We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only good thing is The View” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parador Vistamar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parador Vistamar to your Saves list
Parador Vistamar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rd 113N # 6205, Quebradillas 00678, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quebradillas
Caguas, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Only good thing is The View”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stay for one nigth (thank God) since the bad weather make it impossible for us to make it to San Juan. Is the worst place we had ever stay, we pay $90 for just one nigth toooo way expensive for the poor condition of the hotel, old furniture, beds and bathroom, in top of that it was smelly, dusty and dirty. Overall was a nigthmare but we had no other choice since the Guajataca, from where we check out early that day was full. I was happy to finally get out of that place, to bad they don't take advantage of that beautiful view, need a lots of money to update it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    10
    10
    24
See reviews for
20
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The only nice thing of the hotel is the view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Guajataca Tunnel, that's it! The room was barely cleaned; the area under the bed had dirt and trash from probably the day it was constructed (over 30 years ago). The room itself seemed to be an anthill. Ants everywhere. At least they were not fire ants, thank God. Absolutely no control from the hotel management. It was 2 am and I had to shout at the people next door to shut up and let my wife, children and myself sleep. I called 6 times at midnight, from my cell phone, since there are no room telephones and no one answered. If you turned the air conditioner off, the awful smell of humidity made you sick. The toilet did not flush right and seemed to be clogged, and when I went to the office to borrow a plunger, another guest had the same issue; definitely the piping needs an update, rush! The tennis/basketball area was closed due to construction, although no apparent construction was being performed even though it seemed to be closed for a few years. Parking was terrible because every guest seemed to wanting to park right in front of their rooms, leaving the tiny road almost inaccessible. The restaurant menu needs rescuing fast! Definitely will not return. They need to invest a LOT in the hotel in order to be marketable and enjoyable to the guests.

Room Tip: See all reviews and pictures before booking. But me personally, I'm not coming back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebradillas hotels

Huixquilucan, Edomex, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The view from the hotel is awesome! You can see the mountains and the ocean at the same time (Guajataca). The buildings are old w no maintenance. The room is big, but w an '80s TV... 2 local channels and the control was not working. Oooold shower w cold water only!!! Standard customer service at the front desk... Bad at the restaurant. On top of all, it was the most expensive of all hotels we stayed during our trip (DoubleTree by Hilton in San Juan, Howard Johnson in Mayaguez, and Treasure Island in Cidra). :(

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view of course. Beautiful pictures from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided rather late in the evening to stay at this hotel that our guidebook described as one of the cheapest options around and "boring." We were amused to find a young, very friendly, hip guy at the desk who gave us a first-floor room for less than $40, as well as some good banter. We were pleased to find a perfectly sufficient room with a comfortable bed, a clean, spacious bathroom, and a balcony with a jungle view. The next morning, we were astonished and delighted to find a stunningly gorgeous ocean view just outside our door. The grounds are beautiful, with the clean pastel yellow building contrasting nicely with the deep blue ocean and bright greenery. There is a pool and patio around the back, not that well maintained, overlooking the ocean and some very unkempt grounds and a ball court. We didn't try the pool, but we had fun exploring and taking pictures of the tiny lizards that were scampering around. The older atmosphere and mild lack of upkeep made it more charming to us, as we were not seeking or expecting a 5-star restort.

The breakfast was not much, just some toast with butter and coffee, but it was unlimited. They have a nice selection of local books for browsing through and available to purchase in the lobby.

There was a dog who apparently sleeps in a dog house in the yard below the balcony of our room, but it was not bothersome, just a little odd.

We had a lovely time in this little hotel. True, I wouldn't pay $100 for the experience. But for a "cheap, boring, roadside motel" it was EXCELLENT and definitely worth the $40. I will definitely be back if I am lucky enough to pass this way again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yauco, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is my review of the Parador Vistamar en Quebradilla
1. They charged me 85.76 extra because of my 17 and 67.98 for 14 this is additional to the room charge.
2. The pool was really dark green, not clean.
3. The pool chairs were broken, the plastic strips broke they kept the frame and added a couching to disguise it.
4. The picnic table had no umbrella, this meat no shade it is a really sunny spot.
5. In the room there was a coffeemaker but no filter or coffee just a cup.
6. No fridge, no microwave and four closet spaces.
7. The restaurateur opened at 400pm and they had a big sign no food in the rooms or pool area.
8. No internet in the room. You have to sit on a wooded bench in front of the reception desk in order to use your computer. There was only space for three small people at any time.
9. No room service no phone poor signal for Sprint Company
10. No towel at the pool and if you take the ones in the room they ask that you don’t.
11. The television was an old 20 inch.
12. No ice machine you had to go to front desk
13. The beds had holds in the middle making it hard to sleep you got stuck on the middle sinking in and begin overweight not good.
14. There was a sign that said you cannot eat in the pool area what the table is for. And you could not eat in the rooms.
15. The room was dark poor light.
16. The television control did not tunnel on/off the television.
17. They had a basketball court and a tennis court no ball or equipment.
18. The area was dark. And poor vending machine no food around.
19. Just the bathroom mirror and the water came out thru the side when you took a bath the floor got the shower was broken would not change from sprinkle space. The bathroom window was toward the hallway. If you left it open am not sure that a tall person could see in.
20. The air-condition is place right at the angel of the bed so even putting the vents up it still face the bed and it would kits the face of the person laying on that bed.
21. Personally I really don’t recommend this place and it really not a 2 1/2 star maybe a 1 you need to really look into it I came back home a night before I could not take it I rather be home. My kids where not imprecise with anything we decide to do check out Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Beautiful view to the ocean, but a lot of things has to be fixed to be a nice place to stay. And be careful when you buy a Group-on and offer you a bottle of wine, 'cause they will give you the worst!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

It has a beutiful view but a lot things has to be fixed to be a nice place to stay. First price is average but the problem of this type of hotels or paradores is the Island Goverment and the tourism company that do not support this type of bussiness. If these places had a good administrator and has a good deals that promote the inside tourism then things work much better. Believe me the hotel has a beutiful view but a lot of stuff needs to be fixed

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Vistamar

Address: Rd 113N # 6205, Quebradillas 00678, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Quebradillas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quebradillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador Vistamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Parador Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Puerto Rico
Parador Vistamar Quebradillas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador Vistamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.