58
    11
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Never recomment to anyone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went to Songbirds and found that we had a bad experience. What was supposed to be a nice romantic gesture from my parnter, turned out to be a moment of regret. For a start we had 3 waiters, when we are both used to one dedicated waiter, particularly in a 5 star restuarant. Maybe there was a shift change, we're not sure??? The first waiter was excellent, however the next 2, we found to be rude. The food was ok. For a 5 star restaurant we've definitely had better.

The most apaulling part of our experience was the fact that they had overcharged us, and didn't provide us with a receipt. We were suspicious of the two people who took our bill as we paid cash. They both had looks of confusion. At that point we should have asked them for a receipt. My partner and I have both previous worked within the hospitality industry and understand how customer service should be. After speaking to management on 3 occasions regarding this ordeal the manager didn't respond promptly, she was reluctant in believing our case and we did not get an apology or correct refund. Obviously the sales aren't managed correctly. My partner and I are both patient and tolerant people, and we often don't complain. However in this circumstance we feel that it's neccessary to bring to your attention. All we can say is, if you attend on going, please ensure you have asked for a receipt. and you have checked this before leaving the premises.

The only positive we have about this place, is the wine list. They have a good selectionof beautiful wines.

From all other point of views, we would never recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, very bad front of house!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently visited songbirds for a relaxing Sunday lunch. As we walked into the restaurant we were greeted with a rude and insincere hello.The waiter was inexperienced , not to mention rude who obviously did'nt want to be there. As he sat us down, he very abruptly told us that as we were walk ins, we should of booked and so on...it was 1:30pm ,not only was the carpark empty, so was the restaurant ! Are walk ins not welcome here? Are they that busy? The rest of the mountain was a buzz and this place was empty??? After sitting we were told that another member of the staff would be attending to our needs. She was pleasant but also inexperienced making some fundamental errors in service. After ordering our drinks, she came back to let us know they were out of that particular wine, so we ordered another drop. No biggy. No sooner had she been over ,someone walked straight passed our table with a hot bottle of the original wine we ordered. Why lie? All she had to say was someone forgot to
Stock the fridge and it is hot..moving on..
The first tasting plates came out and were beautifully presented and executed, but very small for $28! After eating our first course our empty plates sat in front of us for 20 minutes!May i also say at this time only one other couple were dining.And finally when the waitress came over and cleared them , there was no "did you enjoy those " or "would you like another drink?" not even a peep. About 10 minutes after she had cleared the entree plates, I manged to catch the eye of another waiter and asked him for another glass
Of wine." No problem sir " was the response as he hurried away. By this time 4 of the 15 tables in the restaurant were full . As my wife and I were enjoying our conversation, we did nt notice that 40 minutes had passed with not only no wine, we were waiting for our food as well. They were having an 'off day 'you say? Not when you are paying 120 a head just for food . That is inexcusable ! Finally our meals arrived and as we just wanted to get out of the place we ate them hurriedly with the wine arriving just as we had finished the meal. No thanks!
Great location, talented chef but bad management. These guys really need to look at themselves . A restaurant can't charge these prices and not deliver. If a restaurant puts out meals that are small but very good ,value can be delivered through service and an enjoyable experience..... Just not at songbirds.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
“Best Retreat In Queensland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The food was generally excellent. My partner was totally enthusiastic, The food was generally excellent. My partner was totally enthusiastic,

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Birthday Surprise Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The beautiful location, friendly and attentive staff and food were all excellent.
All four of us had a different main meal, and all agreed everything we ordered
was delightful. Only complaint from us, was the meals could have been just a
little bigger. I do not mean covering the plate, but it was so nice, we all wanted
more of the same. A walk around the rainforest is a must at the end of the meal.
The decor is lovely, bright and happy. Made for a lovely birthday.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat also viewed

North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
Mount Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 
Mount Tamborine, Scenic Rim
North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 

Been to Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Songbirds in the Forest - Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.