We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's better out there for the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Borravino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Borravino to your Saves list
Posada Borravino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Medrano 2658, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza 5505, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Laguna Beach
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“There's better out there for the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Owning my own business I hate to give a bad review. However, we had to stay at two different places during our stay in Mendoza with this being the first. The second place was $30 more per night and they were night and day different. I'm posting photos so you can see for yourself. The property was clean, but not so friendly and quite frankly had it been the only place we stayed I'd given it a C+, B-. But after our second hotel, the difference moved them to a D. So disappointing. Mostly because of the room size, simply not enough for 2 people with luggage. Walls were plain like a prison, the bathroom mirror glued to the wall with a painted frame around it. And no place to put toiletries. TV so up high on the wall gave me a sore neck looking up. (Kind of like a hospital situation.) So disappointing. We were in Argentina for 3 weeks and this was by far the worst. I know some people have had a positive experience here. I wish we were one of them. If you don't have a car, don't stay here. We thought they had bicycles, but you have to rent them from town. Please do your research, for the money there's better out there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
78
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Mendoza city is pretty quiet so avoid the bland business hotels there and stay here. The other reviewers say it all - Maria and her husband are fab hosts, it's a beautiful spot in a lovely village. Taxi into Mendoza only takes 20 mins, so you are not missng out on anythng AND you have a beautiful garden and pool! This part of Argentina isn't cheap, and neither is the posada, but you will thank yourself!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were staying 3 nights at Posada Borravino and we were super content with the whole posada as well as the beautifully furnished rooms. The outdoor area with the garden is just lovely and it is an absolutely wonderful spot to relax and enjoy yourself. Surrounded with wonderful wineries and the most wonderful hosts who helped us in finding the best places, routes and restaurants made this stay very special. We needed as well help regarding laundry and print out off documents and nothing was ever a problem- even a late night dinner with delicious tapas in the garden or working late very night in the bar with getting served warm tea all the time. We can highly recommend this beautiful place and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Posada is a lot more compact than the pictures suggest but it is very nicely appointed and well maintained. The location was a nice change of pace as town of Chacras is nice to explore. The room we were in was quite small, but for a couple of nights it worked. The owners were very helpful and I would recommend asking for the private dinner. It was worth it! The only negative was the pool. It was very hot and we would have liked to taken a dip but it was very small and didn't appear to be very clean. Seems to be a common problem in Argentina.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

You will love this place. It's a great value, the rooms are nice and the overall setting very charming. The people who run it Maria and Helder are great hosts and will steer you in all the right directions (restaurants, wineries etc). They also serve the best breakfast and the best coffee (Nespresso).

Room Tip: some rooms are a bit small so ask for the larger ones like Chardoney
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

As a traveler of the world for the past 25 years I felt obliged to write this review. To start off with i would like to mention that I was a minority owner in a B&B in CA which had a 1 star michelin restaurant for the past 20 years as well as owning a full service Restaurant. I think I have a very good understanding of customer service as well as attention to detail. My wife and I just opened a new Restaurant this year and have had a total of 4 days off so we decided with the new year we needed a break and Argentina looked like a wonderful spot to escape the winter and life. My wife found a total gem in Buenos Aires, Cabrera Gardens. The place was over the top and Robert and Norman took wonderful care of us. Just imagine staying in something straight out of Architectural Digest. We flew to Mendoza where our driver Pedro picked us up and dropped us off at Posada Borravino and then life turned bad. We always hope that the pictures on the website are accurate but I must say they hired one hell of a photographer. I refer to my room as "The Cell". I will generous be and say the entire room including bath and closet was 175 sq ft. There was not one picture on the wall. The lights consisted of bulbs in sockets hanging out of the wall. There was just a basic pedestal sink with one extremely small shelf to put bathroom things (maybe 6" X 18") which already had hotel things on it (cups, basket with soaps,etc) which left almost no space and required you to put things on the floor further the mirror was glued to the wall and the frame painted on the wall. So if you think the room sounds bad it just gets better. The breakfast consisted of some rather bad Nespresso coffee, 3 basic cereals, some fruit salad, some of the cheapest ham (1 choice) and cheese (1 choice- I have no idea what it was)Bread out of a bag, OJ, refrigerated muffins and frozen to baked croissant. Don't plan on sleeping in since the paper thin doors, narrow hallways and skeleton key locks will assure that you wake up for breakfast. The new owner owns a winery and if you plan to drink any other wine than what he produces you will be charged a corkage fee, approx $6.-US, I know it sounds a little petty but this is the mentality of the owners. Most people who stay at B&B's do so to escape the commercialism of the big hotel chains in exchange for the warmth of local owners who want to share their slice of heaven. The second night we went out to a wonderful restaurant Nadas but upon our return to the hotel it was locked down like Fort Knox (By the way this is suppose to be a very exclusive neighborhood). After finally finding a device in the dark at the front gate to signal someone a guard finally emerged. We told him which room we were staying in and he handed us a key. We departed early the next morning just to find our tour driver, the owner and police having a discussion. The police found nothing to be alarmed at and left. It turns out the owners didn't want to let our driver on the property but yesterday was no problem. We have moved on to Lares de Chacras and I must say it is a very welcome relief - look for my review

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We visited the Mendoza area midway during our round trip through Argentina with the idea of having some relaxing time after all the travelling and sightseeing - we were not disappointed! Most praise has been given by the other reviewers already (all deserved and true), so I won't repeat all that, but a couple of things that stood out for me:

1. Very comfortable King size bed, 2m (6'6") long, which is great for a tall person like me.

2. Both Airconditioning and large ceiling fan in the bedroom (my partner is not a fan of A/C at night).

3. This hotel has no large kitchen, so although they serve breakfast and a light meal in the evening, you will need to head out for lunch and a more complete dinner. As noted by others, this should not be a problem with all the recommendations and service provided, but just be aware that this is not an all-inclusive type of hotel where you can just lock yourself up.

4. That being said... if you arrive back after lunch you can spend most of the afternoon in the courtyard with some great wine and snacks!

5. Make sure to visit restaurant Nadia - it is by far the best meal AND best value-for-money restaurant I have enjoyed in Argentina.

All-in-all, a great experience, we would definitely visit again. Thanks María & Helder!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Borravino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Borravino

Address: Medrano 2658, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza 5505, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chacras de Coria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Borravino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic-style country house hotel is located 15 km from Mendoza. All its rooms are equipped with air conditioning, TV and private bathrooms.Posada Borravino is set in extensive gardens and shaded by poplar trees. There is an outdoor swimming pool where guests can cool off.A breakfast buffet is served each morning, and guests can enjoy a wide selection of Mendoza wines at the bar.There are many activities on offer in the area, guest can visit the bodegas of Mendoza, explore the wine route and whitewater raft, horse ride and hike nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Posada Borravino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Borravino Hotel Chacras De Coria
Posada Borravino Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Borravino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.