We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant day but plan ahead” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baccus Vineyards Biking

Baccus Vineyards Biking
Mitre 1552, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza, Argentina
+54 261 201-8915
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant day but plan ahead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our hostel recommended Baccus VIneyards over Maipu because of a lot of traffic in Maipu. Let me start by saying that Chacras de Coria has a lot of traffic as well. There were several times that I was praying we would not be run over by a truck as we pedaled along. Just want to stress that I think the traffic will be the same, regardless of where you bike for a wine tour in this area. We did have an amazing view of the Andes as we biked along, and the distances were very reasonable. We do a lot of biking at home, so we didn't think it was a rigorous ride - just a little interesting after drinking wine.

We were given a slip from our hostel to give to Baccus VIneyards upon arrival. We were told not to worry about calling for reservations. That was a mistake. We took the public bus from Mendoza - cheap and easy to figure out with help from the hostel. Upon arrival, we found that Baccus was closed. A very nice man (Mauro Sanchez) at the neighboring bike repair and sales shop (Bike Station) was extremely helpful and offered to give us bikes, call Baccus, and work it out with them. We gave him no money up front and took off on the bikes with a map he provided. He literally saved our day. About 20 minutes into fruitless riding around busy streets, a woman in a van (the owner of Baccus) flagged us down. We discussed the miscommunication, recognizing that it was not her fault. She gave us a better map and called several bodegas for us so that we could be part of the tours. It worked out fine. All in all, we enjoyed the day and thought it was fun to do something different. We also know that we were really lucky that so many people helped us out. Thanks, Mauro!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thorne Bay, Alaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good Price, Not What Initially Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We booked this bike tour through our hostel in Mendoza. They highly recommended it over the traditional tourist vineyard biking trip - said that on the tourist trip you mainly just get drunk and have to dodge lots of people and traffic. You can have the company pick you up in Mendoza, but it is cheaper to take the local bus to Maipu and just walk over to the company, very cheap bus ticket and less than a 5 minute walk in Maipu to the company.

Baccus has two bike choices depending on how much you pay. We paid about 30 ARG and got the cheaper bikes - which were OK, I am about 5'9" and it was hard to find one that actually fit me. My bike would change gears sometimes without asking me - which was interesting, but honestly for one day of biking it wasn't a big deal, especially since we were drinking wine! If you are picky about your bike, you can pay a little more and get a Trek bike, they have those as well my guess is that they are in a little better shape. As an added bonus, if you decide to purchase wine from the wineries, the bike tour company will send a runner to pick up your wine from each winery - so you don't have to try to bike with the wine in some way (especially after drinking!).

The woman working on the day we came in was really nice - she sorted out bikes for us, and then gave us a map with the different wineries on it with explicit instructions. There were five stops in all, four wineries and one chocolate / fine foods/ liquor shop. Each winery charged around 10 - 15 ARG for tasting. We only made it to three of the wineries, as the fourth was closed before we could get there - we spent a long time at the organic winery having lunch as well as tasting. Each tasting involved a tour of the winery building and a personal guide, with a tasting of the various wines they produce. We noted that we had expected more actual vineyard tours as well - on this tour there wasn't anything like that, really.

The biking route is on village streets in Maipu - so you still have to dodge some traffic. Our group from the hostel sort of had more of a picture of riding around on dirt roads in between the vineyards with the Andes in the background - apparently this is possible, but more in towns south of Mendoza possibly near Malargue. I will repeat - it was still very nice, just not what we initially had pictured.

So - overall, I was happy with the experience, great price, the wines were fabulous, and it gave us a nice day in Maipu. I would still like to do a cycling tour in a more rural area and actually get to tour the vineyards as well as the wineries. If you are looking for a short day that is way better than the traditional Mendoza tourist experience, with wonderful wines and a super reasonable bike tour company, this is your trip.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and back up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Good choice of wineries but you can ask for selected ones. dont be fooled by the map the cycling distances are reasonable but very doable.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute Organic Winery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The atmosphere is very cute but the food was just okay. The steak was overcooked and bean salad was doused in salt. We enjoyed the Cabernet.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baccus Vineyards Biking also viewed

 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Baccus Vineyards Biking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baccus Vineyards Biking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.