We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glow Worm Caves

Glow Worm Caves
104 / 144 Hartley Road | at Cedar Creek Winery, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
(07)5545 1666
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

made a trip to the caves on a recent weekend in tamborine, definately worth a visit. It was only short but it was a nice length gave lots of chance to look at the glow worms but not enough time to get bored. The cave is so real you wouldnt know it was man made.

Theres a lovely rainforest area to walk through on the way to the caves and we were lucky enough to see a red belly black snake and several water dragons on the walk through which made the trip even better.

Really good value and great for all age groups

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    74
    28
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“you would never know it was a man made cave - total value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

just beautiful and such friendly informative staff .

Great for a family with mixed ages - my son is nearly 15 and my daughter is 5 it is hard to find something they both enjoy and this was very much enjoyed by both of them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Short and sweet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The glow worm caves are man made caves that house a population of glow worms which are protected and studied. The caves are within the grounds of a lovely winery, and you can also wine taste and dine on the premises. The restaurant overlooks a beautiful lake with a fountain, complete with pagoda, ducks and lots of lizards. A truly lovely spot.
The caves entrance price is very reasonable. You walk through a young rainforest and enter the caves to watch a short presentation on the insects. I learned a lot from this. I really thought glow worms were actually worms. Turns out they look more like large Mosquitos!
When you enter the blackout cave it is an instantly amazing sight. There are thousands of pinpricks of light all over the walls and ceiling. It looks artificial but isn't, as the guide shone an infra red light over some of the insects and we could see their dangly web. The guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.
I enjoyed this trip. It didn't take long, however, but there are other things to do on site and plenty of other things to do on Mount Tambourine itself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“i wish i was a glow worm, a glow worm's never glum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everyone in our group of 4 adults and 3 children (5, 8 & 10 years old) was absolutely mesmerised by the beautiful glow worms! The cave is man made, but very nicely done. It provides perfect conditions for the little creatures to thrive in and is set in a pretty little patch of rainforest being re-established by the owners. The short video presentation before seeing the glow worms was informative and our guide was excellent. Afterwards we had an inexpensive and tasty takeaway lunch in the gardens.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tamborine, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I took my granddaughters there when they visited... My eldest who is five found the different frogs fascinating !! It is very family friendly and the man made glow worm cave looked like little fairy lights which my girls liked ..
There is also a winery and restaurant there which I would not recommend, I found he staff to be very rude on several occasions ...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glow Worm Caves also viewed

North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
Springbrook, Gold Coast
 

Been to Glow Worm Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glow Worm Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.