We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Via Maria Pousada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cananeia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Via Maria Pousada
Save
You added Via Maria Pousada to your Saves list
R Jair de Melo Viana 106 | Rocio, Cananeia, State of Sao Paulo 11990-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Cananeia B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We are 3 couples who stayed at Via Maria in April 2014. Maria loves what she does. And she also loves to cook. Her food was delicious. It is always great to be with people who have a passion for what they do. The restaurant was nicely decorated, well-cared for and the food was delicious. I liked that Maria would ask us how we enjoyed her meal after dinner.

She also recommended a guide called Cris to us. Cris was attentive, flexible and fun to be with. She had alot of knowledge about the Mata Atlantica. And like Maria, she loves waht she does. It is the people who make it. And Maria and Cris are totally in the right career. We felt really cared for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viamaria2012, Proprietário at Via Maria Pousada, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you Karen for you nice words about our place. Our goal is exactly to have guests happy and cared for. Chris is the guide of choice when it comes to foreign guests. She really knows her job! Hope to have you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fakenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

What more can we say but thank you for making our time in Cananeia such a special time. Travelling with friends who have stayed many times with Maria and Marcio our time at Via Maria's was all they had talked about and more. Not only a warm welcome, but wonderful food and hospitality. The individually themed rooms are very comfortable and clean. Maria is the most wonderful cook and Marcio the best waiter you could ask for. Maria organised a guide for the day to take us out on a speedboat to the rainforest and see the stunning views of the South Atlantic. A day to remember, a visit to paradise. Both Maria and Marcio speak excellent English so no worries for those whose Portuguese is like mine, non existent. Enjoy chilling out, a dip in the pool or relax outside in the sun. Can't wait for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viamaria2012, Gerente at Via Maria Pousada, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your nice words about our place. It is our intention to welcome people the best way we possibly can. We are waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We found this pousada through Trip Advisor and gave it a try for a Week End. This was the best thing we had done for months!!!! And we just couldn't help to come back! This place kept the real spirit of pousada: a family which offers room to rent.
Maria and Marcio, the owners, speak good English, which may ease the stay for those who can't speak good Portuguese. While Maria will be busy in the kitchen preparing tasteful dishes, Marcio will be available to give you tips about what to do in the region while he prepares a caipirinha for you (or teach you how to make one)...
Ask him to try about his special Schnapps made with leaves of a local tree! And later, there is a good chance that he'll play some piano jazz for your dessert (try Maria's crème brulée!).
The bedrooms are simple and very clean - each has its own decoration theme. You may want to chill out in the hammock dedicated to each room... or just enjoy the swimming pool, always clean and great for a refresh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Via Maria Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Maria Pousada

Address: R Jair de Melo Viana 106 | Rocio, Cananeia, State of Sao Paulo 11990-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Cananeia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cananeia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Cozy Inn located in the Island of Cananeia - Atlantic Rain Forest preservation site - Lagamar in São Paulo. • Bistrot with elegant space to taste dishes as salmon with passion fruit dressing and shrimps alla provencale or oysters and local seafood. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Maria Pousada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.