We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best body surfing beaches I have ever seen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Angeles Locos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Los Angeles Locos to your Saves list
Los Angeles Locos
2.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 20 Carretera Federal 200, Tenacatita 48989, Mexico (Formerly Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best body surfing beaches I have ever seen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I went to 'Crazy Angels' several years ago with a buddy only to discover when we arrived that the resort was less than 20% occupied that week. The good news was that our large bus full of Canadians were all relatively of the same age, very outgoing, and we ended up making it a great experience for all. Before you book a trip though, you may want to find out what the occupancy is going to be during your stay.

The resort is remote, so expect not to make a lot of excursions outside of the bay. On the good side, the resort is pretty compact, so there was not a lot of long walks required to get from your room to a restaurant or disco.

Overall, the resort was a bit tired, the food was OK. We got a great deal on our trip, so I thought it was decent value. At full price, I would have been more demanding/disappointed.

There were 2 nice surprises:
1) The surf. The horseshoe shaped bay creates some very nice body surfing waves - nice slow curls with some waves getting to 4-5 feet. We were body surfing every afternoon, and eventually had almost every male on our bus out there joining in the fun.
2) The shrimp hut about a 15 minute beach walk north of the resort - right on the beach. Even though we were at an all inclusive, it was a nice change of pace. The shrimp hut is exactly that, just a big wide open thatched roof hut, but the fresh grilled shrimp were amazing, and I think we were paying $2 for an ice-cold bottle of Dos Equis.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    117
    78
    47
    44
See reviews for
116
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We just returned from a 2 week stay, and I have some pros and cons:
Pros: The beach is amazing - some of the finest sand we've ever experienced! It's long and great for walking. We didn't swim in the ocean much, as there were a ton of fish & rays in the water. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the place, as there are no vendors on the beach (or anything else) for miles. The tropical jungle setting is lovely.
The staff was great - very friendly and the hotel and grounds were clean. Maria at the front desk is a charm and Ceci makes a great omelette! :)
The International Restaurant was fabulous, and the tortilla soup in the Mexican Restaurant was some of the best we've ever had.
Cons: There is nothing for miles. If you don't have a rental car, you'll have to hire a taxi or pay for a water taxi to go anywhere. The road surrounding is cobblestone, so if you like to walk, it has to be on the beach.
We've stayed at quite a few all-inclusives and have always been able to find something decent to eat, but they really do cater to the locals with the Mexican dishes, and the salad and fruit selection in the salad bar was very minimal (no berries at all, and bananas only 1 day).
There is a store where you can buy water every day, but after 2 weeks, it gets costly.
We personally didn't have any issues with critters on the 2nd floor, but the the rest of our group had cockroaches issues.
They need to find away to keep the birds off the overhangs, as the morning bombing of faeces leaves a lot to be desired.
As typical for Mexico, the beds are hard and uncomfortable, as well as old.
Also, there were a lot of bugs...a ton of people had bites on their ankles and up their legs.
As I understand, this hotel has recently been sold and the new owners have their work cut out for them...it is run down, in need of a lot of repairs and some quality changes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the tennis court side are quieter, as they don't face the pool, and all the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We Just got Back from this Resort yesterday ...We staid here for a week it was very old like 30 years old run Down resort , The Beach Pool Area were Spotless , The Most Amazing Beach We have bean to In mexico yet ...the beach is just plain amazing the water is clear and so many fishes it's worm and Great for snorkelling , you can see the wale dolphin turtles the sunrise -sunset are so nice . The Resort Is in need of renovation It needs a fresh coat of paint and upgrades the rooms are clean but old , the beds are plain old and horrible and the sheet for the bed were so old they were torn,ragged and some stain The food was Not great had a hard time finding something i liked mind you i am pretty picky but boyfriend eats anything and wasnt impress with the food ... The resort is 99% spanish they Are Set to Cather To mexican family 's and not Canadian or americans the staff was friendly But most of staff spoke very little to No english.. the west jet rep was never @ hotel ones on are stay there .. The air transat rep did help us book a day out .. this hotel is very secluded you have to taxi your way to manzanillo and other places .... We love mexico and this resort was just not for us will not be back to this resort but would go back to this area ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our third time at this hotel. We were there from January 19 - Feb. 2nd. We went down with a group of 31 people to celebrate our wedding. The hotel was awesome. Sure it is an older resort but that is part of it's charm. It is tucked away from vendors and time share people and if you are looking for a relaxing time then this is it. The food was decent, the beach absolutely wonderful. Even though it is older, they keep the grounds and area in wonderful shape. The rooms are clean and require some TLC. It is traditionally Mexican and not a US resort. The views from the rooms are spectacular. The staff is wonderful and there is entertainment for those who wish it. The children in our party had a wonderful time in the pool and in the ocean. Releasing the turtles was a highlight of their trip. We had massages on the beach and the sound of the ocean while getting a wonderful massage was like nothing else.
For those 5 star people looking for a cheap 5 star vacation, this is not for you. For those realistic and who enjoy the quiet beauty and serenity of Mexico, then this is for you. Would I recommend it - most definitely. Would we go back - absolutely.

Room Tip: There are suites you can upgrade to for a nominal fee. The view from these is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this resort for a week with another couple and have very few complaints. Yes it is an older resort and needs some work but it was clean and well kept, the grounds and pool area were spotless, the beach is absolutely beautiful, the food was great, a lot of Mexican dishes which we tried and liked most of but we never went hungry, the omelettes were delicious in the morning and the burgers, chips and salsa at the beach snack bar were a good afternoon snack! We took a taxi into La Manzanilla one day and did some shopping, typical Mexican village and into Manzanillo another day, an hour taxi drive but worth it, our driver was great and was able to answer our questions and point out interesting things along the way. The most disappointing thing was that the west jet representative never did show up at the resort to talk to us and others about tours, we did run into the air transat rep and he gave us some information but failed to show up the next day for us to book something but taking a taxi turned out to be better anyways!
I would recommend this resort to others but please remember that it is a 3 star not a 5 star and you won't be disappointed. And remember that it is very remote and perfect if you want to just sit in the sun and relax, if you want to go anywhere be prepared for a drive!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is a quaint "Mexican" hotel, not your stuffy American hotel. Situated amongst the beautiful green of the jungle upon a beautiful white sand beach! No vendors, no distractions, no commercialism! Nothing but beautiful scenery, nature, and quiet solitude!
It's a hotel that is clean, friendly and traditionally Mexican. Spanish is spoken, Mexican food Is served, and activities, and entertainment is in Spanish. English is spoken by some, but in a general not very much.
The hotel is located about 10 minutes north of Las Manzallias, about one hour 15 minutes north of the airport. There is a 3 km, winding cobblestone road into the hotel from the main highway.

There is no shuttle to or from the highway from the hotel, just taxis, but they are readily available to take to town, either, to Barra Navidad, Melaque, or Las Mazanillias for a price of 350 peco's or about $30.00 American. La Manzanillio, is a little farther so it's a few more peco's.
Taxi drivers are friendly, and will stop any where you ask.

There is lots to do at hotel, tours to take if you like, activities to do if you like, but most of all RELAX!

The water is warm, clear and beautiful! The fish are everywhere, they swim right beside you. Rays, pufferfish, angel fish, and many more! There are dolphins, whales, that swim by the front of the hotel. The sunrise and the sunset are a sight to see!

The beach is about a kilometre long, and at the end of the beach there is a river where there is a small restaurant with great seafood and beer in glass bottle!;) It's affordable and fantastic.
There is Great snorkelling down this end of the beach, and a few private beaches, for that romanitic interlude.

This was one of the best places we have been, we will definitely return. We have always frequented the eastern side of Mexico, or Puerto Vallarta. This place is a hidden gem! We will return again!

If you are looking for posh, upscale, fancy hotel, they have a sister hotel on the hill that you can upgrade to if you like.
But if you want a beautiful, friendly, relaxing, down to earth vacation, this is definitely the place.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, all have some sort of ocean view. We had a view of the beach towards the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Blue Bay no longer manages this hotel. It is now called Los Angeles Locos. I don't know the history, so I'm not sure if that is good or bad . The new management has their work cut out for them as this facility will require a lot of attention to get it back into shape. It's glory days are over.

This resort is 30 years old and it shows it's age. I don't have a problem with old, but things have to work and be clean. This involves basic maintenance and this is severely lacking. Our air conditioner (in 2 separate rooms) didn't work and we were told it was because "the building was old". Dresser drawers were either broken or nailed shut, bathroom faucets lacked screens so they would spout water all over the counters, half of the lighting in our room didn't work, and in one of our rooms on the top floor, the entire balcony was covered in bird feces from the 20 or so birds that roosted every night right above our balcony door. They need to figure out something so that birds aren't living there because our balcony wasn't useable. This building needs regular power washing.

We were disappointed in the food at the resort. Basic things like cream, butter, fruit juice (that wasn't synthetic) and ripe fruit were non existent. The second night we were there, my grand daughter was ecstatic when she found a cockroach in the dining room. We were not as excited.

We really enjoyed the other guests at the complex. Most of the guests are middle class Mexicans that are bussed in for 3 or 4 night stays they bring their kids and are there to have fun. No complaining, just head to the beach or pool and have fun. They were friendly and would always have an "hola" and a big smile for us. The evening shows are done entirely in Spanish.

Here is other points of interest

We spent 14 nights there and did not get sick.
Turtle release program was fun to be involved with
Jungle/ Mangrove tour was free and fun. Rico did a great job
Horse back riding was free and a fun trip up and down the beach
No toaster so no toast for breakfast. No bacon :(
Beer signs indicate Tecate beer but it's really Dos Equis XX in the taps
Taxi drivers are local and don't know much about Manzanillo. No english either
The beach is absolutely beautiful.
There is no car rental available.
Closest bank machine is about 35 minute taxi ride
WiFi is limited to the lobby and some parts of the pool area
All the staff are great and most speak at least basic English

Some staff really stood out for us. They made our trip enjoyable.
Maria, Pedro, Ernesto at customer service
Pedro at the Seafood restaurant
Pedro, Hugo, Gustavo at the buffet and Mexican restaurants
Martin, Chevren at the Italian restaurant
Carlos, Sergio, Jorge at the bars
Omar, Victor and Charlotte at activities


The main problem with this resort is cleanliness. They need to clean, clean, clean because....... when things are dirty they really look old, run down, worn out!

Room Tip: Rooms by tennis court are quieter. Check the air conditioner before settling in as many don't wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Angeles Locos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Locos

Address: Km 20 Carretera Federal 200, Tenacatita 48989, Mexico (Formerly Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Tenacatita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Angeles Locos 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star all inclusive resort located in the idyllic beaches of Tenacatita Bay, in Mexico's famed Costalegre, only 45 minutes from Manzanillo's Airport. Fulfill your dreams and connect with nature..take a jungle riverboat ride through the magical world of pristine mangroves or go horseback riding along our extensive beach. A haven of fun and relaxation for nature lovers and lovers of all kinds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Los Angeles Locos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos Hotel Tenacatita
Blue Bay Tenacatita
Blue Bay Club Los Angeles Locos
Blue Bay Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Angeles Locos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.