We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Oca Maragogi Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Oca Maragogi Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Oca Maragogi Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Al 101 Norte, S/N, Maragogi, State of Alagoas 57955000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Maragogi
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Miramar Resort is one of the best resort in North of Brazil.

I reccomend to stay there and enjoy the good services and great location in front of the beach. Miramar is quite new Resort in Brasil. The Bungalows with swinnpool-view are very nice. The suites with Seeview is also very comfortable. The new restaurant just in front of the beach has a great and romantic ambient.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    329
    139
    56
    51
See reviews for
377
322
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

If you are going to stay in that area (Maragogi) it's the best located hotel. The beach in front has transparent water and is very calm (no waves); you can walk for kilometers (it's shallow accoarding to the tide).

There are cayacs (little boats) they lend to guests. The problem is that the staff only cares about italians there. It looks like an italian hotel for that.

There is no cable TV and there is nothing to do at night, because it's far from any city. Unless you like that "amazing" resort kind of animation.

Staff are not very friendly, but not unpolite. There were too many flies around food, you couldn't even take a bite without having to wave your arms.

Bathrooms are ok.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Miramar Resort can disappoint you in many ways in spite of the overall setting just facing the sea and in the middle of a beautiful high palm tree plantation.
The lobby is large modern and mostly useless (except for checkin and checkout) as the whole life in the resort is far away. An amazing snake-shaped series of swimming pools lead the way to bungalows, the beach bar, the restaurant and theatre. The sunbed area is close to the beach (not on the beach as tides are quite amazing) under the palm trees and is spacious and very nice. The wall protecting the beach was half broken, no sign of repair work during our stay.
Apart from that, the rest is rather disappointing and certainly not a 5-star level: staff does not speak one word in a language other than Portuguese (not acceptable, they must hire english speaking staff like everywhere in the world of tourism). Online booking got messy as soon as we asked for upgrade. They answer in portuguese and do not understand any of your requests. We booked pool bungalows, presumably the best option: very nice setting but the room inside is a 3-star level. Not 100% clean, broken tents, dirty bed covers, no style, insufficient lighting, very old and poor furniture. The place needs to hire an interior designer too if it wishes to reach the right level for that price. The bathroom was large enough and better than the room. Some have a true garden view, some have a... wall view. Bad luck, same price. Again, not acceptable.
The garden bungalows are same size of pool's and in same 4-room /1 storey buildings. The standard rooms are hosted in 2-storey blocks which don't look very nice at least from an outside view...
Food is served in a large ugly buffet restaurant, again with no idea of style. However the food choice and quality was good and very varied and service appropriate.
Finally the sea. Is it worth to travel a distance and find a muddy opaque sea with algaes on the beach? There is a possibility that sea transparency gets much better in summer, but at least in this part of the year (from what people told us) forget about transparent blue waters like the one Miramar Maragogi displays in its website. The pool is a much better option unfortunately. Overall this resort is ok for max a couple of days as we did, given our travelling style and expectations, as there is there little to visit in the range of 30 min from the resort.
One final suggestion. Although the resort is exactly mid way between Maceio and Recife airport (about 125 km) the road must be very different: 2h and 40 min. from Maceio, 1h and 40 min.from Recife. Bumpy road going thru a very interesting landscape with palm and banana trees, hills covered with sugar cane plantations and very poor villages. Worth seeing all that but just be aware of the difference. We weren't.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I checked in the 28th March and checked out the 6th April.Went with my wife, my kids and 17 more friends and families. We were 11 adults an 10 children and
adolescents. I became very satisfied with this resort. When we came back al of us considered this easter hollydays as " 10 days in paradise". Truly it was a complete paradise. In all aspects. The location, environment, the apartments, the pools, the very very hot water ( 38ºC ), and the traditional amability of all of the staff, Allways disposable to help. I liked everything at this hotel with only one exception. The internet connection was very slow and i had to pay about 8€ per hour. So on the second day, i gave up. All the rest was exceptional.

JOÃO CARLOS CALEIRO MAMEDE - 51 YO - PORTO - PORTUGAL

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Hi from Portugal ! We stay in Miramar last week. We arrived monday, 25th and We are still levitate....simply wonderful ! The hotel, beach, staff, sun, water temperature...The best vacation we've ever had... if you want to know more, we are available to help...Congratulations Miramar Maragogi Resort !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This resort is a joke. We were there for the week of New Years Eve,

When we got there at 7:00 AM the hotel didn't even have enough staff to take our luggage to our room.

The food is deplorable, almost every thing was overcooked (except for the beef which was nearly raw). Very little truly Brazilian food. Every meal is a buffet. The best thing from the kitchen was the ice cream. It was impossible to eat in the dining room without being bothered by flies.

They lost power every day but our last day. Once we were without running water for two hours. After two hours they were able to restore the cold water. It was 4 hours later that they got the hot water running but it was cold. We didn't get hot water until the following morning.

Two days later the resort lost water for a second time.

You only get 1 beach towel per person. When you check in they give you a card that can be redeemed for a towel. When you turn in your towel you card a card back. If you lose the towel and/or card they will charge you R$100.00 for a new one. The beach house kept running out of towels. Once we waited more then 2 1/2 hours just to get a clean beach towel.

Management was terrible. They made no effort to respond to our complaints. Even refusing to talk to us. When calling the front desk from our room when we didn't have any water all we got was music. We were later told by another guest that management had told the front desk to take the phone off of the hook.

It appears to us that management just doesn't care. By the time the guest is there experiencing problems, the resort has already their money.

Management has no concept of failure planning and no interest in letting the guests know what is going on when there is a problem.

The assistant general manager even refused to talk to us more than once until pressured.

Their "Fitness Center" is a joke. It consists of 2 exercycles, 2 treadmills, a workout bag, couple of misc. other pieces of exercise equipment and a pool table older than my grand father.

They advertise that they have a spa "next". Next means it's coming some day but they don't really have one.

They advertise having local stores on the property. They have 6 stores of "local products", however they seem to be open at random times and seem to close for extended lunches and dinners (2 or 3 hours).

This Resort misrepresents itself in every way imaginable.

The staff was helpful and friendly. They would go out of their way to do their best to please their guests. It's too bad management doesn't have this attitude.

Only one thing about this resort shines. Their Dive Center. The PADI Certified Dive Center is an independent company operating at the resort. Their Dive Master Eduardo Gercera is a talented experienced professional diver. He is a patient and very good instructor. The dive classes and experiences as much fun as they are educations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

As a travel agent I had to comment about my trip. The Hotel is beautiful, the location is perfect and the wonderful beach is one of the best in that area.
The rooms correspond to 04 stars with great air conditioned, simple furniture, close to rustic, perfect swimming pool for kids and adults.
The recreation team are not very active, but the night shows, with cultural themes, please the guests.
The Staff is excellent, I loved the waiter service, very polite and request. Althougt, the food quality shall be improved, some of the more elaborated disehes were no properly tempered and prepared. I was expecting more of the breads in the breakfast, and more variety of desserts.
The spa and sauna are not finished yet, but might be working soon.
This hotel were built intending to be a resort, part by part, so I expect improvements in services and structure when the construction be finished, because the place is wonderful, and the beach is by far the best in Maragogi and Porto de Galinhas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Oca Maragogi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oca Maragogi Resort

Address: Al 101 Norte, S/N, Maragogi, State of Alagoas 57955000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Alagoas > Maragogi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Maragogi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Oca Maragogi Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Maragogi Resort is in a privileged location, in Ponta de Mangue Beach, the most beautiful and calm beach in Maragogi, one of the main tourist places of the Brazilian northeast. Maragogi, in the state of Alagoas, is between the capitals of Maceió and Recife, approximately 125 km. from each. Known for its naturally beautiful extensive groves of coco trees, the city is an invitation for leisure and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Oca Maragogi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Maragogi Hotel Maragogi
Oca Miramar Maragogi Hotel
Oca Miramar Hotel Maragogi
Grand Oca Maragogi Resort Alagoas, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Oca Maragogi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.