We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous choice for breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice of Life Cafe & Deli

Spice of Life Cafe & Deli
28 Main St | Mount Tamborine, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
07 5545 3553
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous choice for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Followed tripadvisor's advice and decided to try this for breakfast. Food was terrific and serving sizes more than adequate. I'm not a fan of eggs and always find breakfast challenging so I settled on an Asian omlette. What a fantastic breakfast it was, full of vegetables and drizzled with soy sauce and served with french toast. My husband couldn't finished the 'Big Breakfast' but enjoyed what he could fit in. Staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is dead set THE place for your morning coffee and breakfast. It's really close to the newsagent, IGA and bakery so perfect spot for a catch up before the day starts. They have just finished renoing the place so it's a lot larger with more seating. Can get quite busy during lunch though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Tamborine, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A local treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Lovely coffee, atmosphere, service. The food is always good and there's a great variety. Interesting range of goodies on the shelves. Appreciated by locals and visitors alike.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spice of Life, a hidden gem at North Tamborine Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we have been to The Spice of Life Cafe a few times for breakfast and NEVER been disappointed, we are happy to drive from Brisbane Bayside for a day in the hills, and enjoy a GREAT breakfast at Spice of Life, it is a great start to our day on Mt Tamborine. Spice of Life is in the Nth Tamborine Village, they serve a terriffic breakfast, the size of the meal is superb and the quality is excellent, it is not a touristity place,the service is superb, staff are warm and welcoming They have a small yet varied range of YUMMY foods for sale via ther cafe, & then tey have a large range of food related products are avaiable for purchase for "take home" sale, I have NEVER failed to be tempted to buy something,the price is excellent and I " NEED" it!!!!, I DARE you, go, have a meal, LOOK at the range they have on sale, and not be tempted, there are local & imported lines, VERY tempting & interesting. IMPORTANT alert!!! they sell the coffee they serve in the cafe in takeaway bags 100 gms + 'espresso' 'filter' 'driper' whichever type of coffee you need, they can provide it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced, ordinary food & service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Not too sure if this place has changed owners as the last time we came here, in June, the food etc was great. Definitely a different experience this time! So expensive and our meal was really ordinary and some of it didn't even arrive. We also found the staff a bit disinterested and unconcerned that we had dishes that needed to be removed from our table before they served the next part of our order....very disappointing all round....certainly wont be going back anytime soon!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of Life Cafe & Deli also viewed

North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 
North Tamborine, Scenic Rim
Mount Tamborine, Scenic Rim
 

Been to Spice of Life Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice of Life Cafe & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.