We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The brothers will take good care of you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada El Encuentro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada El Encuentro to your Saves list
Posada El Encuentro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Capitan Candelaria 5413, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza 5505, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The brothers will take good care of you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The service is excellent and the architecture of the hotel is very interesting. The rooms are a bit rustic and the noise from barking dogs and adjacent neighbors can be a bit disturbing but if you drink enough wine you won't notice it at all ;) The brothers are very helpful and Mauricio arranged for a last minute wine tasting driver (Fernando) so we were able to experience some off the beaten path wineries and had an amazing lunch. It was really the highlight of our Mendoza trip.
The location seems like it is a bit out of town but it is a pleasant walk to all the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaElEncuentro, Propietario at Posada El Encuentro, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Bladuca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We have had comments about the noise, that is why we are renovating and making soundproofing rooms, in order to make your stay more confortable.

Please, contact us if you need information for your next stay.

Regards,

Lisandro, Mauricio & Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
57
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A gem of a hotel in the pretty little town of Chacras de Coria. It has a pretty courtyard and pool area, a wine cellar and a spacious lounge, beautifully furnished with rugs and paintings. What really makes this hotel stand out though, is the level of hospitality shown by the proprietors. Nothing was too much for them. We got a warm welcome and were given breakfast and coffee, which was really appreciated as we’d had a rather early flight from Buenos Aires. They provided us with info on the area, tour recommendations and even rang around on a public holiday to find out for us what was open. When I came down with the flu, every effort was made to ensure that I was comfortable. Being ill while on holidays is no fun, but at least I could sit and relax in the lovely little sun-filled courtyard. We thoroughly recommend El Encuentro. The town of Chacras de Coria is only a 10 minute walk away. It has numerous eating places, boutique shops, banks and a laundrette and is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaElEncuentro, Propietario at Posada El Encuentro, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Kathy!!

We hope you are doing great! It was a real pleasure to share your stay with us.
Thank you for all your comments about our courtyard and pool area, a wine cellar and a lounge, Our paintings are made by our mother, we will tell her about your cumpliment.
Our strength is to be different, to provide details to our guests, we appreciate you notice this.
We hope you are better from that flu, Chacras de Coria is really cold this days.

Warm regards,

Fernando, Lisandro & Mauricio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Originally not happy about not being in town, and fearing a lack of life, and inability to get around, I couldn't have wished for a better location, brimming with character, behind 'mysterious' gates, with vineyards on the doorstep, great local restaurants and bars, and not forgetting the best - the Three Brothers, plus family and friends, the hospitality of which cannot be found in a large, impersonal hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking wine tours, to getting us last minute into the elusive closed-door restaurants, all of which were simply superb, and beyond anything I could have imagined.
A call out especially for Mauricio who took personal charge of us as if he had known us forever, allowing us to use the kitchen facilities, and feeling able to treat the place as home!
The rooms are fit for purpose, but there is no need to spend any time there other than sleeping as the garden area with pool is great for a chill out after a wine tasting afternoon, and the lobby / outside seating area both lovely spaces to enjoy a glass of two of the best Malbec imaginable!
Miss you guys - hasta la vista!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaElEncuentro, Propietario at Posada El Encuentro, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Lezza,

Hope you are doing great!
Regarding your comment about Chacras de Coria, we consider you made a intelligent choice, you can do a lot of activities here, all by walk distance.

Our vineyard is growing up very quick, don´t you think?
Our goal is to differenciate from the others, we believe little things can make a big difference, such as booking wine tours, getting closed-door restaurants, Etc.

Mentioning your comment about the rooms, the idea is to have a pleasent and privacy stay, to enjoy the Posada and all the services to the maximum, as you said, to enjoy a glass of two of the best Malbec imaginable!

Thank you very much for your kind words!

We hope seen you again soon!

Regards,

Mauricio, Fernando & Lisandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

a good advise to future guests....try to find it during the day. We got there at night time, took a cab to lead us to this location but even he had a few problems.

Other than that, everything else was first class, a place to rest and enjoy. Wineries in the area nearby, a few restaurants, small cafes etc....

Mauricio seem to be brother mostly in charge of taking care of the customers, he is first class and made our stay VERY comfortable and enjoyable. We came all the way driving from Vina del Mar, Chile and very very fortunate to find this quite but wonderful little gem.

Mauricio, thanks a lot to you and your family. keep it up.

Un abrazo y suerte en el Mundial !!

Bernard

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaElEncuentro, Propietario at Posada El Encuentro, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Bernand we hope you are doing very well! We appreciate your review about our special Posada.

I also thank you for your words, I am glad to read I was first class and made your stay comfortable.

Ojalá tengamos suerte en el Mundial!!

Abrazo!

Mauricio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The rooms are comfy, but the real benefit here is the service.
Over two days we met the three brothers, and another worker at the desk, all of whom went out of their way to help make the stay easy and enjoyable. This includes phoning to find where might be open for food during "off" hours, arranging excursions, exchanging money at a good rate, arranging taxis, etc. They even did it on their own phones when necessary, at their own expense.
I'm pretty sure if we'd ask to import an elephant they would have made it happen.
The grounds are nice, and there is a pool plus an area to grill should you want to buy a steak or two.
There are three vineyards within walking distance, the best being Clos de Chacras (the other two are Pulmary and Viamonte).
Also within walking distance are a grocery store, a fine wine store, several restaurants, a bicycle rental place, and the town square.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaElEncuentro, Propietario at Posada El Encuentro, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Tino,

Greetings from Mendoza!! We hope you are doing great!

Thank you for your magnificent words, It is always a pleasure to go out of our way to make all our guests happy, of course if you ask for an elephant we will try to make that happend! Jajaja.
Next time we will prepare you a great asado so you can enjoy our view and you can choose a wine of our wine cellar.

We apreciate the things you wrote on this review.

Hope we can see you again soon!

Mauricio, Lisandro & Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Rooms are basic but have everything you need. The location is outstanding with just a short walk to all the bars and restaurants. The best part of our stay were the hosts - always available, great restaurant recommendations and bookings, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaElEncuentro, Propietario at Posada El Encuentro, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Lisa good day! We hope you are doing great!

Thank you for your review. We are indeed close to every restaurant & vineyard by walk distance.
Let us know if you need assistance for your next visit.

Regards,

Mauricio, Fernando & Lisandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I am from California. I thought everything was great. the accommodations were clean, spacious and had all the amenities I needed. The food inside the hotel was just as good as the food in mendoZa. The location was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful even though my Spanish is muy mal.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaElEncuentro, Propietario at Posada El Encuentro, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi!
Your spanish was great, I think you will have to visit us again to practice!
Thank you for writing your great comments, hope we can see you again soon!

Regards,

Mauricio, Fernando & Lisandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada El Encuentro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Encuentro

Address: Capitan Candelaria 5413, Chacras de Coria, Mendoza 5505, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza > Chacras de Coria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chacras de Coria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada El Encuentro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada El Encuentro in Chacras is a careful project, capturing the regional architecture and construction techniques with American details. It is the first born characteristically as an inn in the area.With a charming atmosphere, rustic but elegant, the inn offers a stay of total relaxation and pleasure. The interior design has a high level of comfort for its guests. Ladrillon seen walls inlaid with stone, wood and cane ceilings make the inn a place worthy of being appreciated by the most discerning where you will find in every detail the touch that characterizes the building Mendoza. A large living room to relax, TV, reading, good wine with a bite of cold cuts and cheese around the fireplace, stocked wine cellar in the basement (in training), where meetings will be held tasting and dining room. We can also make business events.The name "El Encuentro en Chacras" refers to the pursuit of personal and interpersonal human relationships in a supportive environment and specially designed for achieving them. The theme of the inn is the relaxation, the meeting, the enjoyment of wine knowledge and culture. We selected a wine cellar. There will be exhibitions of works of art and expressions of artists zone, giving direct experience with the spirit and wisdom of Chacras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada El Encuentro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Encuentro Chacras De Coria, Mendoza, Argentina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada El Encuentro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.