We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful, welcoming and relaxing property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Olivar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chacras de Coria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Olivar
Besares 978, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza 5505, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful, welcoming and relaxing property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Jose Luis offers a beautiful property outside of Mendoza in the midst of the Argentinian Wine Country. The property has been owned by his family for over a 100 years. He is a warm and gracious host!! Old olive trees, a perfect pool, very comfortable rooms and excellent hospitality are all part of the package! I met wonderful people there....we shared wine in the evening and one night Jose Luis hosted an amazing dinner for all of his guests. Many glasses of great wine consumed, food devoured and friendships formed. I am looking forward to going back and recommend Posada Olivar very highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were in Mendoza for a 4 days. After the first night in this Posada we have decided to extend our stay and enjoy the dream the owner, José-Luis, is making for their guests. We were invited to share some great time with this incredible family, like walking in the big garden and learning a lot about Argentina, drinking and eating some products of Mendoza, the birthday's celebration of our son Arthur and last but not least, the visit of a Bodega...
I hope to meet them again in my live.
In the village you have all the shops you need, you can use the kitchen of the Posada and you have a terrace face to the swimming pool. The beds are the biggest I have seen in Argentina and all the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here during our visit to Mendoza. I thought the place was lovely. It is hidden away off of the road behind a high wall and an electric gate. At the end of the driveway is the guest house. Each room looks out on a small green lawn that surrounds the pool. When we arrived we were greeted by Jose (the owner), shown to our room and made comfortable. In the entrance / lobby of the guest house they keep a small chiller filled with local wine that you can buy. Which was one of the first things that we did! Before we were finished opening our bags the wine was in an ice bucket with two glasses on the table on our terrace. Sitting on the terrace sipping chilled white wine was a very romantic way to start our stay. The breakfast each day was excellent. One of the things that I appreciated was that Jose was more than helpful with breakfast on the morning after a night when we were out a little late and not exactly up at the expected time in the morning. (They covered it over and left it for us). We had a very lovely and comfortable stay.

Jose was very helpful with recommendations for local restaurants, sightseeing, etc. There are several excellent restaurants a short walk from the front gate.

The location is outside the city of Mendoza and close to any number of wineries. The building, rooms, pool and gardens are well represented by the photos I saw on this site. There is covered parking for your car so the car won't be parked in the sun. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Jose was an excellent host and was very helpful to us finding the right things to do in the area. Ask him to connect you with one of the wine tour companies in the area. It worked out very well for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We loved this place. From the large rooms with doors that opened onto a patio looking out to olive groves and a deep blue pool, to the charming, helpful staff, to the incredibly nice and knowledgable owner Jose Luis, we could not have been happier with our choice. And then to have the rate be half of what we had paid the night before at a nearby hotel--that was a huge bonus. The breakfast is lovely and if you want something special, they will do their best to accomodate. We were there with two small kids, and they followed the owner around like puppies--who didn't seem to mind a bit. It was a little bit of paradise for us all and after three nights, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We spent two nights at Posada Olivar. The Inn sits behind an electric gate on a large parcel of land with an ground pool, owner's house, gardens & separate newer building with guest rooms. The owner Jose arranged for us to have bicycles & maps the first day for riding to the wineries. He also made us a lunch reservation at a wonderful winery- Clos de Chacras- the food was delicious-we ate outside overlooking the pond and ended up spending almost 3 hours at this winery which only left time for one other winery. Jose lined up a taxi for us for the second day which took us for an hour ride to go white water rafting and zip lining with Argentina Rafting Expeditions (the most professional of the rafing companies- highly recommend it if you are looking for a day of adventure). There are plent yof restaurants within walking distance of Posada Olivar.We went into Mendoza for dinner the second night but wished we had spent more time in Mendoza. The main square in Mendoza was fun with many people on blankets sitting around the fountain with picnics watching a light show.

We had the best night sleeping at this Inn- we kept the door open and listened to the quiet outside (I don't think we would have quiet if we stayed in downtown Mendoza)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazilië
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had a really good time in this pousada. The rooms were clean and spacefull, a view on a large garden (with a swimming pool), ideal for a family with small children.
The owner was helpfull, his family was friendly.
It's a perfect stay in Mendoza.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We found this place on the Internet, read some reviews on trip advisor and booked. We thought the place was excellent. Clean, basic but very nice rooms, lovely patio to sit on and drink wine and a pool to cool you off. We dined at the winery around the corner (Clos de Chacras) and had the best dinner of our trip around Argentina. Jose Luis will make sure your stay is fabulous!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Olivar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Olivar

Address: Besares 978, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza 5505, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chacras de Coria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Posada Olivar Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Olivar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Posada Olivar to your Saves list