We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great drinks - a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polish Place, The

Polish Place, The
333 Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
(07) 5545 1603
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great drinks - a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The food is hard to fault, genuine Polish recipes and taste as good as mama makes it - but our well known "peasant" food is a little dear here. Regardless, worth the trip, for the view, selection of beers and vodkas, and the pierogi and bigos! YUM!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    52
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Our delicious respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived at 3.30 after a wine tour on foot hoping for food as we had walked all day and our bellies rumbled. Sadly the kitchen was closed but thanks to the friendly hosts a lovely bowl of soup followed by hot chocolate and cake certainly did the trick. The view was spectacular and the abundance of birds feeding was a welcome delight. Hope to visit again soon and enjoy a stay with dinner

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived to tables that hadn't been cleared so we had to ask the staff to do this for us so that we could sit down. Then the girl said that she would bring us menus, 15 minutes later she remembered to do this, another 15 minutes before someone finally came and took our orders, 45 minutes later my daughter received her apple pancakes no cutlery (I had to go and ask for this as we were forgotten about again) then 10 minutes later my mother received her pot of tea and was asked if she would like milk, that came later (what restaurant doesn't bring milk out with the tea in the first place), then we received cold hot chocolates and finally after a very lengthy delay we received our apricot cake (with 2 pieces of apricot) and the rum torte (which was lovely). I have to say we have been regulars to your venue for quite a few years but this was worst service we have ever experienced all for 3 drinks and cake - nearly an hour delay and $41.00 later!!!! Just disgusting - we will not be visiting this venue ever again - very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fine dining on the mountain, a great selection of entrees and meals whether it is lunch or dinner.
A delightful Polish themed restaurant, friendly waitresses looking great in the traditional dress.

The art gallery and gift shop had imported Polish things for purchase.

We had the traditional polish soup and the tomato soup which was delicious alongside the rye bread. The food platter consisted of traditional Polish meats, cheeses which was flavorsome.

The Polish coffee was quite strong served with cream, Zywiec is also a great tasting beer.

On my previous visit I stayed 2 nights in one of the loft chalets which offered gorgeous views, a spa and a fireplace for the cold winter nights. Breakfast basket was sufficient.

I highly recommend The Polish Place, Ania and her staff were perfect hosts.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great sized meals, but.............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I craved a Pork Hock (on the bone) meal. I asked two of the locals if this was a good place to eat in their opinion; they said no. I felt they may have an axe to grind and would make up my own mind. I accepted the somewhat twee atmosphere, authentic as it may be and had a nice glass of wine and awaited the main meal. It arrived looking brilliant if not too big to be contained on the plate. As a big eater this was a huge positive and I was looking forward to tucking in. Sadly the meat was both bland and almost still frozen at the bone. The hock had obviously been pre-cooked and then frozen or chilled enough to both lose flavour and remain quite cold at the bone. A great shame that everything looked fine but there was a big difference between what should have been and what was. I spoke to the young wait person who may have been new as they really did not know what to do with the information, so did nothing. I would not recommend this to someone who is extra particular about the quality of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polish Place, The also viewed

North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 
North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 

Been to Polish Place, The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polish Place, The, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.