We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House to your Saves list
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Geissmann Drive, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Stonehaven Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed two nights with my partner in a downstairs room overlooking the beautifully landscaped gardens. The rooms are clean, comfortable and wonderfully decorated. Our room came with air-conditioning, a small fridge, a spa, a large screen TV and DVD player (with a complimentary selection of DVDs). And WOW! what a comfortable bed we had - I did not want to get out of bed in the morning. It was a wonderful place to sit back and relax in the beautiful surrounds of Mt Tambourine. There was an evening storm while we were there which filled up the creek that ran through the rear of the property- it was nice to sit in the garden and listen to the creek and the birds. I am a little sorry that we weren't able to stay longer. The hostess & host are very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the lovely scottish ambiance and would be happy to return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in 2008 and this time it was just as good. Stonehaven Guest Lodge is beautifully presented from the gardens to the spacious rooms. Everything is clean and modern. Hosts are friendly and gracious. Looking to eat I recommend Delivino's for breakfast and Belvedere on Main for fantastic Italian. We'll be back again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We wanted something close to family that didn't break the bank or have us driving round and round the mountain. It was hard to find something accommodating two grown ups twin sharing. The grounds are manicured and the bag-pipes pipe you in to the front door, answered by a most convivial hostess. Our room was timber panelled all the way to the gable with a bay window overlooking the front lawn. The bathroom housed a large spa bath and great shower head. The room was spotlessly clean and I'm still trying to figure out how those very high ceiling beams are cleaned. Some quirky fully armoured Scottish battle-men in the sitting room and no shortage of tartans and pictures of Scottish Moors. Compared to some other accommodation on the mountain this was affordable and very reasonable for two.

Room Tip: Call and speak to the owner operator and tell her exactly what you need. The hosts of this Manor ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Love this stunning property in Tamborine Mountain! Set in glorious grounds the house is an absolute gem. The gardens are beautiful and our spacious room, Lochness is lovely, with high chapel ceiling and exposed beams. It's well appointed, complete with 2 armchairs, tv fridge etc and the king sizedbed very comfy. Nice spa bath too. Friendly helpful hosts.
The entry area both inside and out sets the tone perfectly for the rest of the property, it is a real treat. Would love to come back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

All I knew was we were staying the night at the Tambourine Mountains, so as we came around the corner and my partner said "That's it" , my jaw hit the ground. It is visual stunning! We were then greeted by our host who was not only a lovely lady, but a lovely and informative lady who told us all about the area and the building in a lobby that felt like you were standing in a Scottish Castle itself. Recommend restaurants (all within a 10 min walk) and then showed us 2 rooms of which we could choose what we liked. We went up to what we liked to call the Attic room, The Lochness. Incredible high pitched ceilings, natural timbers and a very warm, homely and truly romantic feel to it. The gardens are so peaceful that we found ourselves out there during the night and early morning enjoying the sounds of the wildlife and a babbling brooke. If only for one night, I highly recommend everyone deserves to spoil themselves to a bit of Tambourine magic at Stonehaven Guest House. Thank you for having us :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Lovely place to stay within walking distance to Curtis Falls. There was a big garden and the bed and bathroom were well presented and nice bed linen. I visited with my Mum but it's definitely somewhere i'd choose on a visit as a couple!

We were recommended restaurants and places to go, warm and helpful service that i'd highly recommended. Book it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed two nights. Fabulous location - nice walk to Curtis Falls. Room was lovely and pastries in fridge were delicious. No breakfast or meals available but restaurants and cafe 10 mins walk away.

Lovely grounds with stream.

Recommend restaurants - Delivino and Old Church restaurant - both were a fabulous experience. If you dont want to walk or drive Yellow Cabs were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House

Address: 79 Geissmann Drive, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Stonehaven Manor)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast Mountains finest Romantic Getaway. Scottish Manor nestled in lush tropical Rainforest next to bubbling stream. Centrally located on top of the Mountain, close to Irish Pub.Short stroll to Waterfalls, Restaurants , Art & Craft Galleries, Wineries. Cosy clean Private large rooms with Ensuite, Double Spa TV / Video, Air Conditioned. Large Cosy Guest Lounge with open fire. No children policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.