We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's true. It is this good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   186 Beacon Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
From $195 Inc Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's true. It is this good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Read all the other reviews and decided to stay. Seemed too good not to! Booked in for 2 nights for romantic getaway for my 40th birthday. Loved the themed rooms. Not big but great size for 2 night stay. Spa bath, modern shower, plantation shutters and a four poster bed - spotlessly clean. Didn't use the log burning stove as the weather was too beautiful. The view from the safari room is breathtaking, the bird life varied and lovely and the view ever changing. Fresh mountain air. Great to just sit and watch the world go by. The location is central to everything in Tamborine - very easy weekend in a beautiful little town with short pleasant walks in the rainforest. The breakfast fresh, delicious and plentiful. The hospitality that the hosts Richard and Cheryl provide is genuine, warm, welcoming and with lots of little personal touches. Absolutely brilliant! Downside? Hmmm. Maybe a slightly bigger privacy screen on the balcony for the room? Clutching at straws here! But with only 6 other guests not really an issue. The room does connect directly to the communal lounge area and you can hear through the door a little. All guests eat breakfast at one long table but this is how we met another great couple and ended up chatting for an hour to everyone! Doesn't feel like a hotel, feels like a home. Yes, will absolutely be back. Shhh. Don't tell everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
119
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What can I say - just read everyones reviews!! They are all spot on!!
Cheryl & Richard are such lovely down to earth friendly people.
My partner and I stayed in the Daintree room. Everything in that room was perfect from the private deck watching the sunset go down over the mountains in the West, to the amazingly comfortable King bed, to the huge bathroom with the even huger 2 person spa bathtub.
It was the perfect escape even for people like us from the gold coast even though its only 30mins away we felt like we were a universe away from the stress and drama of real life.
Breakfast was amazing and they use their own produce from their gardens and the chooks eggs.....freshly made to order!
We will definitely be back for sure!! I would definitely recommend either the Daintree or Safari rooms as they appear the most popular and rightly so as they back up onto their own private deck looking out toward the sunset!! perfection!

Room Tip: safari or Daintree rooms - ... book out the whole place if u have a family or group and Cheryl and R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This B&B is simply the best in Mt Tamborine. My friend and I have been working in the hospitality industry for decades and we both found this place to be amazing. The hosts, Cheryl and Richard, are super friendly and accommodating, the views over the valley are stunning and the 'big' breakfast is a great start to the day. We both loved how well maintained the place is and the collection of DVD's available to guests. We were very lucky to book one of the spa rooms for 3 nights at a very good nightly rate which made our 'getaway' even more worthwhile.
My only recommendation would be for the B&B to have room service breakfast for 'lazy' guests like us. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Check for 'special deals' on Wotif.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I attended a recent wedding at the Avo. It was superb. The service, the view and the venue were all wonderful, and Cheryl and Richard made the day very special. Caroline Jackson was the Celebrant and this B&B is a perfect setting for a private wedding. I will go again.

Room Tip: The Safari Room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

LOVED IT! We splurged a bit for our anniversary this year and it was definitely worth it. Beautiful views. Comfy furnishings. We stayed in the Safari Room and loved curling up on the bed in front of the in-room fire place and a very couple friendly bath-tub.
Hosts were brilliant. They have plenty of stories to tell and know plenty about the restaurants and attractions in the area to be able to make reccomendations.
Breakfast was nothing special, but had home-made, home-grown and local produce on offer, loved the marmalade and the different fruits on offer!
Looks like we will splurge next year!

Room Tip: The Safari Room has a private balcony and magnificent views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, romantic getaway this is for you. Cheryl and Richard made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and settled us in for our two night stay. The view over the valley to the west of Tamborine Mountain were spectacular and listening to the birds was an added bonus. We were given ideas for places to eat for dinner and ideas for what to do during the day.

Would have to say that the facilities were top notch with a variety of rooms offering various themes. The breakfast was scrumptious, with a varied menu to choose from. The fresh fruit salad with stewed rhubarb was my favourite.

Thanks Cheryl and Richard for a wonderful weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wizz54, Owner at Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for generous comments in your review of Avocado Sunset. Cheryl and I are reminded constantly by our guests on how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful place, sometime we have to pinch ourselves to actually believe it belongs to us!
Our observation of our many and varied guests is that they often arrive tired and stressed from the many demands of everyday living, and leave two or three days later revived and relaxed, ready to tackle the week ahead.
We hope to both felt that way when you left us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We received a voucher for one weeknights stay and ended up doing a Friday night at Avocado Sunset. We did have to pay a little extra for the fact that it wasnt exactly a weeknight, but boy was it worth it!

We drove up on Friday night and were welcomed at the door by a warm fire and a beautiful common area. Our hosts were amazingly friendly and the ambiance was truly great.

Rather than have dinner out in town, we took some nibblies with us and had one of our nicest evenings in we've had in a long, long time. As I said, the common area was just so nice!

Our room was great (the rainforest room) with a huge bath/spa, amazingly well appointed & very clean. When we woke up, it was to an amazing view out from the mountain.

Breakfast was great and I do recommend trying the black pudding if you get the cooked option!

Our only regret was that we booked only one night. We will be back for a longer stay, most definitely!

Really, this review all boils down to one thing. For a beautiful getaway in Tamborine: Stay here!

P.S Apologies for the grainy pic of the view. Was from my phone and looked OK on it, but not so good on the computer! Rest assured, it is a stunning view!

Room Tip: The Rainforest & Safari rooms have the good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast

Address: 186 Beacon Road, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 60 minutes from Coolangatta Airport, (75 minutes from Brisbane), Avocado Sunset is surrounded by Queensland National Parks. Enjoy the cool summertime breezes and crisp clear winter sunshine while you snuggle beside your log fire. Each individually themed room has queen bed with en-suite and double spa baths, prices fully inclusive per room including traditional B&B hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.