We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House to your Saves list
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Geissmann Drive, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Stonehaven Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently and really enjoyed our stay. The place has a lovely fairytale ambience to it. The room was spacious and quiet with beautiful timber ceilings and a huge spa bath. We really could not fault the place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Recently stayed at this lovely place in June 2010, to celebrate our anniversary.
The location was perfect, easy access to restaurants and cafes.
Found by accident on the internet. Was perfect for us. The grounds were well kept and staff were friendly. We booked because they had a room with large spa.
The beds were very comfortable and we slept well...this is a really nice place to stay It was neat and clean, and the room was spacious and contained everything that we needed
The guest area has lots of free videos, books and a fireplace.

Everything about this Guest House was above and beyond what we expected, Would definitely recommend Stonehaven to anyone. We will look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We thought that $189 per night on Wotif would provide a little more than what we got. The bed was hard, pillows rock-like and we needed to get up at 2 am and put the doona underneath us to stop both of us experiencing pressure points. The environment was dusty and finding 2 tea bags only in the room, when we asked for a couple of extras, a guy arrived with about 50 ... sarcastically asking if that was enough. We thought that the 'no food available' policy was just not what will help this out-of-date venue become viable. They will not survive with their attitude.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulamon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

It was like staying in a fairytale storybook, the place and grounds are kept immaculate.

As there is no food on-site, delivery is available from nearby restaurants (ask the friendly hosts). For a special dinner 2 mins drive down the road is SongBird and breakfast up the road (2mins) at the business centre in Spice of Life cafe is yum.

Definitely a great getaway for couples who want their private space in a comfortable setting. The jacuzzi is fantastic.

Tanya - the homemade biscuits you gave us on arrival were soooo yummy.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfortable
  • Disliked — no food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

I would like to say while this guest house had nice surroundings, the "host" was definitely NOT nice.

We had a simple problem where the groom for the wedding we were attending did not have anywhere to get dressed for the 2-3hrs before his big day. We were asked by him the night before if we had some space in our room where he could simply get dressed (no party or noise). We obliged as it was a 3 berth room and there was only 2 of us.

Upon entering the property with the groom, the host was very abrupt and said no other person was to enter the property!! Needless to say we were shocked as our intentions were to help.

The groom left shocked and was invited back to another guest house where other family were and the host was more than happy to allow this to occur!

The bottom line is that the host of Stonehaven Manor is NOT very accomodating at all!

We will NEVER stay there again.

  • Liked — It's point of difference. Scottish Manor style
  • Disliked — The Host. No breakfast available.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpal, Manager at Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2007
Managers response to Oct 31st review.

Thank you for your response and it is good to get feedback for our Hotel.
We try our best to make it private and quiet for all our Guests.
All our rooms are doubles and twin rooms, 2 person max per room.
Our policy is hotel guests only to guest rooms and the previous response did not just have one person but the grooms wedding party.
We have a lot of weddings on the mountain and in the past some guests have booked one room and brought back as many as 20 people to get ready for a wedding, that is why we have adopted the policy of hotel guests only to hotel rooms.

We appreciate all reviews.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2005

Well we just had the best time of our trip at Stonehaven Manor, it was a great location was close to all outings and the lovely bushwalks. Lovely setting in rainforest, comfy king bed and loved the free videos. Tania and Alan were great hosts, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The restaurant a few doors down had great meals.
Loved the Gloworm tour at Cedar Creek Winery.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House

Address: 79 Geissmann Drive, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Stonehaven Manor)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast Mountains finest Romantic Getaway. Scottish Manor nestled in lush tropical Rainforest next to bubbling stream. Centrally located on top of the Mountain, close to Irish Pub.Short stroll to Waterfalls, Restaurants , Art & Craft Galleries, Wineries. Cosy clean Private large rooms with Ensuite, Double Spa TV / Video, Air Conditioned. Large Cosy Guest Lounge with open fire. No children policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.