We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique relaxing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Casa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Penita de Jaltemba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Casa
17 Cerrada Cabo San Lucas, La Penita de Jaltemba, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Paincourt On Ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A unique relaxing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 3 wks at Sunset Casa in the Olmec apt. which was beautifully furnished & decorated, all conveniences of home, including a comfortable bed.This 4 yr old rental property on a beautifully Palm treed lot facing the ocean is extremely well kept & clean, Only a 5 min beach walk to town, where you have moderatly priced restaurants, bars & markets. Robi & Dan are the most accomodating hosts, We had a great time & felt very comfortable & safe there.
We loved La Penita & are going back for 4 wks next winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
qualicum beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We could not have enjoyed a holiday more. We stayed in the Olmec suite. It was roomy and well appointed. The pool area is beautiful as are the plantings. Our hosts of the complex were most helpful and always courteous.
The town is just steps away and has some great restaurants and of course the Thursday market
It is definately on our list to return and SOON.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan bc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The building is well placed right on the beach,with a pool and pleasant garden. we loved the authentic Mexican town, La Penita,nearby. Friendly locals and felt very safe.
However our experience was marred by the owners, Robi and Dan. We found Robi abrasive and accusatory. When we complained about a broken light, patio umbrella and NO hot water! Robi asked us if we had broken them. Our room was not checked after the last guests left and we had to do some minor cleaning ourselves.Most items were never fixed and the hot water wasn't fixed for a week. Robi told us that the problem was that we had reported this to Dan and not her. Also, the beds were very hard and uncomfortable.
We felt more of a nuisance than valued guests.
Would definately go back to this area but not this particular house.
Tip: Take earplugs, dogs and roosters common in this area.

Room Tip: The front apartment is the only one with a real ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sunset Casa for two weeks in March 2012. We stayed in the Aztec suite for one week and the Toltec for a week. We loved both of them. In just a short five minute walk you are in town and shopping at all the fun mexican grocery stores. Market day Thursday is a blast. Robi and Dan are very knowlegeable about the area and shopping etc

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed aat Sunset Casa for a month. You can not beileve this is not a 5 star. Robi and Dan fantastic hosts. The town is such fun with all the shops ansd other things to do. The restaurants are great and really reasonable

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Casa

Address: 17 Cerrada Cabo San Lucas, La Penita de Jaltemba, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > La Penita de Jaltemba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in La Penita de Jaltemba
Also Known As:
Sunset Casa La Penita De Jaltemba, Mexico - Nayarit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Casa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Casa to your Saves list