We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to taste beers and cheeses!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liquid Amber Bistro and Grill, MT Brewery

Liquid Amber Bistro and Grill, MT Brewery
165-185 Long Road, North Tamborine, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great to taste beers and cheeses!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stopped in here for lunch, and were able to sample a large selection of their delicious cheeses. We were also able to take our purchases over to the bistro, where you are able to buy a sample tray of four small glasses of different beers for $10, which was pretty good value.
The bistro food was also top notch, and it all complemented the locally made beers and cheeses.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    6
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food, incredible delays, poor value for money, but great views”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We drove up and up and up into the Mount Tamborine hills to have a lunch for six here, hosted by my godparents. When we arrived it was freezing, raining and foggy. and it wasn't that much warmer inside the bistro which, on a sunny day would be packed to the gills with people enjoying the glorious views over Mt Tamborine.
My mother had been here before and was looking forward to ordering the beer-battered snapper I think but received some crispy-skinned fish on risotto as did Mimi (the waitress said they didn't serve that dish) while Lynn had the mushroom risotto and John the squid ink linguini with seafood.
I ordered the chicken thighs stuffed with goats cheese (which seems to be the latest craze as I'm starting to see this combination everywhere) on potato gratin (very gluggy) while Andrew had the beef fillet which he said was OK but a very small portion (not man-size at all).
I'd love to rave about this place but four people received their dishes at the same time while he and I waited a good 15 minutes for ours. The party of 10 seemed to have no trouble receiving theirs at the same time nor did the 3 separate tables of couples.
The whole bill came to $268 with only four desserts and one bottle of wine, and the chocolate sauce with my creme brulee was sour. Interestingly, the waitress said she was a diabetic and would have to get the chef to taste(test) it. No discount was otffered for this.
Not the best value, unfortunately

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ordinary service, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We ate here at lunch with 2 people ordering the 'rib fillet' sandwich and 2 people ordering the beer battered fish. The service certainly wasnt outstanding, the table down from us had the waitress return 3 times to clarify their order. We didn't have to wait too long for our orders to be taken or for our food but a large table close by appeared to be waiting quite a long time for their food. The food was terrible. 1 'rib fillet' sandwich did not contain rib fillet, it was more like a hamburger pattie and both of the sandwichs were stone cold! Not luke warm but cold. The fish looked and tasted like it had been cooked in oil that wasnt hot enough and the taste of oil overpowered the entire meal so badly that it was unable to be eaten. When we spoke to the waitress about the poor quality of the meals we were brushed off with a 'sorry' and no other measures were put in place to rectify the problem. It is a moderately priced resturant and you would expect better food and better service. We wont be returning.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Get your act together.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here. Apart from many other issues the worst would have to be the fact that the owners wife decided to invite herself along... She must have been on something.. Just awful. She started serving meals to our guests and spilt red wine all down my friend's dress. She came up to the bridal table and congratulated our groomsmen.. ??? Terrible service.. You could tell the staff had no clue. Serving guest tables before the bridal table?? Hello?? Oh too many issues to even describe and of course never apologized or gave us any kind of discount. Just appalled.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Went to dinner, very romantic, great food, duck spring rolls are to die for!! Yum!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liquid Amber Bistro and Grill, MT Brewery also viewed

North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 
North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 

Been to Liquid Amber Bistro and Grill, MT Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liquid Amber Bistro and Grill, MT Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.