We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow and Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodleigh Homestead B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Tamborine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodleigh Homestead B & B
Save
You added Woodleigh Homestead B & B to your Saves list
13 Munro Court | Tamborine Mountain, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Esk, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow and Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Quiet, Clean and spacious accommodation. The scenery is beautiful, the beds are comfortable and to our great delight, had ELECTRIC blankets on the beds. This thoughtful addition was very much appreciated as the night we arrived was very cold (for us).
My elderly mother was kept warm and comfortable at night.
We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this beautiful retreat to anyone looking for peace and quite in beautiful surroundings. We intend to stay here again in the near future.
PS the bacon and eggs brekky was nice too!!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the property which, having a 91 YO mother, was very convenient to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    3
    9
    10
See reviews for
14
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane, australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have not idea what the others have been smoking, but here is a truthful rendition of staying at Woodleigh. We arrived at 2pm and were given one of the far cabins along the tree line. Worth noting that 2 cabins are stacked next to each other, with one below. And farther along another large cabin has another cabin below.The walls are thin and we had to report a thumping to the manager when we arrived in our bedroom. Turns out the fan below was misaligned and was making a racket, which he turned off, then discussed reporting to his maintenance guy. The place is very shabby. The spa jets did not work and it became a giant bath. The taps are rusty, there are cracks in the window shades and the towel stand is peeling. The windows were dirty, the curtains are dusty and the place smelt of mildew when we arrived, which took an hour to clear. It has a certain country charm, but the wooden furniture was so tired and worn with scratches it felt like you were staying a mates rustic cabin, surrounded by the second hand stuff he got off ebay.The city view can be achieved, by walking to the edge of the garden and looking to your left while standing about 1/2 acre away from the cabins. There is a small viewing platform for you to stand on. Otherwise the vista is of the garden enormous garden and nearby mountains. Why did the owner crammed the cabins together and left all that open space, because it was cheaper. And that cheapness shows up again and again.
The bacon, eggs and toast for breakfast were great, but if your idea of a B&B does not involve you cooking breakfast, or doing the cleaning up (lest pay the $25 fee), then reconsider. The owner was friendly and genuine, however the swimming pool when I tried it was filthy with debris and when I left, prompted him to start cleaning it. Worst still at 12.45am I had to rudely go down and ask the people below to turn their fan back off as they had come home and it switched back on. So embarrassing, but we could not sleep with thump thump thump.
He says the place is almost constantly booked solid. Based on the glowing reports I have read I was enthusiastic too, but at $200 per night we felt the place was over priced, run down, worn out and they are coasting on their name. There are no late check outs (10am you go), and when asked what time he would like us to leave, he joked "7am would be great!". Which made one feel so welcome. They do not help with the bags and there are stairs. Even at the reduced $160 I would prefer to stay at home, it's quieter.
Finally he asked that we leave the key in the door, and go without giving any notice. KISS he advised us, great for him but also means that the customer has no chance to give feedback of their stay. So he stays oblivious, and even then I suspect he would respond very personally.
It's your money, it's for you to decide who is telling you the truth and who has been drinking the coolaid and smoking some great weed. Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Try not to get cabin 5,6 or any of the lower cabins, the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My partner and I had a weekend away here. It was so quiet and peaceful with beautiful views. The bed has to be hands down the most comfortable bed we have EVER slept in whilst away on holiday. I would recommend this retreat for a no fuss easy, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had this trip planed 3 months in advance , so it was on , unfortunately the weather man could not help us , We phoned for directions and the Homestead was helpfull with there directions to the B & B , leaving brisbane for quiet drive into the country and Mountains
As we gained hight into the Mt Tambourine area ,down came the rain , as Woodleigh Homestead is on the top of the range the visibility reduced as we drove through the rain and misty clouds , we need a GPS as visability was low ,
Finally found the homestead and drove down the cloud swirling driveway , we where very welcomed by the caretaker ( Trichia i believe )

The room we had was a one bedroom which was great , the TV was small for the room size but the tv bracket on the wall showed that this must be a replacement and had not been replaced , we had breaky in the fridge as there where cooking utensils in the room , looking out the window the cloud was in for the night as visiblity would be 50 feet ,

Asking the reception of what to see we where given directions to where we would like to see , if this was a summer visit the place would be a bit better
The area was very quiet and easy to relax , opening the back door and all the birds in the area believe its feeding time and pop in to visit
With the amount of rain that fell there was the distant smell of excess water , we lost access to water on our departure due to power problems ,

overall a pleasant stay , the weather cant be changed , but with rain and mist we still saw what we wanted to see , had a good time , down the road is the St Bernards pub which has the St Bernards dogs in the bar ,walking around

remembering this is a B&B not a hotel the stay was good ( rain was the problem )
.

Room Tip: Have all your map details up to date to find the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently had a 3 night stay and found the location excellent as we do not mind driving.
However in saying that, for those who do not like to drive at night in an unfamiliar area, I suggest having a main meal at lunchtime and something light for dinner in your room.

There are basic cooking facilities i.e. a microwave, electric frypan, toaster and cutlery/crockery. There is no stove top.
Lovely bacon and eggs were provided for us to cook ourselves.

Lovely views of the valley below and lovely to see two welcoming ponies and a young alpaca meet us at the gate.

The rooms are spacious, linen lovely and clean. I would suggest that new pillows would be a bonus for comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent a relaxing day/night at Woodleigh Homestead. Must say that its location, with stunning views of the Gold Coast, and the resort grounds, are the highlights of the resort. We did enjoy our suite...spacious and comfortable, but a bit on the rustic side (could use a wee face-lift). Spa and gas "woodstove" added to the ambiance. Our hosts were lovely...very friendly and accommodating. Recommended for the romantic at heart who just need a night (or two) away..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bribie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Please please please DO NOT stay here. Do not pay money upfront before viewing the accommodation as you won't get it refunded - trust me we experienced this first hand. The rooms are dated, dirty and not worth half the cost. There is no service. I can't believe the good reviews - do not waste your money - these people should not be in the accommodation business. We are still waiting for our refund. I even got free pubic hairs in the bath and toilet. The owner got naasty when I asked for a refund as we booked and paid for 2 - however I could not do a second night in that damp noisy hellhole. The worst weekend away - EVER. I think the good reviews are not true in my opinion.

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodleigh Homestead B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodleigh Homestead B & B

Address: 13 Munro Court | Tamborine Mountain, North Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > North Tamborine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodleigh Homestead B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.