We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back - 5th trip in 6 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Angeles Locos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Los Angeles Locos to your Saves list
Los Angeles Locos
2.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 20 Carretera Federal 200, Tenacatita 48989, Mexico (Formerly Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Fort Mcmurray
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“We keep coming back - 5th trip in 6 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We have visited Blue Bay 5 times now, this time for 2 weeks separated by a stint in a villa in nearby La Manzanilla. We would classify Blue Bay as a 5-star of the 3.5 star resorts. The staff are better and better each time we come. The food is great, and the up top restaurant is romantic, the food is wonderful and the service great. We made use of the pool (nicely heated), the ping pong, tennis, beach volleyball, and the amazing beach. The water was warmer this year which brought in some stingrays (absolutely great to see). The surf wasn't as high as usual this year, but still good for body surfing. YES, there were bugs on the beach - they seemed to like me more than my wife.

As in the past, we walked to the nearby town of La Manzanilla 4 or 5 times to visit the galleries, restaurants and shops. A great walk along the beach. From there you can catch a bus to Melaque or Barra de Navidid (larger resort towns) for about a buck. We did this a couple of times, going to a Chili Cookoff, and shopping. We went fishing once, and whale watching another time (saw whales and dolphins) with other couples making the cost cheap. My wife and I also tried boarding (stand on a surf board and paddle along) which worked for her but left me falling in the ocean about 25 times (unbalanced...in more ways than one!).

The evening entertainment was top-notch - many people there went every night. We were sad to leave as usual - thanks Blue Bay!

Room Tip: You get one free meal at the restaurant on the hill each week. But take another couple with you und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    106
    71
    46
    42
See reviews for
107
76
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great Food, Beautiful Beach, Great Weather, Hotel Service, and Ocean Views.

Poor Rooms, TERRIBLE Beds, Bugs at the Beach! (I had blood and bite marks for weeks after). The hotel location is VERY far from anything. 45 minute bus ride from the airport and no local shops or towns within walking distance. $35 dollar cab ride to the closest town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Of all the resorts we have been to in Mexico, this was far the best! We found it to be quaint, very friendly helpful staff, rooms were spotless, the food was awesome, entertainment was excellent and the best part was meeting the nicest people who all commented how impressed they were with this resort and most said they would not hesitate to come back again. We we're also impressed that there we're no vendors or time share folks hasselling us constantly. It was easy to get a great lounge chair with comfy cushions anytime of the day. The pool was clean and not once did we feel bored as there was always something to do. The beach was unbelievable with often sightings of dolphips or whales. Yes, we would go back again someday. This resort could almost be at least a four star!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Great tiime. The food was great. So much to choose from
the staff were great. Very helpfull and we are hoping to go back in Sept fingers crossed
best relaxing holiday yet. To all of our Blue Bay friends tahnks for a great holiday.
Karen and Craig Perry

Room Tip: It is very remote so you have to stay there but the resort and the people are brilliant, Enjoy yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My wife and I love places that are not over-run with tourism and commercialism and it is getting harder to find places that fit the bill. This resort delivers! We were a bit tentative about some of the negative comments, but having spent a week, we have no idea what all the negative reviews are about; whether there were problems that have been addressed or if those with negative reviews should stay in Cancun we have no idea??? Regardless, this is what it claims to be; a 3 to 3 1/2 star resort. It is smaller than the mega resorts on the Mayan Riviera, but that is also part of the charm. The food has a definite Mexican flair, but we found it to be well prepared and fresh. Viva Mexico night was great, with fresh roasted pork, goat or fish, fresh salsa's and wide range of other dishes. The shows were excellent, especially on Viva Mexico night where they celebrate Mexico's past from the Maya to Viva Zapata....just great. The staff were warm and friendly. Because it is not a big resort and many of the entertainers at night also lead many of the activities during the day, it is not difficult to get familiar with them learn about where they are from etc. Our room faced the ocean on the opposite side from the pool. At night we had the door open and fell asleep to the sound of the surf. Our room was clean and well maintained. Again no complaints. We did hear that people facing the pool also had a great view but at night found it a bit noisy; having to close the patio doors. We went snorkelling at Tenacatita reef and it was great; better than many Caribbean snorkelling trips we have taken. We went fishing, right from the resort, caught tuna which the chefs prepared that night. It was fantastic. While out on the water we saw a whale with her calf and plenty of dolphins (which you also see a lot from the beach) That brings me to the beach! WOW....Being the only resort on the beach (yes that means the place is a bit isolated) the place is incredible. The very first morning we walked the beach just as the sun was rising. By the time we reached the end and turned around to walk back, the sun had burnt off the mist that had enshrouded the mountains and the Sierra Madres came to full view...combined with the gorgeous bay and white sand and ...Double Wow! 'We have friends that may not have enjoyed it as much as we did; but then they love to get dressed up, go to a different restaurant every night, go to a different bar every night, rent Jet ski's and shop. To them seeing a whale and calf in the wild is no big deal. Therefore I would agree with some other reviews that if you are like our friends then maybe this is not the place'for you. For us it was great and we will go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was our second visit. The first was in 2007. We obviously loved it the first time, although there were some issues with food and maintenance during our first visit. The resort now appears to be under new management and there was a noticeable improvement in the food. The cuisine is still predominantly Mexican in nature but was much fresher and far better prepared. The salads were very fresh, the hot food was hot, the cold food was cold, the addition of grills where fish, beef, pork or chicken is freshly grilled is a great addition and the Ceveche' was exceptional! Our room was newly painted and the bathroom was newly re-tiled. The room was clean and nicely decorated.The staff were wonderful. We not only felt that the service was good...it was in fact excellent. Rarely have we been to any resort where we felt the staff to be so welcoming (only the Salintas El Salvador compares). The pool area is very nice and given the modest size of this resort, not over crowded. The evening shows were great. Although predominantly in Spanish, this added to the shows authenticity, which celebrated Mexican-Latino dance, history and culture. Of course the resorts greatest feature is the unbelievably picturesque, 2 km. long white sand beach, located on a blue pacific bay, with a nice rolling surf (great for boogey boarding) nestled against the green-blue back drop of the Sierra Mountains. On numerous occasions we saw dolphins quite close to shore and whales further out. Best of all it is the only resort on the entire 2 km. long stretch of beach. Wow! Fantastic! If you love a smaller, more intimate resort, with a more authentic Mexican flavour, located on a spectacular beach, which a truly welcoming staff, this is as good as it gets (especially for the price). If you prefer a destination with lots of big resorts, plenty of restaurants, night life, shopping, para-sailing, jet skiing etc. etc. etc., or prefer meals that are "Canadian" then you may prefer other destinations such as Cancun or Neuvo Vallarta.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean...(again Wow)...but because this is a smaller resort, those facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great trip! Enjoyed ourselves and we didnt want to leave. We made so many good friends both staff and other guests at the resort. Entertainment goes above and beyond any other resort I have been to with their friendliness.
Loved that it was a large portion (75/25) Spanish speaking becasue it made us give some effort to learning the language and some of the culture.
Had a lot of extras included right on resort. we did jungle boat tour and took part in releasing baby turtles into the ocean. There was also horse back riding along the ocean and many activities throughout each day like beach volleyball, pool volleyball, water polo, beach soccer, bingo, dance lessons, spanish lessons and variety of evening entertainment (shows and interactive)
We would definately go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Angeles Locos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Locos

Address: Km 20 Carretera Federal 200, Tenacatita 48989, Mexico (Formerly Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Tenacatita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tenacatita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Angeles Locos 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star all inclusive resort located in the idyllic beaches of Tenacatita Bay, in Mexico's famed Costalegre, only 45 minutes from Manzanillo's Airport. Fulfill your dreams and connect with nature..take a jungle riverboat ride through the magical world of pristine mangroves or go horseback riding along our extensive beach. A haven of fun and relaxation for nature lovers and lovers of all kinds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Los Angeles Locos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Los Angeles Locos Hotel Tenacatita
Blue Bay Tenacatita
Blue Bay Club Los Angeles Locos
Blue Bay Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Angeles Locos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.