We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a getaway! Relaxing atmosphere and private location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Witches Falls Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Witches Falls Cottages to your Saves list
Witches Falls Cottages
4.5 of 5 Cottage   |   Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place for a getaway! Relaxing atmosphere and private location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We have stayed at Witches Falls Cottages several times now and each time have enjoyed a weekend away from our normal routine lives. It's within walking distance to antique stores, wineries, restaurants and bush walks.
A lovely place to relax - a home away from home. Great breakfasts - love the home baked bread!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
139
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at witches falls cottages for two nights. Upon arrival it was a warm welcome and shown information on the beautiful surroundings of Tamborine. The cottage was lovely and the courtyard was gorgeous- especially good to sit out in the morning sun enjoying the beautiful BBQ breakfast hamper delivered to your cottage in the morning. The bathroom was fantastic- with a view of the sky from your spa.
The location of the cottages allows you to enjoy the beautiful rainforest walks, whilst also having great cafes, pubs all in a few minutes drive.
We enjoyed our visit to Witches Falls Cottages very much and plan on returning again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Having just bought a new car my wife and I decided to have a three week driving holiday. A "lap" taking in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane, mostly staying in B&B's and Self contained cottages. After several disasters in three states we were getting quite nervous at the end of each days travel. What a welcome relief it was arriving at Witches Falls Cottages on Mount Tamborine. The cabins, The atmosphere, The people running the place - Fantastic!
The unexpected bonus was the breakfast... We normally try to escape to a coffee shop but when the home baked hot bread and condiments arrived we were hooked! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

we chose this location because we had stayed at these cottages before. The first time we went there it was yet to be refurbished, and we loved it then and on this occasion everything was brand new and fantastic.
We couldnt be happier with witches falls cottages, it's our favourite place to stay and we wouldnt go any where else. The breakfast hampers are so romantic and the new bathrooms are exquisite. The glass walls, large spa and open shower are so perfect for a romantic evening.
It was the perfect place to spend our first night as a married couple. We have never had any problems with the cottages or the staff. It's rustic and romantic the way it should be when your staying in the mountains, with so many natural charms and a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

The staff's helpfulness over the phone was exceeded only by their conduct face to face throughout the entire stay. The cottages were flawless, being well furnished and outfitted, as well as uniquely balancing an open to nature design with much appreciated privacy. Location is ideal, being situated among more nature walks and wineries than you could possibly make it to in one visit alone. Leaving was a crime against humanity.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were given a voucher from friends to stay at Witches Falls Cottages and it was the perfect gift. The cottage was lovely - especially the beautiful garden and bathroom. It was wonderful to unwind in front of the fire, enjoy a BBQ on the deck and relax in the spa. We also took advantage of the massage therapist who came to our room. Two thumbs up. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We didn't have the pleasure of meeting David during our stay, but found Danilella to be friendly and helpful. Upon being led to our cottage the first thing that I noticed were the shabby curtains at the windows. Upon entering the cottage the musty smell was quite over whelming, and upon further inspection found the windows to be covered with dead spiders and cobweds. The chimney was full of dust as was the ceiling fan. The groves in the furniture were covered in a thick grey dust, and there were cobwebs in the bedside drawers. The bathroom was pleasant but far from spotlessly clean.The bed lined was of very poor quality and the duvet cover hadn't even been ironed. The lighting to the paths had still to be fixed, and we had to take a torch when we went out for dinner, to navigate our way back to the cottage. The presentaion of breakfast hamper left a lot to be desired!
Milk , yoghurt, butter, jam, mustard all served in the single serve plastic containers napkins weren't suppled. The cottages are in a lovely location, and the concept is very nice. Unfortunately the standard and the cleanliness are not. We won't be returning

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiefwizard, owner at Witches Falls Cottages, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
It is a rude awakening when you have a guest whose expectations you failed to meet and while it has not happened before in the 18 months since we renovated it certainly was the case with these guests. We don’t much like a lousy review on trip advisor but more importantly it’s our guests that we want to enjoy both Witches Falls Cottages and Mount Tamborine.
In this case it was apparent from the beginning that we might not be the right for them and they really had booked at the wrong place. They needed a weekend of being pampered and everything done for them. breakfast made, not a hamper to make your own breakfast, not in an organic, humid, living rain forest but a sterile environment with no spiders, leaves or dusty fireplaces. The concept of our place might have been attractive but the reality certainly was not, being pampered and having everything done for them at Palazzo Versace was what this couple needed and we certainly are not that.
We want everyone to enjoy being with us and for the first time ever Daniela felt it appropriate to offer these guests their money back so they could enjoy somewhere more suited to their needs. They declined this offer. We did get the cleaners to come in again to remove some spiders webs from around the chimney (yes we have lots of spiders here on Tamborine and especially in the forested areas) and like all good spiders they can rebuild their web in an hour! Yes, the curtain had been marked where it gets trapped in the sliding aluminum door. Yes, we had been hit with a storm and the garden pathway lights were not fixed till later that same afternoon. (we do give each cottage a flashlight as our car park and pathways are only softly lit and you need one up here anyway as Mt Tamborine has next to no street lighting, which makes it great for watching the stars but not too good for getting back from the Irish Bar!)
We do meet (and often exceed) most of our guests’ expectations as can be seen on other trip advisor reviews both before and after this stay.
We hope this guests critic and our response will help other guests understand we have a living, breathing, rain forest cottage environment and this will help you decide if we are the right place for you to “Relax, rejuvenate and reconnect”
Chief Wizard – June2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private accommodation for couples adjacent to Queensland's oldest national park. Walk to the village and restaurants, 3 of our wineries, rain forest walks and waterfalls or maybe just stay in in front of a cozy fire or soak in the double spa. The perfect getaway to relax, rejuvenate and reconnect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witches Falls Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.