We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to start?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witches Falls Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Witches Falls Cottages to your Saves list
Witches Falls Cottages
4.5 of 5 Cottage   |   Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Where to start?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On the spur of the moment we decided to take a break and did a quick google search for somewhere secluded, peaceful and not too far from Brisbane. We found Witches Falls and stayed overnight on a Thursday in Cottage 4.

Arriving quite late in the evening after an easy drive down from Brisbane we checked in, ordered our BBQ breakfast hamper for the morning, selected a few DVDs and were walked to our cottage by torchlight. A quick rundown from Daniella on what was where and how to work everything and we were left with instructions to 'come on up to the office and let us know if you need anything else'.

The cottage itself was just beautiful. Spotlessly clean and with everything we could need or want, right down to bathrobes.

Our pre-ordered BBQ dinner pack was delivered as we were enjoying our complimentary port and chocolate and it completely exceeded all expectations. The quality of the food was exceptional and there was more food supplied than we could possibly eat..... and the dessert - yum!

Breakfast was delivered around 8am and we enjoyed cooking and eating it in our very private courtyard. The bread is even better than everyone says it is!

Every element of our stay was sensational from the moment we left home. The drive was easy, the location beautiful, the hosts and cottages welcoming, the luxurious bathroom with the spa and that amazing shower, the fireplace, the comfortable elevated bed, the fresh food, the wildlife, the private courtyard and bbq. I'm looking forward to returning for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are the same. We stayed in Cottage 4 which I liked as we were right at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
127
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Absolutely sensational place to stay. Lovely stone cottages with an elevated bedroom, lounge and kitchenette with an open fireplace to set the mood. Bathroom was gorgeous, glass windows floor to ceiling overlooking the garden, with a massive double spa bath. Private courtyard with BBQ and rose garden. The breakfast hamper was superb and the hosts couldn't have been more helpful. If you wanted to venture outside and explore the area, nice wineries, cheese factory, bush walks and great eateries to navigate.The Old Church restaurant topped of an already fantastic location. Perfect for a romantic few days away. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in cottage number 5, don't know what the others were like, but it's position was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

i would first like to say , this place is amazing and very friendly, excellent location and the breakfast was great. the only downfall was booking the rainforest suite. very disappointing,
is nothing like the lodges,which are beautiful.the owners were fantastic and if the rooms were not fully booked would have swapped us to a lodge.so if your booking make sure you don't book the rainforest suite

Room Tip: do not book the rainforest suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiefwizard, Owner at Witches Falls Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ralph,
We sensed your disappointment as we showed you the Rainforest Suite which you had booked online but obviously by mistake as you expected to stay in a cottage.
The most important thing for us is that our Guests enjoy their stay. Unfortunately all cottages were fully booked so we couldn't change your room which we happily would have done.
The Rainforest Suite is different than the cottages and we believe we are very careful to explain the differences. Many guests prefer it over a cottage as they just love that outdoor spa and the extra space in the courtyard garden.
We hope you see you again soon to enjoy the comfort of our newly renovated cottages.
Best Regards, Daniela & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I booked a short getaway over the weekend and this place was beautiful. Rooms looked new, clean and refurbished. Weather and atmosphere up there was ideal to just cozy up by a fire!

Service was impeccable. David & Daniella were such warm and friendly hosts who were very attentive and gave us good insight on whats to see/do in Mt Tamborine - thank you!

The massage organized was really good too and highly recommended.

We would def be back !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is just a fantastic little getaway that is within an hour from Brisbane.

Service is warm and friendly and very relaxed.

For the price location and accommodation this a perfect gift for your partner and even better if it rains as the fireplace inside creates an atmosphere that only fires can do.

It was the second time I stayed here and was just as good as the last time.

Lastly there are plenty of wineries around with two of them walking distance which is great after some wine tasting :)

Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We wanted somewhere special for our 20th wedding anniversary and Witches Falls Cottages didn't disappoint; our hosts were charming and the cottage was delightful. To sit in the lovely large spa looking out to a very private garden was a treat.
The gourmet breakfast hamper was delicious and exceedingly generous with a loaf of freshly baked bread, still warm from the oven.
The bed was very comfortable, as were we.
The real question: would we go back again? Absolutely! (and I can be hard to please)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent one relaxing day at Witches Falls Cottages and found the place to be fantastic. The place was easily located, after an easy drive of approximately 50 minutes from Brisbane. Restaurants and local tourist attractions were near-by and most could be reached on foot, or by a short drive.

Daniela and David were friendly and after giving us plenty of information about Mt Tamborine they showed us the cottage we would in that night. The cottage we stayed in was a cosy, self-contained unit and was a comfortable distance away from the other cottages. We found the interior design to be very nice and thoroughly enjoyed using the spa as well the TV+DVD player for a movie.

We chose the BBQ hamper for breakfast, and it was delivered at 8AM on the dot outside the cottage. We loved it. It was fun to cook, and delicious to eat.The homemade bread was fantastic!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and already we have recommended the place to our friends.

Hope to visit again soon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private accommodation for couples adjacent to Queensland's oldest national park. Walk to the village and restaurants, 3 of our wineries, rain forest walks and waterfalls or maybe just stay in in front of a cozy fire or soak in the double spa. The perfect getaway to relax, rejuvenate and reconnect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witches Falls Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.